Calling all DemoPad Users - Page 3 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 21Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 749 Old 03-20-2018, 01:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Peter M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,094
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 396 Post(s)
Liked: 324
Sorry - I should have made it clearer that I'm using RS-232 with the Oppo, not IP.

Cheers,
Peter M is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 749 Old 03-20-2018, 07:59 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter M View Post
Sorry - I should have made it clearer that I'm using RS-232 with the Oppo, not IP.

Cheers,
So I know this is if for an older model but usually manufactures don't change there rs-232 protocol. Take a look at this link. Also what device are you using for the RS-232 control. IE. Global Cache. Are you using a Null-Modem or Pass Through-Modem cable?

https://www.oppodigital.com/Download...2_Protocol.pdf

Last edited by mpg7321; 03-20-2018 at 08:02 AM.
mpg7321 is offline  
post #63 of 749 Old 03-20-2018, 11:08 AM
Member
 
paulromi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Calgary
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter M View Post
Guys,

Here's my set label for the Oppo feedback - audio type -



Channels -



Here's my Oppo Power On command -



Attached is the Oppo serial protocol I've been using. It's for an 83 but works with my 93. I have no idea about it's compatibility with the later models.

Cheers,
Would the code for Atmos feedback be AT? or?
paulromi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #64 of 749 Old 03-20-2018, 02:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Peter M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,094
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 396 Post(s)
Liked: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpg7321 View Post
So I know this is if for an older model but usually manufactures don't change there rs-232 protocol. Take a look at this link. Also what device are you using for the RS-232 control. IE. Global Cache. Are you using a Null-Modem or Pass Through-Modem cable?

https://www.oppodigital.com/Download...2_Protocol.pdf
I'm using a GC-100. Can't recall which type of serial cable it is.

That protocol is older than the one I posted, as it doesn't have the verbose mode info at the end.

Cheers,
Peter M is offline  
post #65 of 749 Old 03-20-2018, 02:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Peter M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,094
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 396 Post(s)
Liked: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulromi View Post
Would the code for Atmos feedback be AT? or?
Don't know. The 93 doesn't do Atmos so I've not researched this.

AT seems likely, but also DA is a possibility.

Cheers,
Peter M is offline  
post #66 of 749 Old 03-20-2018, 02:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Peter M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,094
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 396 Post(s)
Liked: 324
Just found the attached very recent protocol document.

No mention of Atmos, so maybe the Atmos stream will be in True HD and reported as such.

Cheers,
Attached Files
File Type: pdf OPPO_UDP-20X_RS-232_and_IP_Control_Protocol.pdf (366.3 KB, 15 views)
Peter M is offline  
post #67 of 749 Old 03-20-2018, 08:48 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter M View Post
Just found the attached very recent protocol document.

No mention of Atmos, so maybe the Atmos stream will be in True HD and reported as such.

Cheers,
Maybe I misunderstand, do you have control working or not? Or are you just trying to get feedback working?
mpg7321 is offline  
post #68 of 749 Old 03-21-2018, 10:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Peter M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,094
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 396 Post(s)
Liked: 324
I have both control and feedback working for my Oppo 93 using RS-232.

Just trying to help out others who have more recent models.

Cheers,
Peter M is offline  
post #69 of 749 Old 03-22-2018, 12:22 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 18
If you have the Pro Version of the builder. In the 2-way feedback window of your device you can click on "Connect and view data" tab. Then send an IR command from the remote to the receiver and if every thing is set up right, you will see the feedback and usually the command its self. I had to do this for my new Receiver as well, for I could not find an updated list for some of the new features.
mpg7321 is offline  
post #70 of 749 Old 03-22-2018, 03:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Peter M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,094
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 396 Post(s)
Liked: 324
Another option if you have the free version of the builder is to use the Hercules freeware to test commands and see the feedback. It was recommended to me by Demopad support.

Cheers,
Peter M is offline  
post #71 of 749 Old 03-26-2018, 03:03 PM
Member
 
paulromi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Calgary
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter M View Post
Don't know. The 93 doesn't do Atmos so I've not researched this.

AT seems likely, but also DA is a possibility.

Cheers,
Tried a lot of them and nothing worked, I emailed Oppo support and here was their response.

The player will not show that it is outputting Atmos or DTS:X since the player will not decode these audio formats. So the player will only be able to identify Dolby Digital True HD and DTS-HD Master, even if the player is outputting in Atmos of DTS:X.

