AVS Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, so I have been a computer builder for some time now and am about o enter the AV realm of building. I want to build a non MCE system, prolly going to use SageTV as the main software. I have been doing alot of research on compatibility, needs and other ideas. Please look over my build specs and let me know what you think. (Items in green are already purchased, Items in red are next to be bought (like this week))

Case: Zalman HD160XT Plus
Motherboard: P5W DH Deluxe
Proccessor: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz
Memory: OCZ Platinum 2GB (2 x 1GB)
Hard Drive: 1TB Caviar RE2

1TB Caviar RE2

1TB Caviar RE2
Optical Drive: BD,HDDVD,DVD,CD Burner
Tuner: Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-1800
Video Card: Radeon HD 2600XT 512MB
Power Supply: Rocketfish 750w
Audio Reciever: Harmon Kardon AVR-276
Speakers: Klipsh 5.1 Quintet SL system
DirecTV Reciever: ?? Need to know whats the best HD reciever that can be controlled via serial ??
Display: Sharp 52" Aquos LCD
Controler Card: VSCOM Dual Serial Port Card PCI
Keyboard/Mouse: GO PRO 2.4GHz Optical Air Mouse and Compact Keyboard
Remote: Harmony 550 Advanced

·
Registered
1,106 Posts
Why spend big bucks on a small, loud, and hot drive like a Raptor? Yes, the OS will boot a few seconds faster, but most consider it a bad tradeoff.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Ok, I see your point. I am used to building gaming machines and have not had to worry about noise. Price is not a problem as I have a budget of 6k for everything but furniture.

So you would just use the TB drives for OS and storage? Or would you still use a seprate HD for the OS, just not a raptor?

·
Registered
465 Posts
Wow, another enthusiast with $6K to burn on an HTPC...

j/k vex, I won't bother repeating myself--if you want to know my initial response, you can read this thread . I'll just add a couple specific comments: