Wondering if surround sound setup will work for my living room. - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 15 Old 12-03-2019, 09:30 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Wondering if surround sound setup will work for my living room.

Hey, I'm new to all the audio tech and was looking into possibly getting a surround sound system for my living room. The home was wired for surround sound, but it seems the wiring was put at less than ideal locations? I'm wondering if it would even be worth looking into a system or just getting a soundbar instead.

I attached a simple layout of the area. To me it seems as though the wiring is too high? The front speaker wires are 7 feet from the floor with the rear ones being just over 10' off the floor and the couch is basically up against the back wall. Would it be possible to get good audio while sitting on the couch? Would the speakers basically need to be pointed down towards the couch?

Any suggestions are appreciated. Thanks.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Living room layout.png
Views:	42
Size:	11.2 KB
ID:	2649058  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old 12-05-2019, 08:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member

Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Quoted: 2949 Post(s)
Liked: 1913
Quote:
Originally Posted by drago010 View Post
Hey, I'm new to all the audio tech and was looking into possibly getting a surround sound system for my living room. The home was wired for surround sound, but it seems the wiring was put at less than ideal locations? I'm wondering if it would even be worth looking into a system or just getting a soundbar instead.