AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys,

First of all, I'm new in this forum. Though, I've been reading and studying a lot from here since 2008, this is my first post. I am a poor international college student with a big problem with my ears. My ears are so sensitive that can't stand bad stereo. This is what people call "audiophile with no money."

I have saved my money for a whole last year to setup my own 2.0 (later 2.1). I have reviewed and examined every topic on this forum regarding 2.0 setup.

Fortunately (or unfortunately?) I pulled the trigger for my 1st stereo receiver EVER! this afternoon which is Onkyo TX-8555 Pure 100Wx2 8ohm (@accessories4less.com). Now, I'm almost broke. I only have $150 to spend for speaker monitors. I've re-read every topic again since and made my head spinning.

I end up narrowing my decision to:

1. Infinity Primus P152

2. Polk Monitor 40 or 30

3. Energy CB-5

5. Jamo C601

6. Berhinger B2030P

7. Insignia NS-B2111 6-1/2"

I've been searching for Athena, AVS123, or B&W but they seemed untrackable.

Please help me to choose my first 2.0 bookselves and make myself proud not to buy generic micro/htib.

Thanks!

!!!UPDATE: Since I got more and more input, I would just say that I will use this system to listen to music (pandora,cd,mp3) and my fave bands are The Beatles, The Cranberries, Kings of Convenience which are mixed (pop+rock+classic) and sometimes 'live in concert' (acoustic). Appreciate!! Thanks!!

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Bump. Please response or I'll go for Behringer B2030P instead.

edit: Load capacity of Behringer B2030P is 100W and the Onkyo receiver output is 100Wx2. Is it OK to choose speakers at the edge of their capacity?

·
Registered
43 Posts
What kind of music do you listen to? Are you planning on adding a sub later? Are you looking to buy locally or is there a reason you narrowed it down to your 4 choices?

·
Registered
18 Posts