AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm brand new to RTV as of 3 days ago - and I've already spent >15 hours trying to get my model RTV2020 to connect for the first time.

I think I've narrowed it down to modem speed - my analog phone line does not support 56k. [EDIT - I have verified that my phone line does indeed support modem connections for RTV units - I have succesfully connected a friend's RTV3020 over my line].

but - I can't figure out how to change the modem speed. tech support, and the stickies say to press "zones" at the pre-fix screen -- but that does nothing. I do not get a modem options menu.

can anyone help??!! this is driving me nuts!! thanks.

·
Registered
477 Posts
What version is the firmware?

411Zones

It's on the first line unless my memory has failed me.

If it's old firmware, it won't have the ability to change the modem speed and it also won't have the right built-in 800 number to do the initial connect.

If that's the case, you will have to pull the hard drive, put it in a PC running Windows and put the latest (last) firmware image on it.

See the FAQ for the procedure if you have to do this.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
thanks Murphy.

if I can get it to a line that supports 56k, do you think I can use the 800-590-4857# to connect and update the firmware? this is the # RTV tech support says is the right one - they said to enter it in the pre-fix field, followed by pauses, to sidestep the old built in number. I've done this, but due to the modem speed it still won't connect.

I'll check my firmware version tonight.

·
Registered
477 Posts