URC MX-990 Thread - Page 2 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 29Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 314 Old 03-21-2016, 06:46 AM
Administrator
Administrator
 
Mike Lang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 17,474
Mentioned: 394 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1606 Post(s)
Liked: 1260
I don't see anything marked as hidden. The only way I can think to do it is manually copy/paste devices & pages into new locations which seems clunky and will most likely break functionality.

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself.
Always post about products, never post about other members.
Join the AVS Forum Club and help support the site.
AVS Forum is not sponsored by or in any way affiliated with AV Science Inc.
Mike Lang is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 314 Old 03-21-2016, 06:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
dminches's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ
Posts: 792
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 96
I will check tonight when I get home. I had the same issue but did something to fix it. The fix was simple once I figured it out.

David M.
dminches is offline  
post #33 of 314 Old 03-21-2016, 07:04 AM
Administrator
Administrator
 
Mike Lang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 17,474
Mentioned: 394 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1606 Post(s)
Liked: 1260
I manually moved page 1 of "main 2 pages" (formerly the watch LCD screen) to page 2 of "main 1 pages" and then moved all of the devices from main 2 up into main 1.

It now seems to work in theory, but I don't have a remote to test with.

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself.
Always post about products, never post about other members.
Join the AVS Forum Club and help support the site.
AVS Forum is not sponsored by or in any way affiliated with AV Science Inc.
Mike Lang is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 314 Old 03-21-2016, 10:31 AM
Senior Member
 
Mikejl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lake Forest, CA
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 172 Post(s)
Liked: 145
Would someone who has the remote in their possession please post Front, Side, and Back pictures to this thread. I'm not finding any side and back pictures on web.

Thanks,

Samsung: QN65Q90RAFXZA 4K HDR TV * Panasonic: DP-UB820 4K HDR Blu Ray * Onkyo: TX-RZ920 A/V Receiver * M&K: S-150 THX Speakers & DIY: 15" Subwoofer w/ E.D. E15a.22 Driver & Rythmik Audio 380w AMP * URC: MX-990 Universal Remote & MRF 260 Base Station * Samsung: Galaxy S10 Plus

Last edited by Mikejl; 03-21-2016 at 10:35 AM.
Mikejl is offline  
post #35 of 314 Old 03-21-2016, 12:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dan webster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: western mass.
Posts: 1,250
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 285 Post(s)
Liked: 293
It has been a long time since i used a urc remote. Forgive my question but can this remote or any of the other in this series learn functions from other remotes.

Dolby Atmos 7.2.4 Yamaha CX-A5200 Gemstone 200x7 Emotiva upa-500 amps
Oppo 103 panasonic ub820 Ultra HD Blu-ray Jvc RS3000 projector
Eulenvusion 130 2.35 screen Golden Ear Triton 5 L&R
super center XXL triton 7's sides Emotiva T1 rears
4 RSL C34 in ceiling SVS PB2-plus sub SVS PC13 ultra sub
dan webster is offline  
post #36 of 314 Old 03-21-2016, 12:48 PM
Administrator
Administrator
 
Mike Lang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 17,474
Mentioned: 394 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1606 Post(s)
Liked: 1260
Quote:
Originally Posted by dan webster View Post
It has been a long time since i used a urc remote. Forgive my question but can this remote or any of the other in this series learn functions from other remotes.
Yes, you can learn, use the codes in the program's database, or find rare hex codes floating around on the web.

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself.
Always post about products, never post about other members.
Join the AVS Forum Club and help support the site.
AVS Forum is not sponsored by or in any way affiliated with AV Science Inc.
Mike Lang is offline  
post #37 of 314 Old 03-27-2016, 10:21 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
stanger89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 23,130
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4156 Post(s)
Liked: 2388
Hey guys, can I ask a couple stupid questions?

I'm gathering more IP/RS232 controllable devices and at some point here I'd like to upgrade my control system to take advantage of 2-way control. Right now I've got an MX880/MRF350 and I am very happy with them/URC. I would like a bit more power in the macros though, conditional buttons would be great too. I was playing with the MX990 in CCP and it looks promising. So here's the question(s):

If I want to retain the ability to program/tweak my own system (ie this rules out Total Control products), what's the best way to integrate 2-way into my system?
It looks to me like the MSC400 is the only RS232 option for CCP? And the MX5000 (which looks less updated in CCP) the only IP "stick" remote?
stanger89 is offline  
post #38 of 314 Old 04-01-2016, 10:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
dminches's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ
Posts: 792
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Houston, we have a problem.

