Remote Control FAQ, Buyer's Guide, and Programming Thread - Page 2 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 18Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 82 Old 02-06-2013, 07:32 AM
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 29,681
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 608 Post(s)
Liked: 2729
Great thread !
noshank likes this.
Mfusick is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 82 Old 07-06-2014, 08:14 PM
Senior Member
 
ragged's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 32
I found that using a Samsung galaxy tab with ir and the touchsquid app is the best.
ragged is offline  
post #33 of 82 Old 01-14-2015, 07:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kinglm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,021
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 346 Post(s)
Liked: 306
Hmmm this looks very nice...https://www.kickstarter.com/projects...hinking-remote
JayMan007 likes this.
kinglm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 82 Old 02-05-2015, 09:37 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 9,426
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1756 Post(s)
Liked: 793
Quote:
Originally Posted by kinglm View Post
Hopefully it functions as well as it looks. Can't have too many competitors for best remote so good luck to them. I'm just not holding my breath or pulling out my wallet.

bryansj is offline  
post #35 of 82 Old 01-09-2016, 08:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Kensmith48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Mid-Michigan
Posts: 1,456
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Great thread!
I have a URC 980 and a 3000. I have the programming -CCP & the Editor. I've been looking at downloadable graphics from www.Remotecentral. I can program these remotes but I can't figure out how to get what I want from that web site into the CCP or Editor program. Could you give me a step by step on how do this? I also downloaded a lot of icons from a place called Blackman.com. These went into Program Files x86. Any advice appreciated.
Kensmith48 is offline  
post #36 of 82 Old 04-18-2016, 09:17 PM
Newbie
 
LAVSFV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm trying to find a work around to the fact that my new Samsung JS7000 tv cannot output sound through it's speakers and audio out at the same time. I need the audio out to feed an amp and loop for a hearing impaired individual while the hearing person hears via the Tv speakers.

A partial solution is to feed the loop directly from the satelite box. The down side to this is having no volume control as the Direct TV remote controls only the TV volume and not the volume on its audio out.

I would like to control the two audio streams in tandem with one remote, would a universal remote enable this?
LAVSFV is offline  
post #37 of 82 Old 08-29-2016, 07:19 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Boston Acoustic Recepter

Need remote code to control old Recepter HS radio with Time Warner cable remote. TWC manual says the code is 447. It is not. Any ideas? Thanks! G
gderk is offline  
post #38 of 82 Old 08-29-2016, 07:21 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by gderk View Post
Boston Acoustic Recepter

Need remote code to control old Recepter HS radio with Time Warner cable remote. TWC manual says the code is 447. It is not. Any ideas? Thanks! G
^^ Recepter HD radio. Sorry, fat fingers.
gderk is offline  
post #39 of 82 Old 11-19-2016, 02:02 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 0
any suggestion on a remote to control kodi (windows)

how is something like this?
RecommendationAppreciated is offline  
post #40 of 82 Old 11-20-2016, 07:59 PM
Member
 
SeanKosmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Similar to the post above, Im actually curious now that some of these technologies have been out for awhile, what are people recommending these days? Are these still the big players and if so, which is the best? Demopad seemed to have a strong following but the iRule people have the larger forum.... anyone?
SeanKosmann is offline  
post #41 of 82 Old 12-04-2016, 09:43 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
help with christmas gift

Hi,

I'm trying to buy my husband a universal remote for Christmas for our new theater room. I am clueless and looking for any advise on which brand to go for. I've been looking at the Harmony 650 only because we had a Harmony remote several years ago and he loved it. It finally died after being dropped and the screen broke. Here are the following devices we will be controlling with this new remote:

