AVS Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My parents are nipping at 70, are not audiophiles or 'videophiles' (think I made that last one up). Frankly, a perfect crystal clear picture is going to take a back seat to the size of the picture. I've told my mother repeatedly before they buy a new TV to consult me. Not because I'm a TV expert (PC's are my passion) but because I'm a research freak.

So today my dad tells me he bought a Sharp LC46D62U for about $2500. My first reaction is that they spent to much. Of course, I didn't realize this was a 1080p. Now my thoughts are that they'd be much better off getting a larger screen. They're probably never going to get HD service and they'll certainly never get a BluRay player. I'm also concerned with all the banding issues I've seen in the 5 minutes since I first talked to my father. Would something like the Samsung HL-S5686W (a 56" 720p) be a safer choice? It's almost $1000 cheaper too.

·
Registered
2,268 Posts
If they aren't going to feed it an HD signal then they shouldn't have an HDTV of any type. You need to find them an older rear projection 4:3 set, if they are simply looking for a big fuzzy analog screen. Look in your local paper, I'm sure you can find a used RPTV for very little money.

·
Registered
332 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by bsipe9 /forum/post/0

My parents are nipping at 70, are not audiophiles or 'videophiles' (think I made that last one up). Frankly, a perfect crystal clear picture is going to take a back seat to the size of the picture. I've told my mother repeatedly before they buy a new TV to consult me. Not because I'm a TV expert (PC's are my passion) but because I'm a research freak.