Front Heights - convert to Atmos? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Kriilin
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 06-20-2019, 08:47 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
MrGuru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Front Heights - convert to Atmos?

https://i.imgur.com/LLF37ty.jpg

https://i.imgur.com/5jNjJJK.jpg

A couple years back when I upgraded my L/C/R to Sierra 2's, I decided to leave my old left and right Polk RTi A3's where they were and use them for front height speakers. I upgraded to a receiver capable of Atmos last year but never really thought about it, as I didn't think they were even close to the correct position to be an Atmos speaker.

I recently read this review:

https://www.avsforum.com/svs-prime-5...system-review/

..that featured an atmos setup with speakers situated similar to my front heights, and it was reviewed favorably.

Moving them to a different location is not feasible, unfortunately. Would it be as simple as getting an atmos demo, switching the inputs from front heights to atmos and observing how it sounds?

TV: LG OLED65C8PUA
Front L & R/Center: Sierra-2/Sierra-2 center
Front Highs/Surrounds: Polk RTi A3/Polk RTi A1
Receiver/Blu-ray: Marantz SR6012/Oppo 203-D
Subwoofer: Rythmik FV15HP w/ miniDSP 2x4 HD
MrGuru is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 06-20-2019, 09:16 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
sdurani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Monterey Park, CA
Posts: 27,583
Mentioned: 192 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6982 Post(s)
Liked: 5967
No harm in using those speakers for Atmos and DTS:X soundtracks. Just designate them as Front Heights. Will sound like a taller front soundstage rather than give the impression of sounds overhead that Atmos intends. But some height effect is better than no height effect.

Sanjay
sdurani is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 06-20-2019, 10:07 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
MrGuru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdurani View Post
No harm in using those speakers for Atmos and DTS:X soundtracks. Just designate them as Front Heights. Will sound like a taller front soundstage rather than give the impression of sounds overhead that Atmos intends. But some height effect is better than no height effect.
So, if they are already designated as front heights, I don't need to do anything? I thought I needed to tell my receiver that they are now atmos speakers.

TV: LG OLED65C8PUA
Front L & R/Center: Sierra-2/Sierra-2 center
Front Highs/Surrounds: Polk RTi A3/Polk RTi A1
Receiver/Blu-ray: Marantz SR6012/Oppo 203-D
Subwoofer: Rythmik FV15HP w/ miniDSP 2x4 HD
MrGuru is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 Old 06-20-2019, 10:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tezster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 1,705
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 643 Post(s)
Liked: 541
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrGuru View Post
So, if they are already designated as front heights, I don't need to do anything? I thought I needed to tell my receiver that they are now atmos speakers.
Front heights ARE Atmos speakers as long as the AVR is Atmos capable
tezster is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 06-20-2019, 10:35 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
sdurani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Monterey Park, CA
Posts: 27,583
Mentioned: 192 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6982 Post(s)
Liked: 5967
^^^^ What he said.

Sanjay
sdurani is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 06-20-2019, 10:35 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
MrGuru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by tezster View Post
Front heights ARE Atmos speakers as long as the AVR is Atmos capable
Oof, thanks. That's a bit noobish on my part.

TV: LG OLED65C8PUA
Front L & R/Center: Sierra-2/Sierra-2 center
Front Highs/Surrounds: Polk RTi A3/Polk RTi A1
Receiver/Blu-ray: Marantz SR6012/Oppo 203-D
Subwoofer: Rythmik FV15HP w/ miniDSP 2x4 HD
MrGuru is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 06-20-2019, 10:37 AM
Senior Member
 
Kriilin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Page 58 of the SR6012 shows allowed configurations, you need to set the "Number of height/ceiling speakers" to 4 speakers, and specify "front height". I'm doing that with a Denon 4500, as I have heights built into a screen bulkhead.

(Captain Obvious alert!) ---assuming you had rear heights as well. Otherwise obviously set to "2 speakers".

I see dead pixels.......

Last edited by Kriilin; 06-20-2019 at 10:41 AM.
Kriilin is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 06-20-2019, 01:20 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
MrGuru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kriilin View Post
Page 58 of the SR6012 shows allowed configurations, you need to set the "Number of height/ceiling speakers" to 4 speakers, and specify "front height". I'm doing that with a Denon 4500, as I have heights built into a screen bulkhead.

(Captain Obvious alert!) ---assuming you had rear heights as well. Otherwise obviously set to "2 speakers".
Neat, that is exactly how I have had them set up - I guess that means I have a 5.1.2 vs a 7.1 now?

Edit: Yes, I only have the front two.

TV: LG OLED65C8PUA
Front L & R/Center: Sierra-2/Sierra-2 center
Front Highs/Surrounds: Polk RTi A3/Polk RTi A1
Receiver/Blu-ray: Marantz SR6012/Oppo 203-D
Subwoofer: Rythmik FV15HP w/ miniDSP 2x4 HD

Last edited by MrGuru; 06-20-2019 at 01:25 PM.
MrGuru is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 06-21-2019, 05:36 AM
Senior Member
 
Kriilin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrGuru View Post
Neat, that is exactly how I have had them set up - I guess that means I have a 5.1.2 vs a 7.1 now?

Edit: Yes, I only have the front two.
AFAIK, yes it should be 5.1.2.
MrGuru likes this.

I see dead pixels.......
Kriilin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Audio Theory, Setup, and Chat

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off