Epson Projector
Xbox One
Phillips Blue Ray Player
Onkyo Stereo System

Thank you!
unknowingwife is offline  
post #42 of 82 Old 12-04-2016, 01:58 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 14,757
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3123 Post(s)
Liked: 1426
650 will work fine. 700 is also often on sale around the holidays and adds rechargeable batteries while the 650 lacks. Biggest drawback with these versus the more expensive Elite is that you have to aim them at the thing your controlling, which could be a problem if the projector is behind you and the stereo/xbox/bluray are in front of you. Elite solves this but is much more expensive.
WinMod21 likes this.
mdavej is offline  
post #43 of 82 Old 12-17-2016, 05:42 AM
Senior Member
 
jasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Remote for computer

I hate to play back computer files(movies,tv shows, etc)with a keyboard. Is there a remote that would work with Windows Media Player, VLC Player, Tivo, etc? Also, I would like to fast forward through these files with a remote. Can you do things like rename files, etc. with a remote? I know there are cell phone apps for this, but I would prefer a remote.
jasta is offline  
post #44 of 82 Old 12-17-2016, 06:25 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 14,757
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3123 Post(s)
Liked: 1426
A remote in lieu of a keyboard for renaming files, etc. is essentially just a smaller, harder to use keyboard. The most practical use of a remote with a PC or any media device is for transport control (play, rewind, etc.), and of course can be done with nearly any universal remote.

So I recommend you try to pinpoint what you dislike about using a keyboard for keyboard related tasks and imagine how this experience would improve if the keyboard were simply smaller, which is what you get with a "remote".

In my experience, playback is 95% of what I use a PC remote for. The few times I need true keyboard/mouse functionality, I use an actual keyboard/mouse or smartphone app. I find this to be the best compromise for overall efficient and simple control of a complex device like a PC.
mdavej is offline  
post #45 of 82 Old 12-30-2016, 03:04 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
This is great information thanks!
julianw is offline  
post #46 of 82 Old 02-28-2017, 04:22 PM
Member
 
mamsterla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I have been a Harmony One user for a number of years. My remote is starting to have buttons that are hard to press, so I am looking at either upgrading or finding a replacement.

I have all of my main devices on IP, so one of the questions I have is whether:

1) Get a new(used) Harmony One and be happy (cheapest)
2) Upgrade to the newer Harmony Elite and incorporate the Hub so that I can control from my iPad(s), mobile as well as device
3) Move to another system like the URC and go through a learning curve

My main complaint with the Harmony One is that the line of sight IR does not alway hit every device in my cabinet - I have about 8 devices to control (Pioneer Kuro Plasma, Sony PS4, Oppo 105D, Dish VIP722, Logitech Transporter, Integra DHC-80.3 processor, Xbox 360, Wii, Velodyne DD-15 sub). I do have to hit the "help" button and repoint about 25% of the time. I like the task oriented nature and am pretty happy. I do not have a lot of "smart systems" in my home - no Alexa, no Nest, etc. I will be upgrading a few elements of the system - Anthem AVM60 to replace the Integra DHC-80.3 and possibly an LG OLED screen.

Any suggestions on approach?
mamsterla is offline  
post #47 of 82 Old 03-02-2017, 09:15 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 14,757
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3123 Post(s)
Liked: 1426
4) Get a new Harmony 700 (cheaper than a One, has row of colored buttons and isn't old, worn out and obsolete. Drawback is screen is smaller (4 buttons per page vs. 6), and charges by cable instead of cradle. 8 device limit, but should be fine for your case)

Elite will solve your LOS issues.

URC learning curve is steep. And URC does not have a product as cheap has Harmony that has phone/tablet app as well. However, URC is far more programmable. If you have any complex macros, URC is much better at that sort of thing.
WinMod21 likes this.
mdavej is offline  
post #48 of 82 Old 03-02-2017, 10:19 PM
Member
 
mamsterla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
4) Get a new Harmony 700 (cheaper than a One, has row of colored buttons and isn't old, worn out and obsolete. Drawback is screen is smaller (4 buttons per page vs. 6), and charges by cable instead of cradle. 8 device limit, but should be fine for your case)

Elite will solve your LOS issues.

URC learning curve is steep. And URC does not have a product as cheap has Harmony that has phone/tablet app as well. However, URC is far more programmable. If you have any complex macros, URC is much better at that sort of thing.
Thanks for the info. I am a software engineer, so the programming does not daunt me. I think my gut says to go with the Harmony Elite and eventually to play with IFTTT and Alexa over time. The LOS will win me fans at home. URC seems overkill at the moment and the price is less attractive than the sub $300 street price for the Elite.
mdavej likes this.
mamsterla is offline  
post #49 of 82 Old 03-16-2017, 12:32 PM
Newbie
 
MaestroP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thank you for making this forum sticky. I have been trying to make sense of universal remote features and this helps a lot.

