Pronto TSU7000 vs TSU7500 vs TSI6400 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 02-28-2006, 10:19 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Don_Kellogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 3,296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I've been reviewing the various pronto remotes and other than the dprice ifferance between them. I don't see much differance between the TSU7000 and 7500. There has been some meantion about the 7500's buttons begin easier to find. Other than that could someone xplain the differences to me please.

As for the large TSI model Im not sure what it would add in regards to function. There seems to be a 6" display and browser. Is this an aging product that is now limited when compared to the Pro series and the newer 9800 model?

I really like the ability to create buttons and layouts on a computer. Thats what attracts me to the unit(s).

"Anyone who lives within their means suffers from a lack of imagination."
Don_Kellogg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 03-01-2006, 06:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
Ben Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 556
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 25
A lot of people complain about the Tsi6400 for options that were never made available. However, I really like this remote, and not for the web features. I love having a 10.4" color screen with plenty of space for the buttons. From a pure remote standpoint, I think it is outstanding and definitely on a higher plane than the other pronto series.

Ben
Ben Harper is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 03-02-2006, 12:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
alexsquared's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Gresham, OR
Posts: 673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I believe with the 7500 you get a little more distance also if using RF as opposed to IR. I haven't used the Ipronto yet. It looks very nice, but I've heard many instances of it being buggy. Another very solid remote is the RTI series. typically a little more then the pronto if you couple them with their controller (RP6) but very robust.
alexsquared is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 11 Old 03-02-2006, 08:14 PM
Senior Member
 
Low Profile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don_Kellogg View Post

I've been reviewing the various pronto remotes and other than the dprice ifferance between them. I don't see much differance between the TSU7000 and 7500. There has been some meantion about the 7500's buttons begin easier to find. Other than that could someone xplain the differences to me please.

As for the large TSI model Im not sure what it would add in regards to function. There seems to be a 6" display and browser. Is this an aging product that is now limited when compared to the Pro series and the newer 9800 model?

I really like the ability to create buttons and layouts on a computer. Thats what attracts me to the unit(s).

There are only two differences between the TSU7500 and the TSU7000, memory and hard button cosmetics. The TSU7500 has 48 megs of memory. The TSU7000 has 32 megs. Also, the buttons on the TSU7500 are supposed to be easier to work by feel as the markings are more pronounced than they are on the TSU7000. I have never had a problem working the hard buttons on the TSU7000 by feel alone however. There is a new RF extender which works with any of the remotes in the ProntoNG line. (TSU3000/3500/7000/7500) This is where improved RF comes in. The RF capabilities of the TSU7500 and TSU7000 are identical, as they are with the TSU3500 and TSU3000. That being said, I have 2 of the original RF extenders and have never had a problem with RF control. I am often 60 plus feet away from the extenders as well. No problems.
Low Profile is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 03-05-2006, 11:31 AM
Member
 
wjjz106's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don_Kellogg View Post


I really like the ability to create buttons and layouts on a computer. Thats what attracts me to the unit(s).

Don_Kellogg -

I'm a owner of TSU7000. One of the remotes strongest attribute is it's ability to allow for customization. You can create screens, buttons, and text through software to your personal liking. I just love it's flexibility.

If you do decide to go with the Pronto Pro, it couldn't have come at a better time. Word has it that Philips has discontinued production on the 7000 and you will be able to pick one up at a significant $aving$

-- wjjz106
wjjz106 is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 03-10-2006, 07:00 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Don_Kellogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 3,296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Wow they are already killing the TSU7000... I do not foresee the need for 48 meg I don't have that much to control. The thing I like about the product line is the ability to make custom screens. I'll probably go with a 7000 I've seen them on EBAY for $400 or so.

"Anyone who lives within their means suffers from a lack of imagination."
Don_Kellogg is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 08-21-2006, 09:12 AM
Newbie
 
irPhilip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Low Profile View Post

There are only two differences between the TSU7500 and the TSU7000, memory and hard button cosmetics. The TSU7500 has 48 megs of memory. The TSU7000 has 32 megs. Also, the buttons on the TSU7500 are supposed to be easier to work by feel as the markings are more pronounced than they are on the TSU7000. I have never had a problem working the hard buttons on the TSU7000 by feel alone however. There is a new RF extender which works with any of the remotes in the ProntoNG line. (TSU3000/3500/7000/7500) This is where improved RF comes in. The RF capabilities of the TSU7500 and TSU7000 are identical, as they are with the TSU3500 and TSU3000. That being said, I have 2 of the original RF extenders and have never had a problem with RF control. I am often 60 plus feet away from the extenders as well. No problems.


According to Phillips, the 7500 and 7000 have the same size memory of 32 MB.
irPhilip is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 08-21-2006, 09:50 AM
Senior Member
 
Low Profile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 89
The TSU7500 model is outlined at the Philips website under the "New ProntoPro" section. There is states that the TSU7500 has 48 megs of memory. Owning both a TSU7000 and TSU7500 I can assure you that the TSU7500 does have 48 megs of memory. The "ProntoProNG" section of the Philips website makes reference to the TSU7000 only which has only 32 megs of memory.

That being said, the Philips website is poorly designed with regards to the both models which can easily cause confusion. First off, the actual model numbers are not even referenced under each section. Secondly, the TSU7500 is part of the ProntoProNG line, yet it's not included under the "ProntoProNG" section like it should be. Why Philips created a new section for the TSU7500 entitled, "New ProntoPro" I'll never understand. All they have done is cause confusion amongst their potential customers. Details on the TSU7500 should have been placed under the "ProntoProNG" section along with the TSU7000 with links provided there for both the TSU7000 and TSU7500.
Low Profile is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 12-26-2006, 01:17 PM
Member
 
benrub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Can you program it using a Macintosh Computer?

If my devices all receive IR signals, how does it help that this device can emit an RF signal?

Ben R.
benrub is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 12-27-2006, 05:27 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
AnthonyP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 17,711
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Can you program it using a Macintosh Computer?

unless VPC works better now the answer is no

Quote:
If my devices all receive IR signals, how does it help that this device can emit an RF signal?

RF is not for devices. RF is built so that an RF signal can be sent to an RF base that then sends IR. The benefits of RF is that it is more reliable (someone won't walk between it) and it passes through objects (so equipment can be out of sight).
AnthonyP is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 02-07-2007, 07:06 AM
Newbie
 
RSarge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The only difference between the TSU7000 and 7500 was a memory upgrade from 36mb to 48mb. There also were some minor styling changes to one or two buttons. If you want to see the best remote on the market. They just came out with the TSU9600.
RSarge is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Remote Control Area

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off