Best Regards,

Customer Service
OPPO Digital, Inc.

Last edited by paulromi; 03-26-2018 at 03:04 PM. Reason: spelling
paulromi is offline  
post #72 of 749 Old 03-28-2018, 10:07 AM
Member
 
paulromi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Calgary
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter M View Post
Sure. My Oppo is an old 93 and I only use feedback for audio type and channels so nothing terribly exciting, but here are the shots.

Set Verbose Mode -



Query audio type -



Feedbacks -



The actions on the feedbacks are just set label. Whilst it appears to be working OK, I haven't tried all the options.

Cheers,
I wanted to thank you for providing this it helped a lot. I'm still troubleshooting with Demopad support and am very close. Just curios - how are you sending the request command to the oppo to initiate the feedback?

thanks
paulromi is offline  
post #73 of 749 Old 03-28-2018, 09:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Peter M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,094
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 396 Post(s)
Liked: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulromi View Post
Just curios - how are you sending the request command to the oppo to initiate the feedback?

thanks
Pretty simple really. On entry into the Watch Blu-ray page I set Verbose Mode 2 and then Query the Audio Type - both using the commands you quoted above.

Once in Verbose Mode the Oppo sends feedback on every change of Audio Type, so as a disc loads and goes into the menus it's normally showing one type and then once the movie starts it changes and shows the updated Audio Type. I find there's no need to keep repeating the query command.

Cheers,
Peter M is offline  
post #74 of 749 Old 03-28-2018, 09:04 PM
Member
 
paulromi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Calgary
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Happiness=successful 2 way feedback setup on the OPPO 203. Thanks so much for the support!
Peter M likes this.
paulromi is offline  
post #75 of 749 Old 03-28-2018, 09:35 PM
Member
 
paulromi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Calgary
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Thought I would share what I have created so far with Demopad. The support has been great with them and on this site. I finally learned how to use photoshop for the top activity graphics and the others were purchased through blackman designs.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	B3B370CC-3807-4634-BC1C-77D887CB0DFE.png
Views:	155
Size:	2.01 MB
ID:	2382088   Click image for larger version

Name:	6BEB7069-0A98-406B-B112-7087BB8BDAC9.png
Views:	131
Size:	1.22 MB
ID:	2382090   Click image for larger version

Name:	21D59796-5542-48BC-AAF6-89A837FF2D33.png
Views:	129
Size:	3.23 MB
ID:	2382092  
Peter M likes this.
paulromi is offline  
post #76 of 749 Old 03-28-2018, 10:47 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulromi View Post
Thought I would share what I have created so far with Demopad. The support has been great with them and on this site. I finally learned how to use photoshop for the top activity graphics and the others were purchased through blackman designs.
Very nice. Like what I see....
mpg7321 is offline  
post #77 of 749 Old 03-29-2018, 10:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Peter M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,094
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 396 Post(s)
Liked: 324
Very nice ... very colorful. Mine is rather plain by comparison -









These are my background images over which I lay clear buttons and sub-pages, so on the app they look a bit different with sliders and feedbacks etc.

Cheers,
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	background 1.jpg
Views:	438
Size:	138.5 KB
ID:	2382628   Click image for larger version

Name:	background 2.jpg
Views:	440
Size:	89.9 KB
ID:	2382630   Click image for larger version

Name:	background 3.jpg
Views:	433
Size:	126.4 KB
ID:	2382632   Click image for larger version

Name:	background 4.jpg
Views:	422
Size:	67.0 KB
ID:	2382634  
Peter M is offline  
post #78 of 749 Old 03-29-2018, 10:45 PM
Member
 
paulromi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Calgary
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter M View Post
Very nice ... very colorful. Mine is rather plain by comparison -









These are my background images over which I lay clear buttons and sub-pages, so on the app they look a bit different with sliders and feedbacks etc.

Cheers,
Very impressive. I like how you have the border around the buttons, gives a very good look. Is that your home theater in the pic?

I did a main page graphic where I overlaid a screenshot of my favorite movie onto a movie theater pic.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	movie screen-1.png
Views:	55
Size:	776.0 KB
ID:	2382638  
paulromi is offline  
post #79 of 749 Old 03-29-2018, 10:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Peter M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,094
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 396 Post(s)
Liked: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulromi View Post
Very impressive. I like how you have the border around the buttons, gives a very good look. Is that your home theater in the pic?

