Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
395 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Sirs,

I've been researching for a couple months now; and I think I know enough now to be really confused. Hehe. But I have narrowed it down to the *type* of set I want to start with, and I need your help!

Requirements:

1. I'm viewing a mixture of Tivo, Digital cable, DVD right now; I'll want to continue that for a while. I'm especially interested in how the Tivo affects my choice.

2. I want to also view HDTV signal from cable and eventually (perhaps) from a dish.

3. I want 16:9 aspect ratio.

4. Willing to use an external line douobler like the iscan pro.

5. Finally, price isn't terribly important as long as the quality is there. I'm not expecting to spend more than around $4500 though.

What I'm considering:

1. Mitsubishi WS-55809 + IScan (yes, I know its not Direct)

2. The RCA MM36110

3. Sampo SME-34WHD5

I've got this far on my own, but am still willing to consider other monitors. I'd like to hear your thoughts or see pointers to other threads that might help me. There was a thread recently that covered some of the same territory, but that person is looking for 4:3 and not wanting to view HD content.

Many thanks for your knowledge and assistance. --ma

[This message has been edited by Major Astro (edited 09-02-2001).]

·
Registered
1,494 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by Major Astro:

Sirs,

I've been researching for a couple months now; and I think I know enough now to be really confused. Hehe. But I have narrowed it down to the *type* of set I want to start with, and I need your help!

Requirements:

1. I'm viewing a mixture of Tivo, Digital cable, DVD right now; I'll want to continue that for a while. I'm especially interested in how the Tivo affects my choice.

2. I want to also view HDTV signal from cable and eventually (perhaps) from a dish.

3. I want 16:9 aspect ratio.

4. Willing to use an external line douobler like the iscan pro.