Will an Optical Splitter Work - Connect TV & DVD to Amp. - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
  • 2 Post By A. Al
  • 1 Post By gbynum
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 05-21-2020, 08:53 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Will an Optical Splitter Work - Connect TV & DVD to Amp.

Hi everyone,

I have an OLED65C9 TV, it has an Optical Output connection which I would like to use.

I would like to be able to feed sound from my TV through my Amp's optical input, whenever I wish to hear audio through my full sound system.

However, I would also like to also connect my DVD player to the same optical input on my Amp.

I don't want to buy another Amp, and I thought that I could use an Optical Splitter that would allow me to use the Amp's optical input connection for both the TV & DVD player. (in case anyone is wondering my Amp does not have any HDMI connections).

I assume this splitter can detect when I'm using one versus the other and switch outputs accordingly.

I was considering using this item I found on Amazon, I would appreciate some experts opinions on whether this would do the job for me....LiNKFOR 3 Port Digital Optical Splitter 1x3 Aluminum Alloy SPDIF Toslink Optical Fiber Audio Splitter Fiber Audio Splitter.
https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B07MGFT765/?coliid=I2ZTZ97QS6N2MZ&colid=1ZPA5O8IX5S50&psc=1&r ef_=lv_ov_lig_dp_it

I assume I would connect the input connection from the splitter to the output optical connection from my TV. Then connect one of the output splitter connections to my Amp and another to the DVD. Does that make sense?

TY all for your input,
Al
A. Al is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 05-21-2020, 09:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 1,359
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 577 Post(s)
Liked: 291
That one looks like it takes one signal and send 3 out which is the opposite of what you are looking for.

Why do you need to connect the DVD player to the “amp” directly, you could just connect it to the tv and have the tv send everything to the “amp”?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Leeliemix is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 05-21-2020, 10:07 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 20,289
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2770 Post(s)
Liked: 2779
Does your receiver have a digital coax input?
Does your DVD player have a a digital coax output?
Use that.


Does only one device have a an optical out? You can use a optical to coax or coax to optical converter.


Or for a last resort, use a optical "switch" as opposed to a "splitter" IMO.



If you can’t explain it simply, you don’t understand it well enough – Albert Einstein
Ratman is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 Old 05-21-2020, 10:10 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leeliemix View Post
That one looks like it takes one signal and send 3 out which is the opposite of what you are looking for.

Why do you need to connect the DVD player to the “amp” directly, you could just connect it to the tv and have the tv send everything to the “amp”?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Good point, on the DVD connection...didn't think about that...will try that out. TY
A. Al is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 05-21-2020, 10:11 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratman View Post
Does your receiver have a digital coax input?
Does your DVD player have a a digital coax output?
Use that.


Does only one device have a an optical out? You can use a optical to coax or coax to optical converter.


Or for a last resort, use a optical "switch" as opposed to a "splitter" IMO.
TY, yes they both have Coax Outputs, I will consider using that instead.
Ratman and BIslander like this.
A. Al is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 05-21-2020, 02:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
gbynum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Greenville SC
Posts: 644
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 42
I use optical from my TV and copper from my Blu-Ray. Leeliemix, I believe that at least some TVs don't pass audio from an HDMI input to the optical out, thus the need for the cable from the DVD to the amp.
Ratman likes this.
gbynum is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Audio Theory, Setup, and Chat

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off