Harmony Companion: 1 activity wont shut off 1 device - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 12-01-2019, 07:14 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
ckronengold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Boston Strong / Jersey Strong
Posts: 556
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 303 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Harmony Companion: 1 activity wont shut off 1 device

I can't believe that this is somehow an issue, but hoping the experts here might have a hint for me.

I'm using a Harmony Home Control remote with my home theater setup. 99% of the activities are working properly, except for something funky with the shut down activity for my nVidia Shield.

For whatever reason, the End Sequence for the Shield will not turn off my projector. It is the only shut down sequence that won't turn off the projector, even though it has the exact same sequence as my other devices / activities.

My toys include a Marantz 7010 receiver, Epson 5050 projector, Oppo 103, Roku Ultra, Panasonic UB420, and the Shield. Every other device's shut down routine turns off the projector. And I can turn off the projector manually in the remote's app.

I have CEC, HDMI control, and any other setting that I can think of turned OFF to make sure there isn't something funky in the chain, even though nothing is using CEC anyway.

Before i just wipe out my hub and rebuild all of the activities, does anyone have a suggestion?

Video: Epson 5050 / nVidia Shield / OPPO-103
Audio: Marantz 7010 / MartinLogan Motion 40 (LR), 50XT (center), M2 (surrounds)
Streaming: nVidia Shield / Roku Ultra / Chromecast Ultra
NAS: Synology 1515+ Server: Ubuntu 18.04, i7-8700 CPU
HTPC: Win10 Pro 64-bit, i5 750 Radeon HD 5850
ckronengold is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 12-01-2019, 07:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
djc11369's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 1,013
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 300 Post(s)
Liked: 170
Maybe try adding a few second delay before the shut off command for the projector for that activity. (Activities, Customize this Activity, Activity shutdown commands) I'd move the projector shut off to the last command as well.
djc11369 is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 12-01-2019, 09:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
Kai Winters's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Northern NY
Posts: 719
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 212
Quote:
Originally Posted by djc11369 View Post
Maybe try adding a few second delay before the shut off command for the projector for that activity. (Activities, Customize this Activity, Activity shutdown commands) I'd move the projector shut off to the last command as well.
I agree with dj's suggestion.
If it doesn't work I'd just delete this one activity and make it over.
Good luck !

TV: Sony XBR 65X950G, AVR: Marantz SR5011, Speakers: front/Paradigm Prestige 15B bookshelf, center/Paradigm Prestige 45C, surround/Paradigm Atom, sub/SVS SB3000, DVD: LG UBK 90 UHD DVD Player, Media Player: Zidoo Z9S, Remote: Logitech Harmony Ultimate Home
Kai Winters is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 Old 12-03-2019, 09:20 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
ckronengold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Boston Strong / Jersey Strong
Posts: 556
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 303 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by djc11369 View Post
Maybe try adding a few second delay before the shut off command for the projector for that activity. (Activities, Customize this Activity, Activity shutdown commands) I'd move the projector shut off to the last command as well.
Is that in the desktop software?

The ability to add delays in the shutdown sequence via the app seems to have some weird restrictions. I can add a delay to the start of the sequence, but can't add a delay between shutting off devices.

Video: Epson 5050 / nVidia Shield / OPPO-103
Audio: Marantz 7010 / MartinLogan Motion 40 (LR), 50XT (center), M2 (surrounds)
Streaming: nVidia Shield / Roku Ultra / Chromecast Ultra
NAS: Synology 1515+ Server: Ubuntu 18.04, i7-8700 CPU
HTPC: Win10 Pro 64-bit, i5 750 Radeon HD 5850
ckronengold is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 12-03-2019, 05:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
djc11369's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 1,013
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 300 Post(s)
Liked: 170
Yes the desktop software, I only use the app when it forces me to do so like adding light control for my lutron devices. Why they force you to the app for that is beyond me.
djc11369 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Remote Control Area

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off