The remote has been working great for the 2 weeks I have had it. I have been pleased with the ease in which it connects to my PC. Until today.

Now none of my machines will recognize it. Windows 10 returns and error "USB device has malfunctioned." This is happening on 3 different machines.

Anyone else have this issue?

I don't know if it was the last CCP update or something else that killed it, but right now I am unable to make any updates.

David M.
dminches is offline  
post #39 of 314 Old 04-03-2016, 05:32 PM
Member
 
Jedi_Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: King of Prussia, PA
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikejl View Post
Would someone who has the remote in their possession please post Front, Side, and Back pictures to this thread. I'm not finding any side and back pictures on web.
Mikejl,
Here are a few photos ... hope they help!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	mx990side.jpg
Views:	508
Size:	170.6 KB
ID:	1356842   Click image for larger version

Name:	mx990rear.jpg
Views:	489
Size:	177.0 KB
ID:	1356850   Click image for larger version

Name:	mx990oneQuarterView.jpg
Views:	498
Size:	111.4 KB
ID:	1356858   Click image for larger version

Name:	mx990lit.jpg
Views:	554
Size:	39.6 KB
ID:	1356866  
Mikejl and etc6849 like this.
Jedi_Mike is offline  
post #40 of 314 Old 04-03-2016, 06:03 PM
Senior Member
 
Mikejl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lake Forest, CA
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 172 Post(s)
Liked: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jedi_Mike View Post
Mikejl,
Here are a few photos ... hope they help!
Thanks Jedi_Mike. Nice pictures. I especially like the one with the remote lit up. It looks like the MX-990 is very similar to the MX-890 in thickness and overall shape. Although I think I like the looks of the MX-990 better.

Samsung: QN65Q90RAFXZA 4K HDR TV * Panasonic: DP-UB820 4K HDR Blu Ray * Onkyo: TX-RZ920 A/V Receiver * M&K: S-150 THX Speakers & DIY: 15" Subwoofer w/ E.D. E15a.22 Driver & Rythmik Audio 380w AMP * URC: MX-990 Universal Remote & MRF 260 Base Station * Samsung: Galaxy S10 Plus
Mikejl is offline  
post #41 of 314 Old 04-03-2016, 07:20 PM
Member
 
Jedi_Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: King of Prussia, PA
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by dminches View Post
Houston, we have a problem.

The remote has been working great for the 2 weeks I have had it. I have been pleased with the ease in which it connects to my PC. Until today.

Now none of my machines will recognize it. Windows 10 returns and error "USB device has malfunctioned." This is happening on 3 different machines.

Anyone else have this issue?

I don't know if it was the last CCP update or something else that killed it, but right now I am unable to make any updates.
David,
I have not seen this problem. I have the most recent updates for Windows 10 and CCP, and was able to download to the remote today. Did you try a factory reset?
Jedi_Mike is offline  
post #42 of 314 Old 04-03-2016, 07:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
dminches's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ
Posts: 792
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jedi_Mike View Post
David,
I have not seen this problem. I have the most recent updates for Windows 10 and CCP, and was able to download to the remote today. Did you try a factory reset?
That's exactly what I did. And now it is fine. Something must have gotten corrupted. I was holding my breath when I hooked the remote up to my computer after the reset but it was immediately recognized.

David M.
dminches is offline  
post #43 of 314 Old 04-05-2016, 12:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
etc6849's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Irmo, SC
Posts: 895
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Hi, I'm sending you a PM. I live in Ballentine/Irmo, SC and I'm curious if you ended up getting one of these remotes. I'm also a big time home theater geek and would love to talk with you to since you are in my area.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cain View Post
This remote looks interesting, have any of you seen it yet, or had an opportunity to play with it??

