Can't get surround sound from smart TV apps - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By GTDTS
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 09-09-2018, 07:03 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Can't get surround sound from smart TV apps

I have a Sony Bravia KD-55X8509C TV hooked up to a Pioneer VSX-1131 AV receiver. The following problem occurs whether I'm outputting sound from the TV via HDMI ARC or via digital optical; I've tried both and got exactly the same results.


While my AV receiver is great at running surround sound from Blu-ray and TiVo, anything I play on the TV's Prime Video app comes out in boring old stereo. What's particularly odd is that the AV receiver directs that stereo sound to all 7 of my speakers at once, which is not the case when playing media with stereo sound from Blu-ray or TiVo. The same happens with the TV's YouTube app; I'm not expecting surround sound from YouTube, just 2.0 sound to my main left and right front speakers, not to all 7 speakers.



Is this an issue with the TV, the receiver, or some setting somewhere?


Thanks
Cliff
Cliff Barnes is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 09-09-2018, 09:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ChromeJob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 4,954
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2124 Post(s)
Liked: 1111
Can't get surround sound from smart TV apps

1. Check the mode on your AVR, make sure you’re not using a “7ch stereo” or similar mode to play out of all speakers regardless of the content.

2. The content you’re streaming may be 2.0, but may be monophonic content. Put your AVR into a Dolby Surround/PL II Movie mode and see if the content is directed only to the Center channel. If yes, voila you’re streaming a mono movie track.

3. Check the forum section for receivers for a thread specific to your AVR brand/model. There will be more specific help for your AVR there.

Just because the content being sent to the AVR is 2.0, doesn’t necessarily mean the content is in Stereo.

"Well, that's a nasty little Christmas present..."
Are you new to the forum? Please read forum FAQs and stickies. Like posts that help you. RTFM, always.
A: Yamaha RX-V775; Chromecast Audio; iPod Classic, Touch. Bose 401 mains, 301 Series III surrounds, Yamaha NS-C444 center, Hsu VTF-2 Mk4.
V: Panasonic DMP-BDT215, Yamaha DVD-S550. Apple TV 4gen. Chromecast 1gen, Samsung UN40ES6150.
ChromeJob is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 09-10-2018, 01:29 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
The AVR definitely isn't in 7 channel mode, but what I will try is manually selecting the surround mode rather than relying on Auto Surround (something I should've thought of before posting!). Once I've tested that I'll let you know if it's resolved the problem.
Cliff Barnes is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 12 Old 09-13-2018, 08:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Espo77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Delmarva Peninsula, Maryland
Posts: 3,305
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 516 Post(s)
Liked: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cliff Barnes View Post
I have a Sony Bravia KD-55X8509C TV hooked up to a Pioneer VSX-1131 AV receiver. The following problem occurs whether I'm outputting sound from the TV via HDMI ARC or via digital optical; I've tried both and got exactly the same results.


While my AV receiver is great at running surround sound from Blu-ray and TiVo, anything I play on the TV's Prime Video app comes out in boring old stereo. What's particularly odd is that the AV receiver directs that stereo sound to all 7 of my speakers at once, which is not the case when playing media with stereo sound from Blu-ray or TiVo. The same happens with the TV's YouTube app; I'm not expecting surround sound from YouTube, just 2.0 sound to my main left and right front speakers, not to all 7 speakers.



Is this an issue with the TV, the receiver, or some setting somewhere?


Thanks
Cliff
First thing we need to do is clarify the specs on the TV. The TV probably sends two channel only. The fix is to get the app from another device instead of the TV.

Espo77's living room equipment: RECEIVER: Yamaha RX-A3030- SPEAKERS: Boston Acoustics M350, M25 center, surrounds, and front heights-
BLU-RAY: Oppo BDP103D- SUBWOOFER: HSU VTF-15H MK2- dedicated circuits for A/V- TV: Vizio P55C-1
Auralex Acoustics LENRD - Auralex Acoustics Roominator
Espo77 is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 09-13-2018, 08:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Espo77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Delmarva Peninsula, Maryland
Posts: 3,305
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 516 Post(s)
Liked: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cliff Barnes View Post
The AVR definitely isn't in 7 channel mode, but what I will try is manually selecting the surround mode rather than relying on Auto Surround (something I should've thought of before posting!). Once I've tested that I'll let you know if it's resolved the problem.
Please check the TV owners manual for the specs on the ARC...Somewhere deep inside the manual, perhaps on the specs page. It's not easy to find because they hide it...two channel out only.

