AVS Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1,061 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi DIY Experts,

I am a beginner in the DIY world, no experience what so ever.

I intent to build 2 x 18" DIY Passive Subwoofers, to be place at left and right corner (front or rear) of my Home Theater.

I really need heart pounding BASS!

I have had some good branded 15" active Subwoofers, and I feel they sound not as ugly (good) as those Subs in car audio, sorry no offend.

Let me start by asking:

1. What is the best 18" Subwoofer I can get for total budget of $1,500 or below (for 2 subs) ?

2. Or should I go for just one much better Subwoofer for $1,500 instead of two?

3. How and where can I get good DIY Subwoofer BOX in loose Kit, not built (not in a box form, need to be assembled) ?

All inputs and suggestions are welcome.

Many Thanks.

·
Registered
4,421 Posts
Where are you from? Your english is a little different, not impossible to understand, but definitely different.

Ok, so dual 18's, or, your $1500 budget rather, you have a lot of options.

First of all, are you willing to go with a ported box? If so, how big? an 18" sub in a ported enclosure can easily be 20 cubic feet. If you want a small sealed sub, the TC Sounds LMS 5400 is pretty much the best sub out there for sound quality. You will need a very powerful amp for it, at least 3000 watts, but it would be extremely powerful and have tons of ultra low end extension.

·
Registered
6,147 Posts
have you done a search of this subforum to see the multitude of threads on dual subs or even single subs? there are plenty of options for you there. My recommendation is spend a couple of hours just browsing over some of the build threads over the past 6 months or so and you will quickly run into builds of:

* 15" and 18" large low tune EBS sonotubes

* 15" and 18" sealed cubes

* 15" (and now 18") dual large low tune EBS boxes

* ported 15"

* dual opposing 15" sealed (dual 18" would work even better)

etc etc