URC Introduces New MX-990 IR/RF Remote For Complete Control™ (MX-Series)
New MX-990 Remote Is Most Advanced One-Way URC® Remote Control Ever


http://www.universalremote.com/press...mplete-Control

URC Announces New MX-990 For Complete Control
http://www.remotecentral.com/news/64...e_control.html

Premise, a FREE home automation program. Open-source Z-Wave Premise Module found here.
etc6849 is offline  
post #44 of 314 Old 04-08-2016, 11:01 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikejl View Post
You can't go wrong with Surf Remote Control. Check out their website.
Just ordered the MX-990 from Surf Remote Control, they spent a long time explaining all of the different models since Im a newb. Cannot wait to get it.
Mikejl likes this.
LoS24 is offline  
post #45 of 314 Old 04-08-2016, 11:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
dminches's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ
Posts: 792
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoS24 View Post
Just ordered the MX-990 from Surf Remote Control, they spent a long time explaining all of the different models since Im a newb. Cannot wait to get it.
Congrats. It is a great remote. Be prepared to spend a lot of time getting to know the software. It takes some time but provides tons of flexibility.

David M.
dminches is offline  
post #46 of 314 Old 04-08-2016, 02:47 PM
Senior Member
 
macattackman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 330
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by dminches View Post
Congrats. It is a great remote. Be prepared to spend a lot of time getting to know the software. It takes some time but provides tons of flexibility.
I have an MX-900, is the software vastly different from the mx-900 software I'm using now? I'm strongly considering picking up this MX-990 from the same site
macattackman is offline  
post #47 of 314 Old 04-12-2016, 06:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
dminches's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ
Posts: 792
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by macattackman View Post
I have an MX-900, is the software vastly different from the mx-900 software I'm using now? I'm strongly considering picking up this MX-990 from the same site
Does the MX-900 use CCP? If so, it is the same software.

David M.
dminches is offline  
post #48 of 314 Old 04-12-2016, 07:37 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 18,230
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 696 Post(s)
Liked: 916
Quote:
Originally Posted by macattackman View Post
I have an MX-900, is the software vastly different from the mx-900 software I'm using now? I'm strongly considering picking up this MX-990 from the same site
Is your MX-900 software the stand-alone MX-900 Editor software or do you have the newer CCP software? The MX-900 uses both.

Regardless, the MX-990 uses CCP only, there is no stand-alone editor like on some older models.

__________________________

Randy
Sony XBR-55X900E, Panasonic TC-P55ST60, TiVo Roamio Pro, TWC Arris DCX3600-M 6-Tuner DVR, Darbee DVP-5000S, Onkyo TX-SR333 AVR, URC MX-890 Remote.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - https://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...
RandyWalters is offline  
post #49 of 314 Old 04-12-2016, 10:58 AM
Senior Member
 
macattackman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 330
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyWalters View Post
Is your MX-900 software the stand-alone MX-900 Editor software or do you have the newer CCP software? The MX-900 uses both.

Regardless, the MX-990 uses CCP only, there is no stand-alone editor like on some older models.

__________________________
I'm using the stand-alone software. I now have the CCP software and my remote comes later this week. Time to get busy
macattackman is offline  
post #50 of 314 Old 04-12-2016, 05:33 PM
Senior Member
 
zimdba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Castle Rock, CO
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by macattackman View Post
I'm using the stand-alone software. I now have the CCP software and my remote comes later this week. Time to get busy
For me, it was a learning experience - considering I'm not a CI and only touch this software every 2-3 years or so. That said, it is easier than programming my MX-900's.

--
zimdba
zimdba is offline  
post #51 of 314 Old 04-14-2016, 08:59 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 7
I received the 990 today and got to work right a way. I program some basic stuff like turning on all component when I want to watch TV and program a few favorite channels.

The road block Im having is with programming the remote to go to Pandora either on my Integra 20.7 receiver or my Panasonic Plasma, Im basically able to get to Pandora however Im stuck on how to program the different stations.

Also can this remote talk to a PS4 or the Amazon Fire? I did not either under the database to select.

Thanks

Carlos
LoS24 is offline  
post #52 of 314 Old 04-15-2016, 02:12 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 14,803
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3148 Post(s)
Liked: 1445
Get a FLIRC dongle for your Fire TV (wont work with stick). PS4 is probably hopeless.

