Official URC MX-450 Remote Thread - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 13Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 136 Old 09-11-2015, 04:04 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Stanton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Plano, TX USA
Posts: 3,823
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1751 Post(s)
Liked: 889
Official URC MX-450 Remote Thread

How come no one ever created a dedicated thread for this great user-programmable remote? Well, now we have one. I'm going to post a couple of links to relevant old (short) threads in a second post, but for now, here is why I upgraded from an R50->R40->MX-450 (I have since retired both previous remotes): the MX-450 has the reliable buttons of an R40 and the (LCD) screen of an R50 with the added ability to backup/archive/upload/download the remote contents/memory. Even better, it doesn't require a professional installer (or their software) to program it (just like the R40/R50)! Eventually, all owners of the R40 will see their OLED screen die a slow (lack of brightness) death.
This remote is still in production (2015) with more information on the URC website here.

Yamaha RX-A2050 AVR [v1.81], LG 65EF9500 4K OLED [v4.25.70]
5.0.2 set-up: (4) Polk Monitor 10B's, (2) Polk Monitor 4's, Polk CS300 center
B&O TX2 Turntable, Nakamichi Cassette Deck 1
Pioneer CLD-99 LD, Panasonic DMP-UB900 UHD [v1.80]

Last edited by Stanton; 09-11-2015 at 04:40 PM.
Stanton is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 136 Old 09-11-2015, 04:06 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Stanton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Plano, TX USA
Posts: 3,823
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1751 Post(s)
Liked: 889
Exclamation Reserved for Links

Here is a link to a very important thread telling you where you can find the MX-450 Archiver Software.

Yamaha RX-A2050 AVR [v1.81], LG 65EF9500 4K OLED [v4.25.70]
5.0.2 set-up: (4) Polk Monitor 10B's, (2) Polk Monitor 4's, Polk CS300 center
B&O TX2 Turntable, Nakamichi Cassette Deck 1
Pioneer CLD-99 LD, Panasonic DMP-UB900 UHD [v1.80]
Stanton is online now  
post #3 of 136 Old 09-11-2015, 04:38 PM
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 18,164
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 660 Post(s)
Liked: 882
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stanton View Post
How come no one ever created a dedicated thread for this great user-programmable remote?
I was going to create an official thread for this after i got mine complete with Tips and Tricks, Pros, and Cons, but i got busy with other stuff and never finished the rough draft i'd started

Edit - when i get some time i'll finish my write-up and post it here.

.

Randy
Sony XBR-55X900E, Panasonic TC-P55ST60, TiVo Roamio Pro, TWC Arris DCX3600-M 6-Tuner DVR, Onkyo TX-SR333 AVR, URC MX-890, MX-500 Remotes.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - https://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...

Last edited by RandyWalters; 09-12-2015 at 07:55 AM.
RandyWalters is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 136 Old 09-11-2015, 04:48 PM
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 18,164
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 660 Post(s)
Liked: 882
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stanton View Post
Here is a link to a very important thread telling you where you can find the MX-450 Archiver Software.
The MX-450 Archiver Software is also available directly from URC's website:

http://www.universalremote.com/resou...MX450Setup.zip

http://www.universalremote.com/resid..._downloads.php


One important thing to remember when using the software is UPLOAD means sending the remote's current configuration to your PC for safe keeping, and DOWNLOAD means to send the saved file to the Remote.

I got them mixed up early on and accidentally wiped out my whole 9-device configuration and all my macros and activities that i'd spent the weekend creating LOL.


.

Randy
Sony XBR-55X900E, Panasonic TC-P55ST60, TiVo Roamio Pro, TWC Arris DCX3600-M 6-Tuner DVR, Onkyo TX-SR333 AVR, URC MX-890, MX-500 Remotes.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - https://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...

Last edited by RandyWalters; 09-11-2015 at 05:40 PM. Reason: Added direct link to Archiver Zip
RandyWalters is offline  
post #5 of 136 Old 09-11-2015, 05:29 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Stanton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Plano, TX USA
Posts: 3,823
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1751 Post(s)
Liked: 889
I've already used the backup/restore option to test out some alternative programming for my new AVR without losing work in progress! I loved my previous URC remotes and hope this one will last; I know I don't want to go down the $$$ professional programming route.

