Program old JP1 remotes for ATSC subchannels? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 02-08-2016, 11:41 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bizzybody's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Question Program old JP1 remotes for ATSC subchannels?

I have a Cable One S014801 and a Cable One 1055WC0-XXX-0001-001 / C055105. Can these be programmed with a JP1 cable to repurpose one of the buttons as the . or - for direct tuning of ATSC subchannels?

I don't have Cable One, picked these up at a thrift shop because they have the programming connector.

I also have a Radio Shack remote I made a parallel port programming cable for, the simple one that only uses a couple of resistors. Far as I can find, these other remotes won't work with that cable.
bizzybody is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 02-09-2016, 05:21 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 14,675
Mentioned: 60 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3074 Post(s)
Liked: 1394
Yes, but you usually don't need a cable for just one function. You can program those manually, assuming you can find a setup code that already gives you partial control.

You are correct that your old parallel cable won't work.

What make/model of device do you need the dash for? Have you found a setup code that works for the other functions at least, and if so, what is it?
mdavej is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 02-10-2016, 07:00 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 18,191
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 676 Post(s)
Liked: 898
Quote:
Originally Posted by bizzybody View Post
I have a Cable One S014801 and a Cable One 1055WC0-XXX-0001-001 / C055105. Can these be programmed with a JP1 cable to repurpose one of the buttons as the . or - for direct tuning of ATSC subchannels?
You may not need the . or - button depending how your particular TV's ATSC tuner works.

On my Sony W800B for instance, i have the analog broadcast channels (2, 5, 11, etc) deactivated in the channel list so to get to channel 2.1 i press the 2 button then press Ch Up once and it then tunes to 2.1 (using various older remotes that don't have a . or - button). And once i'm on a digital channel, i press Ch UP or Ch DOWN to go to the other digital channels (it skips the analog channels since they're deactivated in the menu).

Might be a workaround until you get the remote set up . . . .


.

Randy
Sony XBR-55X900E, Panasonic TC-P55ST60, TiVo Roamio Pro, TWC Arris DCX3600-M 6-Tuner DVR, Darbee DVP-5000S, Onkyo TX-SR333 AVR, URC MX-890 Remote.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - https://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...
RandyWalters is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Remote Control Area

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off