Problem With 5.1 Sound on Roku Ultra Device - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 07-17-2019, 08:37 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Doug47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Problem With 5.1 Sound on Roku Ultra Device

I have a rather odd issue with my Roku Ultra device. On Netflix or Amazon Video, when I selected 5.1 sound, the video plays fine, but there is an up to 30 second delay before the audio (5.1) starts. This doesn't happen when I selected "stereo" sound. My Roku is connected to my NAD 777 V3 via an HDMI cable. The Roku is connected to the internet via a wireless connection.

Any suggestions?
Doug47 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 07-18-2019, 02:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 630
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 268 Post(s)
Liked: 135
What happens if you pause playback at start and then hit play again after a few seconds?
Have you tried a cabled connection?
Is it possible the NAD use a long time to recognize the signal type and change sound mode?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Leeliemix is online now  
post #3 of 6 Old 07-22-2019, 12:04 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Doug47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Blame it on HDMI

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doug47 View Post
Any suggestions?
Well, I found a solution. When I connected my Roku to my NAD, I put in a right-angle HDMI to HDMI adapter so that I could fit things behind the NAD. If I remove that adapter, the problem goes away. In my original configuration, I had multiple joints in the HDMI path. It seems HDMI sucks so much that putting connections along the path is enough to screw it up. So as long as I run a SINGLE DIRECT cable from the Roku to the NAD, everyone is happy and I get no delayed sound.

I hate HDMI....
Doug47 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 Old 07-22-2019, 12:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 630
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 268 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doug47 View Post
Well, I found a solution. When I connected my Roku to my NAD, I put in a right-angle HDMI to HDMI adapter so that I could fit things behind the NAD. If I remove that adapter, the problem goes away. In my original configuration, I had multiple joints in the HDMI path. It seems HDMI sucks so much that putting connections along the path is enough to screw it up. So as long as I run a SINGLE DIRECT cable from the Roku to the NAD, everyone is happy and I get no delayed sound.



I hate HDMI....


Great you found a solution
...and HDMI is ticklish thats for sure.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Leeliemix is online now  
post #5 of 6 Old 07-22-2019, 12:50 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 19,345
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2358 Post(s)
Liked: 2214
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doug47 View Post
It seems HDMI sucks so much that putting connections along the path is enough to screw it up. So as long as I run a SINGLE DIRECT cable from the Roku to the NAD, everyone is happy and I get no delayed sound.
Yeah... quite common unfortunately.

Quote:
I hate HDMI....
If it makes you feel better, so do a million others.


EDIT:
This is good HDMI sub-forum with helpful folks.
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/168-h...nnector-world/



If you can’t explain it simply, you don’t understand it well enough – Albert Einstein

Last edited by Ratman; 07-22-2019 at 12:53 PM.
Ratman is online now  
post #6 of 6 Old 08-26-2019, 01:50 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Doug47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Switching Sources...

I've found another solution to the HDMI cable issue. If I quickly switch my input from the HDMI source that is having issues with the Dolby sound to another one (default has been the Sat/Dish source) and then back again, the Dolby starts up almost immediately. I found this solution in another thread. The other thread says that by doing so, you "clear" the confused handshaking process. Again, HDMI is so stupid.
Doug47 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Audio Theory, Setup, and Chat

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off