Yamaha RX-A2050 AVR [v1.81], LG 65EF9500 4K OLED [v4.25.70]
5.0.2 set-up: (4) Polk Monitor 10B's, (2) Polk Monitor 4's, Polk CS300 center
B&O TX2 Turntable, Nakamichi Cassette Deck 1
Pioneer CLD-99 LD, Panasonic DMP-UB900 UHD [v1.80]

Last edited by Stanton; 09-12-2015 at 06:57 AM.
Stanton is online now  
post #6 of 136 Old 09-25-2015, 09:07 PM
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 18,164
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 660 Post(s)
Liked: 882
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stanton View Post
Monoprice must have come across someone liquidating stock; this is by far the best (new) price I've seen for an MX-450.

(Dead Link Deleted)

I bought mine NIB off of eBay.
That wasn't the MX-450, it was the R50 which is a functionally different consumer model in a silvery MX-450 housing (and was discontinued a long time ago).

One big difference between these two models is that you cannot edit a macro on the R50, if you screw it up or want to change it, you have to completely delete the macro and create a new one from scratch. It's easy to create a macro so it's not a big deal to some people.

Randy
Sony XBR-55X900E, Panasonic TC-P55ST60, TiVo Roamio Pro, TWC Arris DCX3600-M 6-Tuner DVR, Onkyo TX-SR333 AVR, URC MX-890, MX-500 Remotes.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - https://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...

Last edited by RandyWalters; 12-19-2017 at 07:10 AM.
RandyWalters is offline  
post #7 of 136 Old 09-26-2015, 06:52 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Stanton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Plano, TX USA
Posts: 3,823
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1751 Post(s)
Liked: 889
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyWalters View Post
That's not an MX-450, it's the R50 (a slightly different consumer version in a silver MX-450 housing).

One big difference is that you cannot edit a macro on the R50, if you screw it up or want to change it, you have to completely delete the macro and create a new one from scratch. It's easy to create a macro so it's not a big deal to some people.
You're right: got caught up in the excitement (that's not much more than I paid for mine)!
I deleted my post but the link is still in your quote.

Yamaha RX-A2050 AVR [v1.81], LG 65EF9500 4K OLED [v4.25.70]
5.0.2 set-up: (4) Polk Monitor 10B's, (2) Polk Monitor 4's, Polk CS300 center
B&O TX2 Turntable, Nakamichi Cassette Deck 1
Pioneer CLD-99 LD, Panasonic DMP-UB900 UHD [v1.80]
Stanton is online now  
post #8 of 136 Old 09-28-2015, 04:14 PM
Member
 
Stridulent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I am in need of a remote for my setup in my new home. I am curious if the MX-450 is right for me...

About the setup:
- All devices in closet (1 Blu-ray player, 1 Roku 3, 1 HDMI matrix switch, 1 HTPC, 2 a/v receivers, 1 iNuke)
- Devices go to multiple displays (Is it possible to program smart phone devices to communicate with a URC blaster station so that I can have multiple "remotes"?)
- Displays will need to be turned on via IR
- Furthest distance will be about 40 ft

About me:
- I enjoy programming
- I do not like delay
Stridulent is offline  
post #9 of 136 Old 09-29-2015, 05:56 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Stanton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Plano, TX USA
Posts: 3,823
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1751 Post(s)
Liked: 889
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stridulent View Post
I am in need of a remote for my setup in my new home. I am curious if the MX-450 is right for me...
A couple of comments about the MX-450 that would be relevant to your situation:
1) Would easily handle the number of devices you mentioned (even if you have to "learn" them)
2) Easy to program (including macros)
3) The IR blaster on this thing is super-strong...even more so than the R40 I replaced

