Any Harmony remotes NOT need blaster if hub in closet? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 12-19-2019, 07:10 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Any Harmony remotes NOT need blaster if hub in closet?

New house — all my HT gear (directv dvr, marantz pre-pro) will be in a closet. If I (obviously) put a hub in there, will any of the remotes in the Harmony line use IR itself to send the tv on the wall On/Off commands, without an IR blaster?

As I understand it, an IR blaster has to be plugged into the hub itself then run out into the room (via under the closet door or through a hole in the wall) to a line of sight position with the tv — I’d like to avoid that if one of the Harmony remotes can talk in IR to turn on the tv, instead of only able to talk to the hub.

Thanks in advance. I’d bet this has been brought up ad nauseum but seems like not an easy search.
kitcener1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 12-19-2019, 09:58 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,926
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3978 Post(s)
Liked: 3245
Quote:
Originally Posted by kitcener1 View Post
New house — all my HT gear (directv dvr, marantz pre-pro) will be in a closet. If I (obviously) put a hub in there, will any of the remotes in the Harmony line use IR itself to send the tv on the wall On/Off commands, without an IR blaster?

As I understand it, an IR blaster has to be plugged into the hub itself then run out into the room (via under the closet door or through a hole in the wall) to a line of sight position with the tv — I’d like to avoid that if one of the Harmony remotes can talk in IR to turn on the tv, instead of only able to talk to the hub.

Thanks in advance. I’d bet this has been brought up ad nauseum but seems like not an easy search.
The 950 and Elite have IR capability in the remote, but you have to manually enable it in the setup software. By default all activities will have only the hub enabled for IR. That said, I'd strongly advise to take the trouble to install a blaster. Eliminating the need to point the remote at any devices is pretty convenient.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 12-19-2019, 10:31 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks. I’ll take a look at how discreet a blaster can be. In any case, I take it then the Companion can not be programmed to send an IR signal to the tv? If I did decide to go with a blaster set-up to turn the tv on and off, can a Companion with a hub (and blaster) do the job? Really just looking at all options — I don’t care about the Elite price but the wonder if I might want to have the hard number buttons that the non-screen Harmony remotes give you. Also, I read in my ne user review that the remote doesn’t go through battery juice near as fast if it doesn’t have a screen (I know, there’s a base with the Elite),
kitcener1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 4 Old 12-19-2019, 10:47 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,926
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3978 Post(s)
Liked: 3245
Quote:
Originally Posted by kitcener1 View Post
Thanks. I’ll take a look at how discreet a blaster can be. In any case, I take it then the Companion can not be programmed to send an IR signal to the tv? If I did decide to go with a blaster set-up to turn the tv on and off, can a Companion with a hub (and blaster) do the job? Really just looking at all options — I don’t care about the Elite price but the wonder if I might want to have the hard number buttons that the non-screen Harmony remotes give you. Also, I read in my ne user review that the remote doesn’t go through battery juice near as fast if it doesn’t have a screen (I know, there’s a base with the Elite),
I can't speak to the Companion remote but I don't think it has IR.
The hub and blasters are very robust and do not require direct line of sight as much as you might think. You could also consider having the hub in the room and run a blaster to closet. But I'd say that a blaster could be almost anywhere in your room and still grab the TV. The included blaster has a pretty long cord, but they can easily be extended.

Been using an Elite for years and never once wanted hard number buttons. You can program macros to cover any conceivable commands you might want, including numbers. But the screen buttons are fine if you need them.

I drop my Elite into its charging cradle for about 30 min a day and it never drops below about 60% charge.
rdgrimes is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Remote Control Area

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off