I did a main page graphic where I overlaid a screenshot of my favorite movie onto a movie theater pic.
Nice !

Yes that is my theatre. Link to my build thread in my signature.

Cheers,
Peter M is offline  
post #80 of 749 Old 03-30-2018, 07:23 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 18
alright guys, no one lies a show off, Hehehe.

Nice job guys.

Question, has any one gotten feedback working for Hue bulbs. I can send a command to retrieve info for all bulbs. In the feedback viewer built into the pro vs of the builder, it takes like 8 seconds to show the data. I can not seem to parse it out. Not sure if its because there is so much data returned.
mpg7321 is offline  
post #81 of 749 Old 04-08-2018, 09:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Peter M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,094
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 396 Post(s)
Liked: 324
After a lot of Googling, a heap of reading and using the magic of Wireshark I've just cracked feedback from Sonos. It's still not finished as I ran out of time on the weekend, but I can send a Browse message from Demopad and see the response in Wireshark with each track in the queue listed. I still have to parse the feedback in Demopad, but I'm expecting that to be fairly easy. Hope I don't come to regret saying that !

Cheers,
Peter M is offline  
post #82 of 749 Old 04-08-2018, 09:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Peter M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,094
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 396 Post(s)
Liked: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpg7321 View Post
Question, has any one gotten feedback working for Hue bulbs. I can send a command to retrieve info for all bulbs. In the feedback viewer built into the pro vs of the builder, it takes like 8 seconds to show the data. I can not seem to parse it out. Not sure if its because there is so much data returned.
Have you made any progress with this ?

Can you post an example of the feedback and your parsing set up ?

Cheers,
Peter M is offline  
post #83 of 749 Old 04-09-2018, 06:25 PM
Member
 
bpratt2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Queensland, Australia
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I never quite got up to speed with iRule, and now seeing them getting to drop support, I'm now finding that I should really move on to something new like this DemoPad.

The main thing is the lack of support for Android that I can see.

I'm also using GC100-12 as I'm doing pretty much IR only at this stage.
bpratt2 is offline  
post #84 of 749 Old 04-09-2018, 06:55 PM
Member
 
bpratt2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Queensland, Australia
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by kriktsemaj99 View Post
^^ Thanks, I will probably give it a try although it looks like Android doesn't get nearly as much testing as iOS does. And hopefully I can reuse the pile of Global Cache hardware I have rather than buy their controller.
I've just noticed that too.... hopefully I won't need to buy their gear, when my GC100-12 is still working fine.
bpratt2 is offline  
post #85 of 749 Old 04-09-2018, 11:52 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter M View Post
Have you made any progress with this ?

Can you post an example of the feedback and your parsing set up ?

Cheers,
No I haven't. I haven't had much time to work on it.
mpg7321 is offline  
post #86 of 749 Old 04-09-2018, 11:54 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by bpratt2 View Post
I've just noticed that too.... hopefully I won't need to buy their gear, when my GC100-12 is still working fine.
You do not have to buy there gear. I have my GC devices working just fine.
bpratt2 likes this.
mpg7321 is offline  
post #87 of 749 Old 04-10-2018, 12:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Peter M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,094
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 396 Post(s)
Liked: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpg7321 View Post
You do not have to buy there gear. I have my GC devices working just fine.
Yep ... me too. In fact I think Demopad works better with GC than iRule did. I regularly suffered temporary losses of connection with iRule, but now Demopad seems rock solid.

Cheers,
paulromi likes this.
Peter M is offline  
post #88 of 749 Old 04-10-2018, 03:40 AM
Member
 
bpratt2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Queensland, Australia
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
well that's good news then.

Now I have to see about getting the Android app so I can utilise it on my Samsung S2 tab.

Damn shame that iRule won't be working in a couple of years time though.
bpratt2 is offline  
post #89 of 749 Old 04-10-2018, 10:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Killroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ninth Circle of Hell
Posts: 2,538
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 606 Post(s)
Liked: 487
Is the Centro-8M only available from Alltrade? Are there any re-sellers and/or distributors in the US?
Killroy is offline  
post #90 of 749 Old 04-10-2018, 06:43 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Killroy View Post
Is the Centro-8M only available from Alltrade? Are there any re-sellers and/or distributors in the US?
I thought I saw some on eBay from US sellers at one point. May be worth a check.
mpg7321 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Remote Control Area

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off