Yamaha RX-A2050 AVR [v1.81], LG 65EF9500 4K OLED [v4.25.70]
5.0.2 set-up: (4) Polk Monitor 10B's, (2) Polk Monitor 4's, Polk CS300 center
B&O TX2 Turntable, Nakamichi Cassette Deck 1
Pioneer CLD-99 LD, Panasonic DMP-UB900 UHD [v1.80]
Stanton is online now  
post #10 of 136 Old 10-18-2015, 09:41 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Stanton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Plano, TX USA
Posts: 3,823
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1751 Post(s)
Liked: 889
I was able to add my (new) TV to my (old) MX-450 remote with a little bit of research and a little bit of luck:
1) I found an older LG TV code that had ~90% of the IR codes for my TV, including all the numbers/navigation/inputs.
2) The one new key I needed was to bring up the LG WebOS apps; problem was, you can't "learn" the key from the supplied BlueTooth smart remote!

So, I went back to where I bought my TV and I found a lower cost LG TV with the same "HOME" key on a (cheaper) IR remote--and "learned" it! Even better, I was able to attach a wireless mouse to the TV (via one of the USB ports) to navigate apps menus once launched from my URC remote, so now I no longer need the original smart remote at all!

Yamaha RX-A2050 AVR [v1.81], LG 65EF9500 4K OLED [v4.25.70]
5.0.2 set-up: (4) Polk Monitor 10B's, (2) Polk Monitor 4's, Polk CS300 center
B&O TX2 Turntable, Nakamichi Cassette Deck 1
Pioneer CLD-99 LD, Panasonic DMP-UB900 UHD [v1.80]
Stanton is online now  
post #11 of 136 Old 10-27-2015, 03:20 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 16,332
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 823 Post(s)
Liked: 324
I usually prefer to go the 'learning' route to reduce the number of unneeded commands entered. OI have always found many of the annoying buttons that take up space on thre original remote aren't needed (some remotes far worse than others). It takes longer, but the process isn't that hard once you get use to it.
I will admit not having the ability to program using a PC is a disadvantage especially if you rely on macros and update (change) the configuration often (due to improving the remote control functions).

.
.
Recording free OTA TV for 'time shifting' has been here since 1975. Will there be DVR's to do the same when ATSC3 obsoletes existing DVR's??
videobruce is offline  
post #12 of 136 Old 10-27-2015, 08:43 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 14,487
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2951 Post(s)
Liked: 1320
You guys don't have to go to all the trouble of tracking down old remotes to learn from. A cheap or even free JP1 remote can send any and all commands any device for learning purposes. Such a remote is an indispensable companion to any remote that can't import pronto hex (like low end URC and all Harmony remotes).
mdavej is online now  
post #13 of 136 Old 10-27-2015, 08:57 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Stanton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Plano, TX USA
Posts: 3,823
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1751 Post(s)
Liked: 889
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
You guys don't have to go to all the trouble of tracking down old remotes to learn from. A cheap or even free JP1 remote can send any and all commands any device for learning purposes. Such a remote is an indispensable companion to any remote that can't import pronto hex (like low end URC and all Harmony remotes).
Seems like a lot of work...and yet another piece of hardware. Much easier to just learn the code from the (existing) original remote.

Yamaha RX-A2050 AVR [v1.81], LG 65EF9500 4K OLED [v4.25.70]
5.0.2 set-up: (4) Polk Monitor 10B's, (2) Polk Monitor 4's, Polk CS300 center
B&O TX2 Turntable, Nakamichi Cassette Deck 1
Pioneer CLD-99 LD, Panasonic DMP-UB900 UHD [v1.80]
Stanton is online now  
post #14 of 136 Old 10-27-2015, 09:06 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 14,487
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2951 Post(s)
Liked: 1320
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stanton View Post
Seems like a lot of work...and yet another piece of hardware. Much easier to just learn the code from the (existing) original remote.
You had to go to a store and find an original remote. With JP1, you just pick up an old cable TV remote you probably have lying around and press a few numbers. That's much easier than getting in your car and driving to a store with your remote in tow and luckily finding a compatible older model with the command you made a lucky guess would work. What if you don't even have the original remote anymore and can't find one on display at a store? You're out of luck.

