AVS Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is the design and construction thread for my recently finished theater and gym addition to my basement. I have read countless threads on here from all of you on your builds (and wow some of them are simply amazing) and thought I would post mine and offer help to anyone going through what I did about a year ago. The design process took about 6 mo and construction about 4 Nov '10-Feb '11. I didn't really set a budget to start with just went with what I had and whatever wasn't spent on construction went into equipment. That being said I think I'm about 12-13k into both rooms including equipment so for those of you just starting your quest it can be done. I'll be adding pictures shortly. I'm by no means an expert, just a guy who wanted a theater and built it and happy to help other who have questions.

Equipment

Panasonic AE4000U (if you read around i don't think you can find a better projector for the money, the image is simply stunning for the cost.)

Yamaha VX-2065 7.2 receiver (got a good deal on it and supported dual HDMI outputs, a must for me since i was putting the gym in at the same time) The power is a bit less than my Oynko upstairs so may eventually get an external amp.

Paradigm CLR and CS series (again got a good deal, they sound full and robust. I know the purist despise in wall speakers but I really wanted a clean look and for my tastes the sound is great.)

Definitive technology super cube sub-woofer, I have two of these in the room, one in its enclosure and another built into the wall (def tech replace an amp for me and asked me to remove the sub before shipping back, when they sent back loaded a new sub in since there was a new model, awesome company if you haven't dealt with them before, not sure if its the same now since they have blown up in the last couple years).