AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
15,396 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Are there any recommendations for a pro amp that can be used on 240V, deliver ~3.5kW into a single 4 ohm load, that is available in the US and won't break the bank?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,539 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stereodude /forum/post/18218838


What about something like a used QSC PLX 3402? Can they be converted to run on 240V?

Yes, they can at QSC in Costa Mesa California. They won't let you know what to do to do it yourself.


Otherwise, you can have a dealer order an 'export' model designed for 230V.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
921 Posts
Ashly PE3800 comes to mind
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
609 Posts
Crown XTI4000 should do 3.2kw @ 4 ohms.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,575 Posts
Export RMX5050, Marathon as mentioned.


There are of course others but they will be a lot more expensive. Perhaps something from Crest but I don't recall prices.


Curiously what do you need it for?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
15,396 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by Decadent_Spectre /forum/post/18220266


Curiously what do you need it for?

It's the amplifier piece for the subs I plan to put in my basement HT that I plan to start construction on shortly. I want to use 220/240V to give the amplifier every advantage in making its rated power even though I realize real content isn't going to pull that kind of power continuously.


Headroom is my friend.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
15,396 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by kouack /forum/post/18219720


Crown XTI4000 should do 3.2kw @ 4 ohms.

I thought I read somewhere around here that the XTI lost power down low rather badly.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
26,476 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stereodude /forum/post/18220519


I thought I read somewhere around here that the XTI lost power down low rather badly.

The Xti2000 measured horrible in the measurements thread. Could have been the amp but who knows about any of them below 20Hz.


Crest, Marathon, QSC RMX all are proven performers.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
15,396 Posts
Discussion Starter · #15 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fatawan /forum/post/18220853


The CE4000's do 3600 bridged on 220--I have two set up that way.

They look pretty promising. Does anyone know where the F3 is? The graph in the manual shows it is basically still flat at 10Hz.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,575 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stereodude /forum/post/18220516


It's the amplifier piece for the subs I plan to put in my basement HT that I plan to start construction on shortly. I want to use 220/240V to give the amplifier every advantage in making its rated power even though I realize real content isn't going to pull that kind of power continuously.


Headroom is my friend.

I'm with you on the headroom but I meant which sub.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
15,396 Posts
Discussion Starter · #17 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by Decadent_Spectre /forum/post/18222261


I'm with you on the headroom but I meant which sub.

I plan to build three 150L sealed subs with heavy fill. Each with two AE AV15-H dual 4 ohm VC drivers. Put the VC's in series, put the two drivers in the box in series and then run all three boxes in parallel. The net DC Re is 3.6 ohms. According to the Unibox simulation the net minimum impedance between 10-150Hz will be 4 ohms.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,575 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stereodude /forum/post/18222355


I plan to build three 150L sealed subs with heavy fill. Each with two AE AV15-H dual 4 ohm VC drivers. Put the VC's in series, put the two drivers in the box in series and then run all three boxes in parallel. The net DC Re is 3.6 ohms. According to the Unibox simulation the net minimum impedance between 10-150Hz will be 4 ohms.

What? No THT/DTS?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,482 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stereodude /forum/post/18222084


They look pretty promising. Does anyone know where the F3 is? The graph in the manual shows it is basically still flat at 10Hz.

Somebody somewhere has figured out the cutoff on this amp....and if I recall correctly, there is a filter at 8Hz.
 
1 - 20 of 23 Posts
Top