Denon 3806 Owners Thread - Page 99 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2941 of 2946 Old 11-29-2017, 05:11 PM
Member
 
ken325i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Somerville TN
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post
If you?re referring to hdmi standby pass through (ie the signal goes through when the receiver is not powered on) then no, that feature started a couple of years later on the 3808ci (and even then it was a firmware upgrade). It became standard the following year with the xx09 models.
Batpig
Many thanks for the quick response!
My 3806 still sounds pretty good. Moved it to the bonus room and replaced it with a 4300.


again, thanks!
Ken
ken325i is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2942 of 2946 Old 08-13-2018, 11:21 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
any trick to using headphones?

Just bought 3806 from CraigsList Saturday, tested it (on speakers) with my own CD deck.
Now trying to use cans with 3.5mm plug. Cans+3.5mm work fine in my Galaxy phone,
I plug 3.5mm into a phono adapter, adapter into 3806 'PHONES' jack, press SOURCE,
turn knob to CDR/tape, Master Volume to 15dB -- no sound. Am using same CD deck
as worked with speakers, same RCA cord, plugged into CD jack on back of 3806.
Using same volume setting on cans (max) as worked on Galaxy.

Is there something I'm missing, like a headphone output-level control on the 3806?
nusrat is offline  
post #2943 of 2946 Old 08-14-2018, 03:49 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,037
Mentioned: 742 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22606 Post(s)
Liked: 12299
Quote:
Originally Posted by nusrat View Post
Just bought 3806 from CraigsList Saturday, tested it (on speakers) with my own CD deck.
Now trying to use cans with 3.5mm plug. Cans+3.5mm work fine in my Galaxy phone,
I plug 3.5mm into a phono adapter, adapter into 3806 'PHONES' jack, press SOURCE,
turn knob to CDR/tape, Master Volume to 15dB -- no sound. Am using same CD deck
as worked with speakers, same RCA cord, plugged into CD jack on back of 3806.
Using same volume setting on cans (max) as worked on Galaxy.

Is there something I'm missing, like a headphone output-level control on the 3806?
Did you ask the seller if the PHONES jack works?

Most likely either the adapter or the PHONES jack is defective. Try using a standard set of headphones without the adapter as a test.
jdsmoothie is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2944 of 2946 Old 08-14-2018, 09:59 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Any trick to using headphones?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Did you ask the seller if the PHONES jack works? Most likely either the adapter or the PHONES jack is defective. Try using a standard set of headphones without the adapter as a test.
Even if I'd asked, wouldn't help now (except for being nice to know, less frustrating if no point in trying to resolve it). Blew out the 3806's headphone jack with compressed-air duster, no change. Then tried some different brand-new cans (A-T) which have their own proprietary cord requiring no adapter. No change. btw, both sets of can work fine in the headphone jack built-in with the CD deck.
nusrat is offline  
post #2945 of 2946 Old 08-15-2018, 08:59 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,037
Mentioned: 742 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22606 Post(s)
Liked: 12299
Quote:
Originally Posted by nusrat View Post
Even if I'd asked, wouldn't help now (except for being nice to know, less frustrating if no point in trying to resolve it). Blew out the 3806's headphone jack with compressed-air duster, no change. Then tried some different brand-new cans (A-T) which have their own proprietary cord requiring no adapter. No change. btw, both sets of can work fine in the headphone jack built-in with the CD deck.
Yeh. Too bad you can't return it as it sure sounds like you got a bum headphone jack on the AVR.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #2946 of 2946 Old 08-15-2018, 11:54 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Fixed by...

...microprocessor-reset, suggested by someone on another forum.
Keenan likes this.
nusrat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 3806 Av Receiver

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off