My confusion (which drew me here) was about IR & RF implementations in universal remote controls. From what I gather here, RF is only used in universal remotes to control IR devices through a repeater and NOT RF devices themselves.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bryansj View Post

Note that a universal RF remote is not designed to learn or control other RF devices such as ceiling fans, garage door openers, gas logs, or any other device that has no IR input. In most cases you can assume that if you have an RF device then it either needs to be switched to an IR mode (such as a DirecTV DVR) or you will not be able to control it with anything except for the OEM remote.
Since this thread is a several years old, I want to verify that the above is still correct. I've been confused trying to find basic remotes to control a combination of devices that I have (Home theater receiver-IR, Roku Premiere-RF, Samsung 6300 TV-RF, other devices that aren't a big deal). If the above quote is still true, I CAN NOT control my Roku & TV with a universal remote because they are RF. Is this still correct?
MaestroP is offline  
post #50 of 82 Old 03-16-2017, 01:02 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 9,426
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1756 Post(s)
Liked: 793
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaestroP View Post
Thank you for making this forum sticky. I have been trying to make sense of universal remote features and this helps a lot.

My confusion (which drew me here) was about IR & RF implementations in universal remote controls. From what I gather here, RF is only used in universal remotes to control IR devices through a repeater and NOT RF devices themselves.



Since this thread is a several years old, I want to verify that the above is still correct. I've been confused trying to find basic remotes to control a combination of devices that I have (Home theater receiver-IR, Roku Premiere-RF, Samsung 6300 TV-RF, other devices that aren't a big deal). If the above quote is still true, I CAN NOT control my Roku & TV with a universal remote because they are RF. Is this still correct?
Most RF devices also have an IR input. A Roku has IR, but not the Roku Stick. I'm not sure about your TV, but I'd be surprised if it didn't have an IR input either. It is easy enough to test. Just find any programmable remote (cable box, AVR, Blu-ray) and put in the Samsung codes and test it.

bryansj is offline  
post #51 of 82 Old 03-16-2017, 01:21 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 14,757
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3123 Post(s)
Liked: 1426
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaestroP View Post
Thank you for making this forum sticky. I have been trying to make sense of universal remote features and this helps a lot.

My confusion (which drew me here) was about IR & RF implementations in universal remote controls. From what I gather here, RF is only used in universal remotes to control IR devices through a repeater and NOT RF devices themselves.



Since this thread is a several years old, I want to verify that the above is still correct. I've been confused trying to find basic remotes to control a combination of devices that I have (Home theater receiver-IR, Roku Premiere-RF, Samsung 6300 TV-RF, other devices that aren't a big deal). If the above quote is still true, I CAN NOT control my Roku & TV with a universal remote because they are RF. Is this still correct?
Confirming what Bryan said, both your Roku and TV are RF AND IR, hence can be control by any IR or RF universal remote. The fact that your Roku and TV come with RF remotes doesn't mean these devices no longer work with IR.

Some newer universals have implemented limited direct "RF" capabilities in the form of wifi and bluetooth. A Harmony hub-based remote, for example will control your Roku via "RF" (wifi or bluetooth) but not your TV. Other smartphone/tablet app remotes will control your TV via wifi.
mdavej is offline  
post #52 of 82 Old 09-23-2017, 06:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mattg3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 4,817
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 952 Post(s)
Liked: 324
my roku premiere + works fine with my new harmony 350. its my Oppo-103 that wont for some reason

Matt
mattg3 is offline  
post #53 of 82 Old 09-24-2017, 07:29 AM
Senior Member
 
jasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Logitech Wireless Touch Keyboard K400-remote version?

Is there a remote that would function like this keyboard, but you could hold in one hand? With a miniature touchpad?
jasta is offline  
post #54 of 82 Old 11-09-2017, 10:55 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
mrvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 8,384
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1265 Post(s)
Liked: 949
No discussion thread for the Harmony 890? From from what I can tell, the difference between the 880 and the 890 is that the 890 can control an IR extender box. If so, it will give me the ability to control my 3 Samsung Blu-ray players, by attaching three IR emitters to the front of the players.

