AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello. I just ordered some Rockets and have a question. Since the Rockets are 6 ohm speakers, should I set the Switch on my DA4ES to 4 or 8 ohm?

Also, I saw in the manual where the power output of the DA4 actually goes down as the ohm load goes down. Isn't that exactly opposite of what most seperate amps do?

What am I missing?

Thanks! David

PS I can't wait to get my Rockets (550 / 200)!

·
Registered
7,482 Posts
I think the RSC200 center is 4 ohms, still most people in the know recommend setting those to 8 ohms,

The 4 ohm setting may limit the output...or it may just make the Circuit protection be more sensitive ...

I tried both settings on my Yamy, and ended up on 8 0hms, but there wasnt much of a difference. I really dont think those switches do much, but Im no engineer ...

·
Banned
172 Posts
I am new to this as well, so this is just my guess. I think the 4 or 8 ohm settings on the back of an amp are the minimum impedance settings the amp will likely encounter. An 8 ohm speaker will probably have a minimum impedance of about 6 ohms sometimes, and a 4 ohm speaker will likely go evern lower.

I think it would be safest to set your amp to the 4 ohm setting, especially if the speaker is rated at 4 ohms. I run a pair of NHT 1.5's, which are rated at 8 ohms. However I am running them at 6 ohms, I think they sound better at 6 ohms compared to when they were run at 8 ohms.

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
bigwally,

Excellent little piece there! Thanks a lot. That is exactly what I wanted to know.

Now, how about the power issue? Why does the receiver put out less power into less resistance?

Thanks! David

·
Registered
3,947 Posts