AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 100 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,061 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I need huge external HDD for my HTPC-Vista, just simply to download and play HD movies, no need back up, mirror and raid those fancy/security features. But need USB3.0 connectivity for future upgrade ( running USB2.0 at this time).


I am considering to purchase Iomega px6-300d storcenter network storage with 18 TB capacity, by installing 6 units of Hitachi Deskstar 7200, 3TB each HDD.


As my main objective is to get the maximum capacity, I need help:

1. Will I get the maximum 18TB HD capacity from this Iomega?

2. Is this true, if I run it with JBOD mode, I will end up to get 6 individual HDD of 3TB each, instead of one whole unit of HDD?

3. What is the maximum possible TB capacity I will get and with what mode?

4. Is there any better option out there for my need? In term of price, technical advances and relibility of cause.


Any inputs and recommendations is much appreciated.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,061 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by amarshonarbangla /forum/post/20832489


1) Yes

2) Yes


4) Since you are not looking for any advanced features, I will recommend you get this http://ain.mediasonic.ca/store/produ...tu3q3gnp96bar4


It's a 8-bay USB 3.0 enclosure with 3TB support. I think it will do just fine for your needs. It's a lot cheaper too at $299.99.

Thanks amarshonarbangla.

If I use this 8 bay Enclosure, can I start with 18 TB (5x3TB) first, then add on HDD when needed?

Question: Will this new add on HDD merge automatically to the 18TB and increase the capacity as one whole HDD?

Can I rely on Hitachi Deskstar 3TB 7200 HDD, any better option? I run it 24/7.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,276 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by iwanrs /forum/post/20832391


2. Is this true, if I run it with JBOD mode, I will end up to get 6 individual HDD of 3TB each, instead of one whole unit of HDD?

.

My LSI (3Ware) RAID controller manual says that they do not support JBOD anymore becuase in this configuration if one drive fails it wipes out the entire array. I know you are not using an LSI controller but it may be the same issue for all JBODs.


I don't know if my age and memory has distorted this warning - but if it is correct, you do not want to set up a JBOD system. Maybe Google this term to see if it is right.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,260 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by iwanrs /forum/post/20832691


Thanks amarshonarbangla.

If I use this 8 bay Enclosure, can I start with 18 TB (5x3TB) first, then add on HDD when needed?

Question: Will this new add on HDD merge automatically to the 18TB and increase the capacity as one whole HDD?

Can I rely on Hitachi Deskstar 3TB 7200 HDD, any better option? I run it 24/7.

Yes you can start with 18TB first and then add more when you need later on.


When you add a new hard-drive, it will be listed as separate drive, and not part of the 18TB array.


Yes the 3TB Hitatchi drive is pretty reliable from what I have read online. But you may want to look into 5400RPM drives. They will be a little cheaper and save you on electricty bill as well.


Quote:
Originally Posted by iwanrs /forum/post/20832767


Where to get this Mediasonic online?

I believe you can buy it from the link I posted http://ain.mediasonic.ca/store/produ...roducts_id=258
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,061 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
[QU


Yes the 3TB Hitatchi drive is pretty reliable from what I have read online. But you may want to look into 5400RPM drives. They will be a little cheaper and save you on electricty bill as well.


QUOTE]


Will this lower 5400rpm matter if I later upgrade my HTPC to USB3.0, in term of transfer speed?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,942 Posts
Unless I'm mistaken, JBOD will expose the drives as one big hard drive. You may encounter OS problems addressing an 18TB drive.


Personally, I would settle for 14TB and use RAID 5. That way if one drive fails, you can replace it and not lose any data. Yes, writes will be a bit slower, but you won't notice it with large files.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
167 Posts
As I do with everyone, I highly recommend you looking into unRaid. It will be cheap and easy to setup (you might even be able to recycle old hardware you have laying around). No need for any fanciness... it just works as a storage server which is what you want. Setup shares and then everything will appear as one location (not spread over drives) not to mention you can easily expand as necessary and have redundancy for 1 drive failure... the entire array will never be at risk.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,942 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by iwanrs /forum/post/20833795


Will this lower 5400rpm matter if I later upgrade my HTPC to USB3.0, in term of transfer speed?

Rotation speed only affects seek time, not transfer speed (at least not noticeably). Random reads will be slower, but sequential reads will be the same. USB 3.0 is rated at 5Gbps, which is far beyond what any mechanical hard disk can deliver, so I wouldn't worry.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,061 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
Quote:
Originally Posted by amarshonarbangla
Yes you can start with 18TB first and then add more when you need later on.