Espo77's living room equipment: RECEIVER: Yamaha RX-A3030- SPEAKERS: Boston Acoustics M350, M25 center, surrounds, and front heights-
BLU-RAY: Oppo BDP103D- SUBWOOFER: HSU VTF-15H MK2- dedicated circuits for A/V- TV: Vizio P55C-1
Auralex Acoustics LENRD - Auralex Acoustics Roominator
Espo77 is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 09-14-2018, 10:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
legierk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Elysian Fields, TX
Posts: 1,068
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 144
So only the TV has issues with multichannel channel sound...then the issue is with the TV/apps or both. This is a current issue with Roku TVs, as the last firmware update broke the DD+ output, which caused alot of frustration with users. Only temporary solution is to "downgrade" the TV audio output to plain old DD (no plus) until Roku provides an update. Also, some individual apps can cause issues. Awhile back, the Roku Youtube app was going nuts.....only stereo PCM, no HDR, etc. They fixed it pretty quickly, but the ensuing madness lingered. Anyhow, my point is that I doubt this is a AVR issue. Just set it to Auto or whatever. It will decode what is receives.
legierk is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 10-12-2018, 02:10 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks everyone, I realised in the end that I just have to scroll manually through the surround options to get the surround set-up I want. It works now, it's just a shame it doesn't auto-detect.
Cliff Barnes is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 10-15-2018, 01:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Espo77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Delmarva Peninsula, Maryland
Posts: 3,305
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 516 Post(s)
Liked: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cliff Barnes View Post
Thanks everyone, I realised in the end that I just have to scroll manually through the surround options to get the surround set-up I want. It works now, it's just a shame it doesn't auto-detect.
The receiver IS auto-detecting the signal coming in from the Tv's HDMI ARC. The Tv can only do two channel.
You are then applying DSP, right?

Espo77's living room equipment: RECEIVER: Yamaha RX-A3030- SPEAKERS: Boston Acoustics M350, M25 center, surrounds, and front heights-
BLU-RAY: Oppo BDP103D- SUBWOOFER: HSU VTF-15H MK2- dedicated circuits for A/V- TV: Vizio P55C-1
Auralex Acoustics LENRD - Auralex Acoustics Roominator
Espo77 is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 10-15-2018, 01:56 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Espo77 View Post
The receiver IS auto-detecting the signal coming in from the Tv's HDMI ARC. The Tv can only do two channel.
You are then applying DSP, right?

I don't know. If I play something from the Prime Video app that's 2.0 then that's now what comes out of the AV receiver; if it's supposed to be 5.1 then I now get that. So whatever's happening, it's working properly now.


Is it definitely the case that my Bravia only outputs 2 channels? Seems a bit odd if so!
Cliff Barnes is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 11-13-2019, 09:42 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Hello, sorry to dig up an old thread but I am having this exact issue. I have a nu7200 samsung connected to my yamaha receiver rx-a840 via ARC HDMI. I am using Disney Plus app playing Avengers that does support 5.1 but regardless of what settings I am doing, I am only receiving 2 channel audio into my receiver. I want the receiver to automatically recognized the surround sound. I am using "straight" on my receiver audio setting. help! lol
Phil Nguyen is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 11-13-2019, 10:43 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I think I fixed it by running an optical cable from the TV to the receiver and using that for TV output.
Cliff Barnes is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 11-14-2019, 10:07 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil Nguyen View Post
Hello, sorry to dig up an old thread but I am having this exact issue. I have a nu7200 samsung connected to my yamaha receiver rx-a840 via ARC HDMI. I am using Disney Plus app playing Avengers that does support 5.1 but regardless of what settings I am doing, I am only receiving 2 channel audio into my receiver. I want the receiver to automatically recognized the surround sound. I am using "straight" on my receiver audio setting. help! lol
The other way is to get a $40 or $50 Roku and plug that directly into your Yamaha. No ARC needed then.
ChromeJob likes this.

L/R Paradigm Prestige 85F, Prestige CC55, HSU VTF-15H MK2 Subwoofer, Onkyo TXNR-838, Emotiva XPA3 Gen2. 65" JS9500. Fairly new audioholic
GTDTS is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Audio Theory, Setup, and Chat

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off