Acoustic Research XSight Remote - Page 28 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 69Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #811 of 1249 Old 10-19-2014, 09:44 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 14,480
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2946 Post(s)
Liked: 1319
No problems for me on the US site. Haven't tried the UK site lately.

Have you tried creating a new account? You should be able to create one and upload from your remote to start back where you left off. You could also try RMIR instead as it doesn't rely on ez-rc at all.
mdavej is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #812 of 1249 Old 10-21-2014, 07:24 AM
Member
 
andrewilley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It started working again a few hours later, must have been a temporary server issue.


Andre
andrewilley is offline  
post #813 of 1249 Old 10-22-2014, 01:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blackssr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4,257
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1229 Post(s)
Liked: 664
Quote:
Originally Posted by eortizr View Post
it does not know what is off or on, so if your equipment does not have a discrete on and off, then you will run into issues, it you equipment does have on and off discrete commands then there will be no issue since you can set on and off individually for each activity and use the main 'power' button to turn everything off or just certain components only. For me, not having a device state is the only drawback from the harmony, everything else this remote wins. You can do more things with this remote than with the harmony, you just need to play around with the software, you can customize everything. I used to have a Harmony remote, and I will not go back. The Xsight is like an Android not so intuitive but powerful, and the Harmony like an iPhone very user friendly but limited customization.
Funny, I just said this same exact thing to a friend of mine last week. The Harmony line should be called "i remotes" because they are idiot proof and the Xsight line should be called "A" Sight, because like Android, they are more for the techie that enjoys tweaking and need very little hand holding.
blackssr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #814 of 1249 Old 10-22-2014, 03:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blackssr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4,257
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1229 Post(s)
Liked: 664
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stereodude View Post
I have two questions:

1) Are these units on ebay for ~$30 shipped from China really legit, fully functioning remotes?

2) Can the remote be completely programmed from scratch with RM-IR or is it more for tweaking the remote after using the EZ-RC software?
I purchased 4 units and they are 100% new and work perfectly. Best deal I've gotten on remotes. ~$ 130.00 for 4 brand new remotes. I sold my Harmony One for $ 125.00.

Last edited by blackssr; 10-22-2014 at 08:03 PM.
blackssr is offline  
post #815 of 1249 Old 10-22-2014, 11:57 PM
Senior Member
 
millst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 429
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackssr View Post
Funny, I just said this same exact thing to a friend of mine last week. The Harmony line should be called "i remotes" because they are idiot proof and the Xsight line should be called "A" Sight, because like Android, they are more for the techie that enjoys tweaking and need very little hand holding.
I don't know about that...I feel like I spent tons of time tweaking my Harmony 1100 before dumping it. Couldn't take/remove the lag and I'm happier with the XSight despite its shortcomings.

-tm
millst is offline  
post #816 of 1249 Old 10-23-2014, 06:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
xnappo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 2,937
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Those eBay remotes were like crack to me - they kept lowering the price. I bought 12 over the last year. I think I can stop now. Most were fine, some had sticky rubber and needed the talcum powder treatment mentioned earlier.

xnappo
xnappo is offline  
post #817 of 1249 Old 10-23-2014, 01:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blackssr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4,257
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1229 Post(s)
Liked: 664
Quote:
Originally Posted by xnappo View Post
Those eBay remotes were like crack to me - they kept lowering the price. I bought 12 over the last year. I think I can stop now. Most were fine, some had sticky rubber and needed the talcum powder treatment mentioned earlier.

xnappo
I here ya... Legal addiction. Hell I even purchased the Nevo C2 NIB for $ 10.00 with free shipping. Seriously i felt guilty about that one for about 5 seconds. It is scary to think I paid $ 700 plus back in the day for my Pronto 7500s.
blackssr is offline  
post #818 of 1249 Old 10-23-2014, 01:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blackssr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4,257
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1229 Post(s)
Liked: 664
Quote:
Originally Posted by xnappo View Post
Those eBay remotes were like crack to me - they kept lowering the price. I bought 12 over the last year. I think I can stop now. Most were fine, some had sticky rubber and needed the talcum powder treatment mentioned earlier.