You can also use a JP1 remote to teach all the discrete commands that are impossible to learn from the original since they don't exist on the original, just by pressing a few buttons. No software or cables of any kind required.

For instance, try learning discrete on, discrete off or HDMI 3 from your original remote. Impossible, right? Now try learning it from an old remote from at a Best Buy display. Also impossible.

So it's hardly any work at all and far easier than the alternative.
mdavej is online now  
post #15 of 136 Old 11-23-2015, 05:14 PM
Senior Member
 
AbbyDaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 321
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 206 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Seems like it would be a fairly decent upgrade from my Harmony 650.

Yamaha RX-3050A Receiver (Powering C, R L/R, S L/R, FH L/R, and RH L/R) + (2) Emotiva XPA-100 (Powering F L/R)
(2) BIC Acoustech PL-980II,(4) BIC Acoustech PL-89II,BIC Acoustech PL-28II (C),(4) BIC Acoustech HT-8C (Ceiling/Atmos),(2) PL-200 subs
Samsung UN65F8000 1080P
Sony PS4 as Blu-Ray Player + Nvidia Shield for Kodi/Various Streaming
AbbyDaddy is offline  
post #16 of 136 Old 12-14-2015, 01:43 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Stanton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Plano, TX USA
Posts: 3,823
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1751 Post(s)
Liked: 889
Quote:
Originally Posted by AbbyDaddy View Post
Seems like it would be a fairly decent upgrade from my Harmony 650.
Definitely!

Yamaha RX-A2050 AVR [v1.81], LG 65EF9500 4K OLED [v4.25.70]
5.0.2 set-up: (4) Polk Monitor 10B's, (2) Polk Monitor 4's, Polk CS300 center
B&O TX2 Turntable, Nakamichi Cassette Deck 1
Pioneer CLD-99 LD, Panasonic DMP-UB900 UHD [v1.80]
Stanton is online now  
post #17 of 136 Old 12-18-2015, 08:21 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
IR strength

Is the IR signal on the MX-450 stronger than the R50? I have had an R50 for years but when we moved we put our equipment in a cabinet with a IR Blaster. Everything works great except my Dish Networks joey controls. It seems like I have to point directly at the IR receiver at closer range to get it to work. Replacing batteries made it better but it is still noticably annoying. Wondering if the MX-450 would work any better.
virtuallybrian is offline  
post #18 of 136 Old 12-18-2015, 08:33 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Stanton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Plano, TX USA
Posts: 3,823
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1751 Post(s)
Liked: 889
Quote:
Originally Posted by virtuallybrian View Post
Is the IR signal on the MX-450 stronger than the R50? I have had an R50 for years but when we moved we put our equipment in a cabinet with a IR Blaster. Everything works great except my Dish Networks joey controls. It seems like I have to point directly at the IR receiver at closer range to get it to work. Replacing batteries made it better but it is still noticably annoying. Wondering if the MX-450 would work any better.
Definitely. In fact, I would say the IR blaster on the MX-450 is one of the strongest I've ever seen.

Yamaha RX-A2050 AVR [v1.81], LG 65EF9500 4K OLED [v4.25.70]
5.0.2 set-up: (4) Polk Monitor 10B's, (2) Polk Monitor 4's, Polk CS300 center
B&O TX2 Turntable, Nakamichi Cassette Deck 1
Pioneer CLD-99 LD, Panasonic DMP-UB900 UHD [v1.80]
Stanton is online now  
post #19 of 136 Old 04-09-2016, 07:55 AM
Member
 
valkenaar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I'm loving my MX-450 except for one thing: must push a button twice if the remote is sleeping. Is there any way around this? I checked all the settings, searched forums - can't find a way around this.

How do you handle it??


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Panasonic P60ST60
Sony BDP-S3100
Denon X2000
valkenaar is offline  
post #20 of 136 Old 04-09-2016, 08:51 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 16,332
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 823 Post(s)
Liked: 324
My MX-900's do the same. What I really don't like is the backlight doesn't go on automatically.

