Harmony Elite to control Somfy RF motors? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 06-04-2018, 02:47 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Guinea85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Viera, FL
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Harmony Elite to control Somfy RF motors?

I am wondering if it is possible to add something to my configuration to allow me to control my Somfy automated roller shades with my Harmony Elite. I know the Somfy motors are RF, but I was reading there may be ways to convert the RF signals to IR and back again to be able to control them via the Harmony Elite hub. Is this possible and if so, how would I do it?

If the world didn't suck, we would all fall off.
Guinea85 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 06-04-2018, 04:55 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,832
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3919 Post(s)
Liked: 3185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guinea85 View Post
I am wondering if it is possible to add something to my configuration to allow me to control my Somfy automated roller shades with my Harmony Elite. I know the Somfy motors are RF, but I was reading there may be ways to convert the RF signals to IR and back again to be able to control them via the Harmony Elite hub. Is this possible and if so, how would I do it?
Harmony includes a wide range of home automation devices. You need the exact model numbers to know if yours are in there. The Somfy brand name is.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 06-05-2018, 06:32 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Guinea85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Viera, FL
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
Harmony includes a wide range of home automation devices. You need the exact model numbers to know if yours are in there. The Somfy brand name is.
Yes I have it configured for most of my equipment, but I believe the Somfy motors are RF. I don't think the Harmony remotes can handle RF signals.

If the world didn't suck, we would all fall off.
Guinea85 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 7 Old 06-05-2018, 08:00 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,832
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3919 Post(s)
Liked: 3185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guinea85 View Post
Yes I have it configured for most of my equipment, but I believe the Somfy motors are RF. I don't think the Harmony remotes can handle RF signals.
The Hub can control wifi/Bluetooth type devices. Again, you need a specific Somfy model number.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 06-06-2018, 10:50 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Guinea85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Viera, FL
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
The Hub can control wifi/Bluetooth type devices. Again, you need a specific Somfy model number.
Well "again", the question is whether or not you can add something to the system to allow it to communicate. I am not interested in ripping out the motors if they are not compatible. They utilize RF, so is there something that can be added or attached to the Somfy motors that would translate RF to IR/BT? I have seen that this is possible to do, but have not seen whether or not anyone has done this with Somfy motors.

If the world didn't suck, we would all fall off.
Guinea85 is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 10-31-2019, 06:05 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi guinea85, have you figuered out how to control somfy blinds with elite harmony? Im asking since i do not not want to spend money on something if youve tried it and not succeeded.
Molon is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 11-23-2019, 12:26 AM
Senior Member
 
blackspider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 308 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Molon View Post
Hi guinea85, have you figuered out how to control somfy blinds with elite harmony? Im asking since i do not not want to spend money on something if youve tried it and not succeeded.
anyone got a way to convert the rf to infrared for somy motors?


Thanks.
blackspider is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Remote Control Area

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off