I currently have a URC-R50, which turns on all 3 BD players at the same time. After a period of time, the 2 players I'm not using wiill aultimately time out and turn off, which means I can't directly turn off the one that is one. I have to do an eject so that the other two turn back on. Then I can turn them all off at once.

"VCR was in the closet. Still works. Can't get the clock to stop blinking, though."
Angela - Animal Kingdom - 7/16/19
My 2017 Total Solar Eclipse Photos
mrvideo is offline  
post #55 of 82 Old 11-10-2017, 06:04 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 9,426
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1756 Post(s)
Liked: 793
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrvideo View Post
No discussion thread for the Harmony 890? From from what I can tell, the difference between the 880 and the 890 is that the 890 can control an IR extender box. If so, it will give me the ability to control my 3 Samsung Blu-ray players, by attaching three IR emitters to the front of the players.

I currently have a URC-R50, which turns on all 3 BD players at the same time. After a period of time, the 2 players I'm not using wiill aultimately time out and turn off, which means I can't directly turn off the one that is one. I have to do an eject so that the other two turn back on. Then I can turn them all off at once.
The IR extender for the 890 has four addressable ports.

However, it is a very old remote and has terrible build quality. Mine would break one way or another during the first year. It was phased out for the 900, but that uses a two port extender.

It wouldn't make much sense to start new with such an old and unreliable remote.

URC has addressable multi-port extenders.

bryansj is offline  
post #56 of 82 Old 11-10-2017, 06:19 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
mrvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 8,384
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1265 Post(s)
Liked: 949
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryansj View Post
However, it is a very old remote and has terrible build quality. Mine would break one way or another during the first year. It was phased out for the 900, but that uses a two port extender.

It wouldn't make much sense to start new with such an old and unreliable remote.
Thanks for the update on it.
Quote:
URC has addressable multi-port extenders.
For my R50?

"VCR was in the closet. Still works. Can't get the clock to stop blinking, though."
Angela - Animal Kingdom - 7/16/19
My 2017 Total Solar Eclipse Photos
mrvideo is offline  
post #57 of 82 Old 11-10-2017, 07:48 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 9,426
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1756 Post(s)
Liked: 793
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrvideo View Post
Thanks for the update on it.

For my R50?
No. The consumer model with the extender is the RFS200. I was talking more about the Complete Control line of their remotes.

bryansj is offline  
post #58 of 82 Old 11-10-2017, 08:26 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
mrvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 8,384
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1265 Post(s)
Liked: 949
OK, thanks. Guess I'll stick with what I have.

Unfortunately the MX series of remotes require professional programming. I will not pay someone to do something that I can do myself. Finding the software is not easy.

"VCR was in the closet. Still works. Can't get the clock to stop blinking, though."
Angela - Animal Kingdom - 7/16/19
My 2017 Total Solar Eclipse Photos

Last edited by mrvideo; 11-10-2017 at 08:36 AM.
mrvideo is offline  
post #59 of 82 Old 11-10-2017, 08:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dalto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2,682
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1291 Post(s)
Liked: 658
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrvideo View Post
Unfortunately the MX series of remotes require professional programming. I will not pay someone to do something that I can do myself. Finding the software is not easy.
You just need to buy from someone who provides the software.
dalto is offline  
post #60 of 82 Old 11-10-2017, 08:49 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
mrvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 8,384
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1265 Post(s)
Liked: 949
Quote:
Originally Posted by dalto View Post
You just need to buy from someone who provides the software.
Which is why I said not so easy.

"VCR was in the closet. Still works. Can't get the clock to stop blinking, though."
Angela - Animal Kingdom - 7/16/19
My 2017 Total Solar Eclipse Photos
mrvideo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Remote Control Area

Tags
Receivers Amplifiers , Remote Control Harmony 650 , Harmony 900 Remote , Logitech Harmony 890 Remote Control Refurbished , Harmony 1100 Remcontrol , Cat5 Rack 1u

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off