AVS Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
143 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is not my first experience with DIY but it is the first time I have done a build thread. My experience is very limited but I like to lurk and learn which I have been doing for about 7 years on here now. About 7 years ago I purchased a complete 7.0 JBL L series system and a H/K receiver all from the ebay store. The mains were the big L890's, center was the LC2, and the four surrounds were the L820's. I almost pulled the trigger on the matching subwoofer but found this place instead. I ended up buying a Shiva 12 from Kevin and building a ported sonotube sub. I have lurked here ever since and have learned quite a bit.

We are building a new home and the area where the theater equipment is going will not work with the big towers. This was the opportunity I needed to get rid of the JBL's. To be honest they never impressed me very much. I even upgraded to an Onkyo 709 receiver a few years ago thinking that more power would bring them alive and it was better, but still not what I expected. All I read on these threads about the dynamics and punch of these speakers everyone is building is what I desired and what I felt like the JBL's lacked.

After spending days upon days on the DIYSG site I decided on the Fusion 8 Alchemy. I really wanted to get something bigger but the space just wouldn't allow it. My mains and center will be sitting atop a row of 30" high cabinets with the tv hanging above it. I also wanted the 3 fronts to be the same if possible. I figured sitting on top of the cabinets the 17.5" height of the Alchemy's would put them at a good height for when we are seated on the couch.

Enough history, on to the building. First off I will echo everyone's reviews of the packaging. Great job Erich! No way were these things getting damaged. Took a good 20 minutes to upack and lay everything out. My order was for 3 of the Fusion 8's, 3 flat packs, and 3 pre-assembled crossovers.