.
.
Recording free OTA TV for 'time shifting' has been here since 1975. Will there be DVR's to do the same when ATSC3 obsoletes existing DVR's??
videobruce is offline  
post #21 of 136 Old 04-09-2016, 09:21 AM
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 18,164
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 660 Post(s)
Liked: 882
Quote:
Originally Posted by valkenaar View Post
I'm loving my MX-450 except for one thing: must push a button twice if the remote is sleeping. Is there any way around this? I checked all the settings, searched forums - can't find a way around this.
That's only for the soft buttons adjacent to the LCD screen, and this is by design. More accurately, you ony have to press twice to light up the LCD Screen and make LCD Screen commands available. Pretty much all URC models with a lighted color LCD Screen do this, and there's no way around it (like my R40, MX-450, MX-780, MX-890).

Quote:
How do you handle it??
I just don't place any of my primary or often-used commands on my LCD Screen; i use the hard buttons instead. I only use the LCD Screen for things like settings and activities and other secondary commands.

You can press any button to light up the screen, so when i need to access an LCD screen command i tend to hit the Vol Down button first to wake the screen up, then i can see my Screen icons.


_________________

Randy
Sony XBR-55X900E, Panasonic TC-P55ST60, TiVo Roamio Pro, TWC Arris DCX3600-M 6-Tuner DVR, Onkyo TX-SR333 AVR, URC MX-890, MX-500 Remotes.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - https://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...
RandyWalters is offline  
post #22 of 136 Old 04-09-2016, 04:29 PM
Member
 
valkenaar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyWalters View Post
That's only for the soft buttons adjacent to the LCD screen, and this is by design. _________________


Actually, it seems to be the same for the hard buttons. For example, to do "menu", I have to press it once to wake up the remote, then a second time to do the function. Similarly with fast forward, skip, pause, etc.

Panasonic P60ST60
Sony BDP-S3100
Denon X2000
valkenaar is offline  
post #23 of 136 Old 04-09-2016, 09:45 PM
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 18,164
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 660 Post(s)
Liked: 882
Quote:
Originally Posted by valkenaar View Post
Actually, it seems to be the same for the hard buttons. For example, to do "menu", I have to press it once to wake up the remote, then a second time to do the function. Similarly with fast forward, skip, pause, etc.
Then i think something is wrong with the remote, or maybe the setup. All the hard buttons on my MX-450 and another that i set up for a friend send the commands on the first press, including the buttons you listed. I can't imagine any remote requiring two button presses for the hard buttons.

Does it do this on all your devices?

_______________________
valkenaar likes this.

Randy
Sony XBR-55X900E, Panasonic TC-P55ST60, TiVo Roamio Pro, TWC Arris DCX3600-M 6-Tuner DVR, Onkyo TX-SR333 AVR, URC MX-890, MX-500 Remotes.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - https://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...
RandyWalters is offline  
post #24 of 136 Old 04-10-2016, 10:39 PM
Member
 
valkenaar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyWalters View Post
Then i think something is wrong with the remote, or maybe the setup. All the hard buttons on my MX-450 and another that i set up for a friend send the commands on the first press, including the buttons you listed. I can't imagine any remote requiring two button presses for the hard buttons.

Does it do this on all your devices?

_______________________


Just got home for the day and tested this. I cannot find the case where I was running into the problem. Everything seems to just work as expected. Now I have to pay closer attention to when I'm frustrated with this.

Thanks all for responding. Hopefully I'll be able to clarify this in the near future.

Panasonic P60ST60
Sony BDP-S3100
Denon X2000
valkenaar is offline  
post #25 of 136 Old 04-26-2016, 11:43 AM
Member
 
valkenaar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyWalters View Post
Then i think something is wrong with the remote, or maybe the setup. All the hard buttons on my MX-450 and another that i set up for a friend send the commands on the first press, including the buttons you listed. I can't imagine any remote requiring two button presses for the hard buttons.

