How can I get losseless and 4k gaming from new pc? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 05-05-2019, 06:29 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
chris6878's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 21
How can I get losseless and 4k gaming from new pc?

So I upgraded my PC and TV. I used to run my old pc hdmi through my receiver into tv. But now with 4k I see my pio doesnt pass through. I plugged the pc hdmi into the tv and its 4k hdr all the way, but I cant get lossless sound, only crappy optical. Any suggestions. My set up:

LG C8
oppo udp 205
Pio VSX-92 TXh
nintendo switch
Brand new PC with all the fixins for 4k hdr, dolby vision.....and what ever else ready. Mostly want to game.

Is it time to upgrade my PIO or can I do some tricks with the oppo?

Thanks
chris6878 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 05-05-2019, 07:04 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris6878 View Post
So I upgraded my PC and TV. I used to run my old pc hdmi through my receiver into tv. But now with 4k I see my pio doesnt pass through. I plugged the pc hdmi into the tv and its 4k hdr all the way, but I cant get lossless sound, only crappy optical. Any suggestions. My set up:

LG C8
oppo udp 205
Pio VSX-92 TXh
nintendo switch
Brand new PC with all the fixins for 4k hdr, dolby vision.....and what ever else ready. Mostly want to game.

Is it time to upgrade my PIO or can I do some tricks with the oppo?

Thanks
Oppo in is native 4k. Maybe try PC-->Oppo-->Pio/TV. 205 has 2 HDMI out and 1 in. Use the Vid out for tv, audio out to go to Pio
Sam F is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 05-06-2019, 05:30 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
chris6878's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam F View Post
Oppo in is native 4k. Maybe try PC-->Oppo-->Pio/TV. 205 has 2 HDMI out and 1 in. Use the Vid out for tv, audio out to go to Pio
OK ill give that a shot.
chris6878 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 Old 05-06-2019, 02:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 588
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 343 Post(s)
Liked: 200
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris6878 View Post
So I upgraded my PC and TV. I used to run my old pc hdmi through my receiver into tv. But now with 4k I see my pio doesnt pass through. I plugged the pc hdmi into the tv and its 4k hdr all the way, but I cant get lossless sound, only crappy optical. Any suggestions. My set up:

LG C8
oppo udp 205
Pio VSX-92 TXh
nintendo switch
Brand new PC with all the fixins for 4k hdr, dolby vision.....and what ever else ready. Mostly want to game.

Is it time to upgrade my PIO or can I do some tricks with the oppo?

Thanks
If your motherboard has it's own audio you can split audio and video. PC GPU to tv via hdmi/ motherboard audio(hdmi) to avr. You will have to go into sound settings to configure your setup(5.1,etc.). I would suggest this over the oppo because of possible lag.
Friendlys is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 05-06-2019, 02:18 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
chris6878's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Friendlys View Post
If your motherboard has it's own audio you can split audio and video. PC GPU to tv via hdmi/ motherboard audio(hdmi) to avr. You will have to go into sound settings to configure your setup(5.1,etc.). I would suggest this over the oppo because of possible lag.
OK, I had tried that yesterday but couldnt figure out how to get the mobo to output sound
chris6878 is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 05-06-2019, 02:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
holl_ands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 6,193
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 957 Post(s)
Liked: 525
HDMI can only support ONE Format at a time. UDTV will ALWAYS request STEREO Audio, cuz it only has 2 Internal Speakers....so most HDMI Splitters will only give you STEREO on the Secondary Port. [Or SURROUND on BOTH ports if connect Primary to AVR???]

Most BD/UD-Players solve this problem by providing TWO Independently controlled HDMI Output Ports: Primary goes to UDTV (with STEREO) and Secondary goes to AVR (for Surround, incl. Loss-Less).

You should investigate what is needed software-wise to support TWO Independently Controlled HDMI Output Ports in your PC....

Alternatively, you might want to investigate various HDMI MATRIX SELECTORS to see if you can Input SURROUND (incl. Loss-Less) and pass-thru that format to the AVR and let it automatically "DOWNMIX" to STEREO on the Port connected to UDTV.

Last edited by holl_ands; 05-06-2019 at 02:28 PM.
holl_ands is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 05-06-2019, 03:10 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
chris6878's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 21
well I hooked it up via the oppo. Played ok at first, then I started getting lag. Also tried to play a game and the game wopuldnt even output video correctly. So thats out. Im gonna do some research on how to output sound from the mobo.....but now its starting to look like I need a new avr.
chris6878 is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 05-06-2019, 08:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 588
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 343 Post(s)
Liked: 200
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris6878 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Friendlys View Post
If your motherboard has it's own audio you can split audio and video. PC GPU to tv via hdmi/ motherboard audio(hdmi) to avr. You will have to go into sound settings to configure your setup(5.1,etc.). I would suggest this over the oppo because of possible lag.
OK, I had tried that yesterday but couldnt figure out how to get the mobo to output sound
Your motherboard will have specific sound drivers online for your mobo. You need to enable sound via your bios first. Then download drivers... next go to sound properties and enable the correct set up. It will either have the name of your avr or intel. Right click to test and configure.

Yes, I had used this method for years until I purchased a 4k avr to pass through my 4k tv. Whomever says there is an issue between to hdmi outputs not working is incorrect. You can Google this online for a step by step explanation.
Friendlys is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 05-07-2019, 08:10 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
chris6878's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Friendlys View Post
Your motherboard will have specific sound drivers online for your mobo. You need to enable sound via your bios first. Then download drivers... next go to sound properties and enable the correct set up. It will either have the name of your avr or intel. Right click to test and configure.

Yes, I had used this method for years until I purchased a 4k avr to pass through my 4k tv. Whomever says there is an issue between to hdmi outputs not working is incorrect. You can Google this online for a step by step explanation.

Which do you like better and more convenient? im gonna try the mobo sound tonight, before I thibk about a new avr....even tho the Anthem MRX 720 has caught my eye.
chris6878 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Gaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off