xnappo
The ones I purchased were brand new and in perfect condition. Not a mark not a scratch. I was amazed at the condition. I just order a few more to give as Xmas gifts to family members (programing included).
blackssr is offline  
post #819 of 1249 Old 10-23-2014, 01:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
xnappo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 2,937
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Yeah, all of them have been in good condition - the ones with the sticky rubber were obviously just stored somewhere too hot. They had obviously never been used.

xnappo
xnappo is offline  
post #820 of 1249 Old 11-02-2014, 08:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jim tressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 36
any particular seller? I have an URC mx-650 thats about to die and the xsighht looks like a decent remote, especially if you customize it per some of the other sites.
jim tressler is offline  
post #821 of 1249 Old 11-02-2014, 12:51 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 14,480
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2946 Post(s)
Liked: 1319
Quote:
Originally Posted by jim tressler View Post
any particular seller? I have an URC mx-650 thats about to die and the xsighht looks like a decent remote, especially if you customize it per some of the other sites.
I recently got several Xsight Touch and Xsight Color from allshop29 with great results.
mdavej is online now  
post #822 of 1249 Old 11-04-2014, 10:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jim tressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 36
thanks! got one on the way for $29. Sounds like a great remote. I am in the process of learning all that I can do with the RM JP1 software
jim tressler is offline  
post #823 of 1249 Old 11-04-2014, 11:48 AM
Newbie
 
Muikster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got one spare Xsight from Ebay. And it was brand new. And since it is the AR version, it has the tilt sensor! (my old one is One for All version so it does not have this sensor)
Muikster is offline  
post #824 of 1249 Old 11-06-2014, 07:42 PM
Senior Member
 
twarren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jim tressler View Post
any particular seller? I have an URC mx-650 thats about to die and the xsighht looks like a decent remote, especially if you customize it per some of the other sites.
I purchased one from fashion970124 a couple of weeks ago and it just arrived today; its in excellent condition and all functions work well. Just remember to connect to ez-rc site after you go through the remote's setup sequence so that you will get the most recent firmware. Also, remember to press and hold home key for a few seconds after you do the setup to get to the home screen.
twarren is offline  
post #825 of 1249 Old 11-07-2014, 09:38 AM
Senior Member
 
twarren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 11
serial number

Does anyone know how to determine the serial number for a ARRX18G xsight remote? I don't see it in the About information and in examining the original purchase box and related documentation.
twarren is offline  
post #826 of 1249 Old 11-07-2014, 10:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jim tressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 36
good to know, thanks for the advice! mine was from fashion970124 as well. Should be here late next week or the week after. Great deal for only $30 and sounds like there is a lot you can do with it.
jim tressler is offline  
post #827 of 1249 Old 11-08-2014, 01:55 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 14,480
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2946 Post(s)
Liked: 1319
Quote:
Originally Posted by twarren View Post
Does anyone know how to determine the serial number for a ARRX18G xsight remote? I don't see it in the About information and in examining the original purchase box and related documentation.
Interesting. No trace of a serial number on any of mine either.
mdavej is online now  
post #828 of 1249 Old 11-12-2014, 07:21 AM
Senior Member
 
insync44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 425
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Just a question. Looking at the AR Acoustic Research ARX 18G to replace my Harmony 900. Is this an IR or RF? Where is the Hub and Extenders a la H 900?
Thanks

insync44 is offline  
post #829 of 1249 Old 11-12-2014, 07:52 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 14,480
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2946 Post(s)
Liked: 1319
Quote:
Originally Posted by insync44 View Post
Just a question. Looking at the AR Acoustic Research ARX 18G to replace my Harmony 900. Is this an IR or RF? Where is the Hub and Extenders a la H 900?
Thanks

18G is RF, 15G is IR. 18G shoots IR from the remote as well.

