Alexa Control of DirecTV - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 04-19-2020, 08:53 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AllenDB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Kerrville, Texas
Posts: 1,776
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Alexa Control of DirecTV

Been around for awhile--------------
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/26-ho...cord_this.html
Have had DirecTV longer than that and I got to wunderin' if an Alexa box (or something like it) could reliably control it.
like 'Find Gunsmoke', Go to NBC, go to channel 565.
I say 'reliably' because after much internet searching I ran across several threads, I think related to Alexa, that users tried and many even after a year could not make the coupling work.
Is this even the right forum for a question like this? Any users here have and use this interface? If I need to post this query in another forum please direct me.
AllenDB is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 04-19-2020, 02:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smoothtlk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,517
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 366 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Alexa device > Alexa cloud > automation cloud > automation server (in home) > natural language processor > intent > DirecTV driver > IP > DirecTV box.

That's how it's done.
smoothtlk is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 04-19-2020, 05:34 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 15,047
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3306 Post(s)
Liked: 1529
DirecTV's replacement, AT&T TV, does exactly this with the included voice remote. No Alexa required.
mdavej is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 7 Old 04-20-2020, 08:28 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AllenDB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Kerrville, Texas
Posts: 1,776
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Not going to replace DirecTV just because AT&T bought them out. I've seen entries on the internet about successful use of Alexas. And I've seen unsuccessful attempts. I created this thread hoping some AVS Forum user/member has/is using an Alexa to control their DirecTV.
AllenDB is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 04-20-2020, 08:57 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 15,047
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3306 Post(s)
Liked: 1529
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllenDB View Post
Not going to replace DirecTV just because AT&T bought them out. I've seen entries on the internet about successful use of Alexas. And I've seen unsuccessful attempts. I created this thread hoping some AVS Forum user/member has/is using an Alexa to control their DirecTV.
Setup:
https://www.att.com/support/article/directv/KM1262346/

Commands:
https://www.att.com/support/article/directv/KM1266160

Troubleshooting:
https://www.att.com/support/article/directv/KM1266252
mdavej is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 04-20-2020, 09:18 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AllenDB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Kerrville, Texas
Posts: 1,776
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks for the references. Guess I might have to go ahead and buy an Alexa and follow those instructions. Just was trying to find an Alexa user here for some hands on experience. I also was trying to see if I could get my DirecTV box set up to talk to an Alexa before I even bought one???????
AllenDB is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 04-20-2020, 10:18 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 15,047
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3306 Post(s)
Liked: 1529
Sure thing. You might get a response from an actual user here, but I haven't really seen many DirecTV folks hanging out here. I think you'd get a lot more feedback at DBSTalk. I got a lot of great advice there the 15 or so years I had DirecTV. You could ask in this thread. It has users who have gotten it to work, apparently with little effort:
https://www.dbstalk.com/community/in...ol-dtv.228826/

Unfortunately there's not a lot of setup you can do ahead of time without the device. As you can see from the instructions, there's virtually nothing that has to be done on the DirecTV side. I would just buy an Alexa device and test it out. If you can't get it working, just return it. I don't use Alexa myself, but I have set it up for many family members for controlling all sorts of things. I can't imagine you'd have any problems. I just set up several for my mother in law so she can call 911 or family from any room if she falls. Amazon makes set up and adding skills pretty easy.
mdavej is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Remote Control Area

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off