Does it do this on all your devices?

_______________________


It doesn't do this on TiVo or Roku but last night it was happening on my AVR using the hard buttons: down, OK, volume.

Once the remote was "awake" (lights on) they worked right away.

Panasonic P60ST60
Sony BDP-S3100
Denon X2000
valkenaar is offline  
post #26 of 136 Old 04-27-2016, 06:33 AM
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 18,164
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 660 Post(s)
Liked: 882
Quote:
Originally Posted by valkenaar View Post
It doesn't do this on TiVo or Roku but last night it was happening on my AVR using the hard buttons: down, OK, volume.

Once the remote was "awake" (lights on) they worked right away.
Well then i do think something is wrong with the remote or the AVR device's program as it should never do this.

If it's only doing it with your AVR and not with any of your other devices, maybe try creating another AVR device from scratch, or just delete your existing one and replace it with a new one. Save your current file first so you can restore it if need be when you're done experimenting/testing.


___________
valkenaar likes this.

Randy
Sony XBR-55X900E, Panasonic TC-P55ST60, TiVo Roamio Pro, TWC Arris DCX3600-M 6-Tuner DVR, Onkyo TX-SR333 AVR, URC MX-890, MX-500 Remotes.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - https://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...
RandyWalters is offline  
post #27 of 136 Old 04-27-2016, 07:41 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Stanton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Plano, TX USA
Posts: 3,823
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1751 Post(s)
Liked: 889
The upload/download feature of this remote is invaluable.
Since they took away the ability to copy/move buttons, I (hex) edited the back-up file to swap 2 buttons on my main menu...and it worked! The only "clean-up" I had was to the Favorites that were associated with those buttons (like TV channels). I had to go back and re-create those Favorites, but that's a lot better than re-creating 2 entire devices with all the customization.
RandyWalters and valkenaar like this.

Yamaha RX-A2050 AVR [v1.81], LG 65EF9500 4K OLED [v4.25.70]
5.0.2 set-up: (4) Polk Monitor 10B's, (2) Polk Monitor 4's, Polk CS300 center
B&O TX2 Turntable, Nakamichi Cassette Deck 1
Pioneer CLD-99 LD, Panasonic DMP-UB900 UHD [v1.80]
Stanton is online now  
post #28 of 136 Old 05-08-2016, 01:48 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyWalters View Post
Well then i do think something is wrong with the remote or the AVR device's program as it should never do this.

___________
I can state that some URC remotes have this problem with some devices. For example if I am sending a command to any of my Dish Network receivers, the hard buttons on both my MX-450 and my R-50 must be pressed twice if the LCD display is dark before the device will respond. The remotes do not have this problem with any of my other devices (Pioneer TV, Pioneer AV Amp, Samsung Blu-ray player or Panasonic DVD recorder). I have verified that the remote is sending an IR command on the first hard button press but the Dish Network Hopper does not respond to it unless the LCD display is on so there must be some slight difference in the IR single the remote emits when the LCD display is off vs. when it is on. I have had this problem with several different Dish Network DVRs and in my opinion makes the URC remotes a bad choice, at least for use with Dish Network equipment. This problem does not exist with the MX-700 and I would love to know if any of the new URC remotes will properly control Dish Network receivers.
WayneWestmoreland is offline  
post #29 of 136 Old 05-08-2016, 06:45 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 16,332
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 823 Post(s)
Liked: 324
The MX900 does the same thing. If the display is dark (sleep mode if you will), you have to press the button to send the command. I have two, both are the same.

.
.
Recording free OTA TV for 'time shifting' has been here since 1975. Will there be DVR's to do the same when ATSC3 obsoletes existing DVR's??
videobruce is offline  
post #30 of 136 Old 09-16-2016, 05:15 PM
Newbie
 
deepak5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am wondering what to pick, can someone help me?

MX-450 at $149
R50 at $46

Since the price difference is too much wondering if R50 would do the trick. Would R50 be compatible with Amazon Fire TV stick?
deepak5 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Remote Control Area

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off