Hub (with 6 extenders) sold seperately:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Acoustic-Res...-/111025198191

Nevo REX-433 also works.
mdavej is online now  
post #830 of 1249 Old 11-12-2014, 06:34 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Just got a Xsight remote, first universal remote i have ever had. Trying to set it up and having some issues and i cant find any info on the remotes website for the issue i am having. Hope there might be some help here.

The issue i am having is trying to update the remote through the ez-rc website. If i use internet explorer a pop up window will come up saying "call failed" if i use Firefox or Chrome i will press "connect" and i will get a loading screen that never loads. its 5 small dots that just go left to right.

Any ideas or help would be appreciated.

Thanks
CarDude is offline  
post #831 of 1249 Old 11-12-2014, 06:50 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 14,480
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2946 Post(s)
Liked: 1319
EZ-RC only works on internet explorer in compatibility mode, no other browser. I assume you installed the conduit first. If you're running Win8.x, you'll need the registry hack earlier in this thread.

I have no idea how you're getting a call failed error. Sounds like IE may be configured to use some sort of dial up connection. You need to fix that first.
mdavej is online now  
post #832 of 1249 Old 11-13-2014, 01:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jevans64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Madison, Alabama
Posts: 1,283
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 255 Post(s)
Liked: 195
I just ordered ARRX18G from fashion on eBay to try out. Logitech Harmony 1100 keypad finally gave out and I'm unable to find a replacement for a decent price. Not thrilled with the new Harmony remotes, with even fewer hard buttons plus small screen.

Denon AVR X7200WA, Emotiva XPR-5, Emotiva XPA-7, Sony XBR 85" X900F, Oppo UDP-203, Roku Ultra.
DefTech BP7000SC (L/R), CLR3000 (C), SM55 (FH), UIW BPZ/A (SB), UIW 75 (TM).
JBL L7 (Sur), EoSone RSR 350 (RH).
PC 2.1 setup. Emotiva Stealth 6, SVS SB16-Ultra sub, Emotiva DC-1 DAC.
jevans64 is offline  
post #833 of 1249 Old 11-13-2014, 03:17 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
So next question. Tried to find the correct way to program the remote to the new Xfinity X1 set top box i have and cant find much information on this or at least information that i can understand.

Any direction on this matter would be welcomed. thanks

When going through the remote menu the and trying to program for a cable box i can not find the xfinity brand or the brand for the set top box? what should i use or is that where i need to link to the EZ-RC website to do? which i still can not get to work when even using the capatability mode on IE.
CarDude is offline  
post #834 of 1249 Old 11-13-2014, 10:29 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 14,480
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2946 Post(s)
Liked: 1319
For Xfinity use Motorola or Cisco. For EZ-RC try a different computer. Last resort, try Remote Master.
mdavej is online now  
post #835 of 1249 Old 11-14-2014, 05:16 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Figured out my problem. I had to uninstall the EZ-RC from my computer and then instead of using the CD that the remote came with just downloaded it direct from the site.

Then from there i had to open up IE before going to EZ-RC and go to IE 7 before going to the EZ-RC site. Once i did all this in the correct order i was able to connect the remote and update it. IF i went to EZ-RC and switched to IE 7 with the EZ-RC site up it would not work.

Also was able to connect to the xfinity box while having the remote connected to the computer went through the device set up sets and there is a category just for Xfinity boxes. First code that i tried worked for everything. Menu, pause, fast forward, on demand. the works.

