Inexpensive tablet to use with Harmony Hub? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 09-19-2019, 07:35 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
swechsler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Inexpensive tablet to use with Harmony Hub?

I currently have a Harmony 650 set up with a HT system in a rental home. I'd like to replace it with a Harmony hub to do away with the requirement of keeping the remote pointed at the components during the relatively long power-up/power-down sequence, and also the confusion of having to scroll through screens to access functions not having dedicated hard keys.

Ideally I'd have a tablet sitting on a stand on the coffee table, with the ability to charge wirelessly while it's on the stand. I'm aware that most (or all) tablets currently on the market don't have wireless charging built in, but there are third party adapters that can be added. I already have a few 7-8" tablets (such as a couple of Nook Colors, one of which has been rooted) that aren't currently being used, it would be great if I could reuse one of those.

Is what I'm looking for feasible? If so, recommendations are welcomed, not just for the tablet, but also for the charging adapter and a possible stand solution.

Thanks!

"When everyone's out to get you, paranoia is just good thinking"
-- Dr. Johnny Fever
swechsler is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 09-19-2019, 01:28 PM
Member
 
steebo777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Mitten State
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I'm interested in doing this too. I'd be switching from a Harmony One to this.

Sony VPLVW285ES - Stewart Studiotek 130
Denon AVR-X4300H - Logitech Harmony One
B&W LCR600 S3, DM604 S3, DS6 B, DM600 S3; Micca M-8C; SVS PC12-PLUS
Oppo BDP-103 - Sony UBP-X800 - Sony PS4 - Nintendo Switch
A Fistfull of Discs
steebo777 is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 09-19-2019, 04:41 PM
Member
 
acuratsx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You can pickup a decent Wifi iPad Air on Gazelle for under buck fifty. Launchport makes charging stations but are pricey.

LG OLED65B8, Apple TV4K, Samsung BD-C6900, Yamaha HTR4065, Klipsch Forte II's, KG 1.5's, Academy Ctr
acuratsx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 7 Old 09-20-2019, 06:53 AM
Member
 
steebo777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Mitten State
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by acuratsx View Post
You can pickup a decent Wifi iPad Air on Gazelle for under buck fifty. Launchport makes charging stations but are pricey.
I am solely looking to do the following and am wondering if it is possible since I haven't got a new remote for some time:
  • Take all activities and devices form my current Harmony 880 and load onto new Harmony app so I don't have to use my Harmony 880 any longer
  • Use app on an iPad
  • Buy a new Harmony Hub for iPad to connect to so Hub can output to my HT rack via IR

Sony VPLVW285ES - Stewart Studiotek 130
Denon AVR-X4300H - Logitech Harmony One
B&W LCR600 S3, DM604 S3, DS6 B, DM600 S3; Micca M-8C; SVS PC12-PLUS
Oppo BDP-103 - Sony UBP-X800 - Sony PS4 - Nintendo Switch
A Fistfull of Discs
steebo777 is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 09-20-2019, 07:42 AM
Member
 
acuratsx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes you can use iPad and Harmony Hub to control your HT. If you have a previous Harmony remote and would like to import its devices and Activities, you will be able to copy them over to your new Harmony Hub. Here's link on setup. You can also add any Harmony RF type remote to hub later if you so decide.



https://support.myharmony.com/en-ls/hub

LG OLED65B8, Apple TV4K, Samsung BD-C6900, Yamaha HTR4065, Klipsch Forte II's, KG 1.5's, Academy Ctr
acuratsx is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 09-20-2019, 10:36 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 14,669
Mentioned: 60 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3072 Post(s)
Liked: 1393
Just use an old phone or the one already in your pocket. No need for a big tablet.
mdavej is online now  
post #7 of 7 Old 09-20-2019, 11:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
MRAYB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Miami County, Ohio
Posts: 571
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 265 Post(s)
Liked: 576
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1


Did this a few months back. Works great for me. Longtime 650 user. The Android based tablet about $100, also added a memory card. Deleted as much junk as I could. Only use is for control of everything. No Netflix, Facebook, or streaming. Only bought the Hub , $69 on sale maybe. Transferred everything from the 650 to the hub fine. You can use both at the same time. The 650 is not Android based and does not work with the hub or tablet. Tablet and Hub work great together.

Added Denon 2016 AVR app for the X4400H along with Heos and pretty much for everything else that is wifi. Battery life is good. I keep it charging on a separate stand until needed. Lasts for days without recharging. Not sure of cordless charging. I keep the 650 in the drawer and use it for just checking local news and weather in the mornings.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1111111111.png
Views:	29
Size:	203.7 KB
ID:	2617920   Click image for larger version

Name:	222222222.png
Views:	25
Size:	181.1 KB
ID:	2617922   Click image for larger version

Name:	33333333.png
Views:	26
Size:	191.7 KB
ID:	2617924  
MRAYB is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Remote Control Area

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off