AVS Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all, I've read through a lot of threads, but I can't find one with exactly what I am looking for so I thought I would start my own thread. When it comes to sound I would say I am a novice, but I currently own a surround sound system that's 10 or so years old. I know the basics, but I think it's time to step it up and really make my movies/games sound good.

Room size 15.5 (L)' x 15' (W) x 9' (H)

Budget $1500

Needs: 5.1 speaker system

Current Receiver: Pioneer VSX-1021

Usage: 60% TV & Gaming, 30% Movies, 10% Music

I currently don't have a blu-ray player but own an XBOX and a 55' LG TV

I really don't have limitations on the speakers, I am good with towers up front if it means better sound. I can either wall mount the rear surrounds, or there is a ledge behind where the couch would go, however it's a few feat above ear level, so it might be better to mount the rear speakers.

I really just need help picking speakers that will work in my budget and sound good with my receiver. I really appreciate all the help.

-Chris

·
Registered
686 Posts
In that budget range, you will hear lots of different opinions. You will have to listen to the speakers yourself to really decide.

But I think you should take a look at the pioneer budget speakers. 2 x sp-fs52-lr, 1 x sp-c22, 2 x sp-bs22-lr. I just got these and I'm really impressed with them for the price. I like them better than the infinity primus speakers which I used to have, p362, pc350.

Other speakers I would try to listen to would be ascend acoustics cmt-340se for front and cbm-170se for surround. Also, the kef q series has gotten a lot of positive feedback, but that route may stretch your budget. You may want to consider passing on the subwoofer being in a townhouse.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by csgamer  /t/1468309/5-1-setup-in-new-townhouse#post_23204460