So if you are getting the "call failed" error like i was i would try uninstalling the EZ-RC from the comp and then download direct form the site.
CarDude is offline  
post #836 of 1249 Old 11-18-2014, 09:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
xnappo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 2,937
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 139
One has to wonder what the deal is with the weird China supply of these remotes. The prices just went up across all the sellers. I wonder if it is really all the same person? Odd!

xnappo
xnappo is offline  
post #837 of 1249 Old 11-18-2014, 11:05 AM
Member
 
garath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
This thread has sparked my interest. My Harmony One just got a cracked LCD (by setting it down on the couch my wife says) It has been my favorite Harmony I've owned so far. Unfortunately the new Ultimate doesn't seem nearly as good to me with the lack of real buttons and the merging of the SKIP and FF buttons for the DVR (I basically use the skip 98% of the time with my Tivo). I've been researching alternatives and the Xsight looks pretty good to me.

Would you guys concur? Is it a decent lateral move from a Harmony One? I have 5 devices that need controlling give or take and I enjoy the "activity" setup that Logitech uses.
garath is offline  
post #838 of 1249 Old 11-18-2014, 11:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
xnappo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 2,937
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 139
The XSight is good, and you can get a good deal but:

- The remote is pretty much discontinued
- The web software is somewhat clunky- but workable
- RM-IR is a very powerful tool, but has a bit of a learning curve

xnappo
xnappo is offline  
post #839 of 1249 Old 11-19-2014, 08:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blackssr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4,257
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1229 Post(s)
Liked: 664
Quote:
Originally Posted by garath View Post
This thread has sparked my interest. My Harmony One just got a cracked LCD (by setting it down on the couch my wife says) It has been my favorite Harmony I've owned so far. Unfortunately the new Ultimate doesn't seem nearly as good to me with the lack of real buttons and the merging of the SKIP and FF buttons for the DVR (I basically use the skip 98% of the time with my Tivo). I've been researching alternatives and the Xsight looks pretty good to me.

Would you guys concur? Is it a decent lateral move from a Harmony One? I have 5 devices that need controlling give or take and I enjoy the "activity" setup that Logitech uses.
I sold three of my Harmony One's and 2 of my Pronto 7500s after finding the Xsight 18. I love the remote but the learning curve with RM-IR was steep for me but the payoff was worth it. The experts were very patient and extremely helpful. (Many thanks!) RM-IR was confusing at first but eventually if just clicked and I was able to program from scratch with RM-IR. I use RF add on for my main room and turned it off for the other 4 rooms. I am thrilled with the end result. I purchased a total of 15 remotes from ebay and plan to give 5 to family and friends for gifts and will keep 5 for spares. My setup was pretty complex and the XSight handled it with ease once programming was done. I can send you my finished profile if you like so you can load into RM-RM to see what I did. I have Tivo, DenonX5200W with Atmos, Dune Players, KD links, Amazon Fire TV, HTPC, Security Camera PC, Vizio 80" 3D TV and X10 all controlled with RF in my Main Room..

Last edited by blackssr; 11-19-2014 at 10:18 AM.
blackssr is offline  
post #840 of 1249 Old 11-19-2014, 08:56 AM
Member
 
chugger93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackssr View Post
I sold three of my Harmony One's and 2 of my Pronto 7500s after finding the Xsight 18. I love the remote but the learning curve with RM-IR was steep for me but the payoff was worth it. The experts were very patient and extremely helpful. (Many thanks!) RM-IR was confusing at first but eventually if just clicked and I was able to program from scratch with RM-IR. I use RF add on for my main room and turned it off for the other 4 rooms. I am thrilled with the end result. I purchased a total of 15 remotes from ebay and gave 5 to family and friends and kept 5 for spares. My setup was pretty complex and the XSight handled it with ease once programming was done. I can send you my finished profile if you like so you can load into RM-RM to see what I did. I have Tivo, DenonX5200W with Atmos, Dune Players, KD links, Amazon Fire TV, HTPC, Security Camera PC, Vizio 80" 3D TV and X10 all controlled with RF in my Main Room..
hmm, so how do u program an xsight remote? Just oncsreen menus and such? or maybe theres software? Is it really difficult? I'm debating on that remote
chugger93 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Remote Control Area

Tags
Acoustic Research , Harmony 1100 Remcontrol , Remotes And Controllers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off