Last edited by mdavej; 04-15-2016 at 02:15 PM.
mdavej is online now  
post #53 of 314 Old 05-02-2016, 06:41 AM
Member
 
bgrab88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dminches View Post
Congrats. It is a great remote. Be prepared to spend a lot of time getting to know the software. It takes some time but provides tons of flexibility.
When you order through them do they provide the software?
bgrab88 is offline  
post #54 of 314 Old 05-02-2016, 06:41 AM
Member
 
bgrab88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
subscribed
bgrab88 is offline  
post #55 of 314 Old 05-07-2016, 03:50 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
URC CCP Software

MX-990 being installed in about 2 weeks.
It's replacing my MX-900 installed in 2006.
Same authorized retailer who installed 900 is installing 990.
URC gave me the 900 programming software upon my request in 2006.
I understand they don't do that anymore, yet understand that the retailer can provide it to the homeowner if willing.
My retailer is willing, but says they can't since now it's an all cloud based system requiring a URC retailer account and a login to URC each time an install/access is conducted for a URC remote. In other words, the program is not on their computers and not downloadable (so I'm told).
Yet it is clear that some of the posters to this thread have the CCP software as they refer to programming their 990's and I'd be surprised to learn that all of those posters are licensed URC retailers/installers. ?!
Is it possible to download the CCP software for Windows, and if so from where?
Is what my retailer is telling in this regard accurate?
Thanks.
cavu979 is offline  
post #56 of 314 Old 05-07-2016, 08:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 9,429
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1760 Post(s)
Liked: 794
Your installer is stretching the truth. URC doesn't provide the software to the end users, but they allow the dealers to at their discretion.

CCP didn't work from the cloud. The Total Home remotes are different, but the MX-990 is part of CCP. He would rather you pay him to program it than to provide it to you.

bryansj is offline  
post #57 of 314 Old 05-07-2016, 09:53 PM
Senior Member
 
Mikejl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lake Forest, CA
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 172 Post(s)
Liked: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryansj View Post
Your installer is stretching the truth. URC doesn't provide the software to the end users, but they allow the dealers to at their discretion.

CCP didn't work from the cloud. The Total Home remotes are different, but the MX-990 is part of CCP. He would rather you pay him to program it than to provide it to you.
Bryansj is right, the dealer can give you the CCP software at his discretion. I would provide him with a USB Thumb Drive and let him know you will go elsewhere for the remote if he won't provide the CCP software for it.

You will have a difficult time getting the software if you don't get it from the installer doing the programming for you. If you feel capable of programming the remote yourself, there are authorized dealers that will provide the software along with the remote when you purchase from them.

Mike

Samsung: QN65Q90RAFXZA 4K HDR TV * Panasonic: DP-UB820 4K HDR Blu Ray * Onkyo: TX-RZ920 A/V Receiver * M&K: S-150 THX Speakers & DIY: 15" Subwoofer w/ E.D. E15a.22 Driver & Rythmik Audio 380w AMP * URC: MX-990 Universal Remote & MRF 260 Base Station * Samsung: Galaxy S10 Plus
Mikejl is offline  
post #58 of 314 Old 05-10-2016, 03:07 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Urc ccp

Thank you for your replies. The retailer will now be giving me the software at the time of their install, and I believe this thread/your replies have facilitated such happening.
cavu979 is offline  
post #59 of 314 Old 08-28-2016, 07:29 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Stevetd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Western, NC
Posts: 1,105
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 338 Post(s)
Liked: 115
So are users happy with the MX-990? I just had a MX-980 crap out on me (of course it's out of warranty) and am contemplating what to do.

I was fooling around in CCP and with the help of this thread (thanks Jedi_Mike!) it looks like an easy transition from the 980 to the 990. Is it really that easy? Or when I actually download to remote there will be conflicts/missing commands etc.?
Stevetd is offline  
post #60 of 314 Old 08-28-2016, 01:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
dminches's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ
Posts: 792
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 96
I really like the 990, better than the 980, and I didn't find it difficult to move the programming from one to the other.

David M.
dminches is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Remote Control Area

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off