When you add a new hard-drive, it will be listed as separate drive, and not part of the 18TB array.


Yes the 3TB Hitatchi drive is pretty reliable from what I have read online. But you may want to look into 5400RPM drives. They will be a little cheaper and save you on electricty bill as well.



I believe you can buy it from the link I posted http://ain.mediasonic.ca/store/produ...roducts_id=258
Sorry to ask you this again to be sure before I proceed.

Because this issue is very important to me :


If I install all 8 units of Hitachi 3TB HDD into this Mediasonic 8 bay HDD enclosure, will my HTPC via USB2.0 connection recognize it as ONE WHOLE UNIT OF 24TB HDD CAPACITY, not 8 difference HDDs of 3TB each ? ? ?


I bought 4 bay Mediasonic Probox 2 years ago, install 4 x 2TB HDD and I end up get 4 separate individual HDDs File, not ONE whole unit.


Thanks
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
184 Posts
Don't waste extra money on 7200 rpm drives for this sort of use. 5400 rpm drives are more than adequate for the task. Any bottlenecks encountered won't involve the rate at which drives can deliver the data.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,061 Posts
Discussion Starter · #14 ·
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nebiroth
Don't waste extra money on 7200 rpm drives for this sort of use. 5400 rpm drives are more than adequate for the task. Any bottlenecks encountered won't involve the rate at which drives can deliver the data.
Thanks and Yes, I will get 5400rpm HDD.

Can you answer my question ?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
194 Posts
Please, save your data, seriously!

I solved it with one file server ubuntu (software is free and high-performance).

I've got 2 twins HTPC case Silverstone lc-13B-E (good thing in living room) The first is the HTPC, last one for the file server ubuntu. Into LC-13 you can install 8 x 3 TB HDD.


Wich is the advantage?

You can save your data on ext4 file system partition, under 64bit LINUX OS, (virus free) in RAID config, also and to have access from many clients.

Last nigt I transfered 8 Tbyte iso movies files @90Mbyte/sec!


It's a server and you can save your money (under 300 LC-13 included!)


bye
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
94 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by spivonious /forum/post/20845684


I'm not familiar with that particular box, but in general it would need to implement RAID or JBOD for the drives to show up as one big drive.

JBOD (for "just a bunch of disks," or sometimes "just a bunch of drives") is a term used to refer to a computer's hard disks that haven't been configured using RAID. JBOD will show each disk as a discrete unit.


RAID can be used to unify disk space, or instead use a unifying filesystem such as mhddfs or LLVM2 on top of JBOD. mhddfs joins several linux filesystems together to form a single larger one. I use JBOD each formatted with ext3 and then unified using mhddfs. I am able to simultaneously access each disk within the JBOD separately or as part of a storage pool.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
361 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjburke377 /forum/post/20846469


JBOD (for "just a bunch of disks," or sometimes "just a bunch of drives") is a term used to refer to a computer's hard disks that haven't been configured using RAID. JBOD will show each disk as a discrete unit.
No, JBOD can also refer to concatenation of disks into a single presented drive. Usually when a RAID controller has a JBOD mode it is specifically talking about concatenation of drives by the RAID controller itself; mainly because if all you wanted was a bunch of independently presented disks you don't need a special controller mode to do it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
94 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by ericbsmith /forum/post/20846556

No, JBOD can also refer to concatenation of disks into a single presented drive. Usually when a RAID controller has a JBOD mode it is specifically talking about concatenation of drives by the RAID controller itself; mainly because if all you wanted was a bunch of independently presented disks you don't need a special controller mode to do it.

I normally refer to that as a SPAN as does my fancy controller. When you have a 16 port device, like mine, not all disks are consolidated using only one scheme. Didn't realize the term has been made ambiguous. My mistake.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,061 Posts
Discussion Starter · #20 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by iwanrs /forum/post/20845316


Sorry to ask this again to be sure before I proceed to get one of this Mediasonic 8 bay HDD enclosure:

http://ain.mediasonic.ca/store/produ...roducts_id=258 .


Because this issue is very important to me :

If I install all 8 units of Hitachi 3TB HDD into this Mediasonic 8 bay HDD enclosure, will my HTPC via USB2.0 connection recognize it as ONE WHOLE UNIT OF 24TB HDD CAPACITY, not 8 difference HDD Files of 3TB each ? ? ?


I bought 4 bay Mediasonic Probox 2 years ago, install 4 x 2TB HDD and I end up get 4 separate individual HDD Files, not ONE whole unit file. This is not what I wanted/intended.

Can I get a definite answer to above question? THANKS
 
1 - 20 of 100 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top