Discussion Starter · #1 ·

Hello,

System specs:

TV: Panasonic Viera TC-P54VT25

Receiver: Onkyo HT-RC270 7.1 ch rated at 100w x 2

Fronts: Kef q900's

Center: Athena AS-C1

Surround: Polk Audio M10

Subwoofer: Klipsche Sub10 (I think, could be a 12, doesn't say on the back plate and i'm lazy)

I recently picked up a new set of front speakers: Kef q900's and have themy bi-amped and hopefully receiving 100w (or whatever the receiver truly does).    I'm really happy with how they sound and how they're performing in a 2.1 setup.

When I switch to a 5.1 source, everything falls apart.  I struggle to blend the sub with everything else and it feels like there is a lot of lack, especially in the low end.  Just a lack of power in the bass and fullness.

I've recently convinced myself that this is likely due to a lack of power to the speakers.  This is based on close to nothing as I'm far from an expert.  Sure the speakers are getting 100ish watts in a 2 channel, but across 5, I assume this is much less and the cause of my issue?  Presumably I need to invest in a dedicated amp that.  Something that does  200w per channel across 3 or 5 channels would make a huge improvement?  Probably have to be a little careful sending that to the center/rears, but that's likely a better issue to have.

Any thoughts one way or another from the more experienced folks?

(I'm kinda excited to finally have sorted out this issue as I've always sort of felt this way, but never realized it was power.  It's not great timing, given that I just spent $1400 on new speakers and now the amp I initially had in mind is about $1100.  While I'd be stoked to do it, I'm not sure who's gonna pay for it all.)

·
Banned
14,420 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by scottatah  /t/1501749/2-1-sounds-great-5-1-is-lacking-lack-of-power#post_23995930

Hello,

System specs:

TV: Panasonic Viera TC-P54VT25

Receiver: Onkyo HT-RC270 7.1 ch rated at 100w x 2

Fronts: Kef q900's

Very nice.
Quote:
Center: Athena AS-C1