AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
112 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I am new in Rear Projection TV's. I'm wondering how a native 4:3 HDTV reproduces DVD's. Obviously the black bars will be there on top and bottom, but do I generally lose resolution on my DVD's compared to a 16:9 HDTV?

I'm asking this because I am really buying this to feature my DVD's, although realistically I'll end up watching more TV than DVD's on an everyday basis.

What about models such as the Panasonic PT-51HX41 which describes their aspect ratio as 4:3, 16:9 Enhanced. Is there some kind of rescaling that allows the DVD's to reproduced in their full resolution?

Basically I'm asking what the pros and cons are of a 4:3 versus 16:9 HDTV.

Thanks in advance for your help,

Young

·
Registered
644 Posts
with a 4:3 tv you can't take advantage of anamorphic dvd's, which are "enhanced for widescreen televisions." basically the black bars substitute for the extra lines of resolution that you would get if the dvd were played on a widescreen. so, yes, you would lose resolution if you played your dvd's on a 4:3.

"4:3, 16:9 enhanced," i would imagine, is some method of taking advantage of anamorphic dvd's on a 4:3 screen. haven't heard about that much, though.

·
Registered
737 Posts
Know what? I think 4x3 TVs are ugly now. They look like something from the stone age. So, I'm going 16x9 if I ever buy a new TV. 16x9 is much more appealing to the eye. And when I watch 4x3 material on it, I'm not gonna watch it in stretch. Watching short and fat people would drive me insane.

·
Registered
28 Posts
Most 4:3 HDTVs are low end models. ]