Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings all,

I was wondering. I'm new to the 16x9 format for DVD's and Projectors. I know that my DVD movies will convert to this format. I was wondering if anyone can answer what will this format do to my video widescreen films?

Here is my dilemma. I have approximately 250 video (majority of them are in Widescreen Format). Should I just count on view the screen at 4x3 or will the transfer occur for these video movies?

Can someone help me with this?

Alabama Smith

------------------

Jack D.

·
Registered
735 Posts
I'm a little confused by the question, but I'll take a stab and hopefully that will answer the question.

VHS has the worst quality of picture amoung ntsc sources. Letterboxed movies in VHS will have even less resolution. Whether it makes it unwatchable is purely subjective, but I usually watch my tapes on a small direct view.

Almost all widescreen vhs tapes are letterboxed and not the anamorphic widescreen of the better quality DVDs. Therefore how the vhs widescreen will be processed by the projector, is the same way a non-anamorphic/letterboxed DVD would be prcessed. There is no enhancement of the picture quality.

European posted this in the DVD hardware forum and I think this is a great explanation of widescreen:
http://www.dvdweb.co.uk/information/anamorphic.htm

[This message has been edited by bluedevils (edited 07-03-2001).]

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·