AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am in the process of researching speakers for a 2.0 bedroom stereo. I have oredered a Virtue Audio VirtueOne integrated amp and an Oppo 980 dvd/cd player. The challenge now is deciding on speakers. I am new to high-end audio, but would like to enter the the world of audiophile goodness. My musical tastes are extremely varied (rock to classical). My objective here is to get a set of "best bang for the buck" speakers with the highest level of imaging and detail (non-fatiguing) with a large soundstage (width and depth). Of course I am merely regurgitating what I have read that makes up a good audiophile speaker.

As a newb, experienced opinions are very important as I rely on them to help guide me. I have been reading a lot of reviews and threads on tons of different speakers. It is very overwhelming, but a few seem to stand out to me. I would like opinions and comparisons from people who have heard or owned speakers from the list below:

Onix x-sls Encore (plus ninja master upgrade) $439 + $332 = $771

Odyssey Epiphony $595

Ascend 340 $568

PSB Image B25 $400

Based on professional reviews, Odyssey's sound like they could be the best option. However there is a very limited number of write-ups on these, and I have not been able to find any opinions from people who own them. I am also very interested in the Onix x-sls.

I realize that these do not necessarily cover the low end, so a sub will probably be in my future. Probably not until next Christmas though. The wife is already rolling her eyes at me. She thought I was just going to get an all-in-one mini stereo from somewhere like Best Buy...Silly Wife!

Thanks!

·
Registered
53 Posts
People here are going to tell you that purchasing the amp before the speakers is almost always a bad idea.