AVS Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey AVS!

First of all let me introduce myself. My name is Naithan, I'm a 19 year old student from Australia, and I have money I want to spend!

As christmas rolls in, I've decided to compliment my headphone rig, with a nice theatre setup in my room for gaming and movies. I have a budget of around $1000 (USD), and this will be my first real speaker setup.

I will do my best to provide you with as much information as I can in order to ease the pain of dealing with a newb.

I'm currently running a mid range headphone rig, that consists of an Auzentech Forte with OPA 637SM Opamps, Meier Concerto, and a pair of DT770/600's. While I love this rig, I would love a theatre setup I can use throughout the day, or when mates are over.

I'm very new to the world of theatre, which is why I've come to the most knowledgeable forum I know of for advice on what components I should be looking at for within my budget, and how to achieve a good surround experience with them.

After doing alot of research on this forum, I found myself a great deal on a Denon 590, and purchased that over the weekend, so I'm only looking for speakers. While satellites would be more convenient, I'm definitely willing to use bookshelf speakers, but tower won't be an option.

While I'm really wanting a surround sound setup, I will listen to recommendations for 2.1 / 3.1 systems. You guys are the experts, that's why I'm here.

I'm open to spending more money if the result is alot better.

Also, I'm in Australia, so some high end individual speakers can be hard to source. If anyone knows of some good online stores or actual shops I can use, that would be great!

It's worth noting that my room has a peculiar shape, and layout. I've drawn a diagram to demonstrate. I understand it's going to be hard to work with, but I do think (see hope) that it's possible.

The room is about 11.5' by 12.5'.