AVS Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
181 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Looking for a projector that can throw 50 ft and play 1920x1080 and has at least 6000 lumens onto a 28x12 ft screen.It should have HDMI inputs

It needs to be priced under $10,000

Let the list begin.

Thanks,

·
Registered
1,242 Posts
That list will be very short. There are no projectors that can do what you're looking for below 10k. In fact, I'll bet you'll have to go significantly higher. I'm not an expert on ultra high-end PJ's, but I believe you'd have to cough up something like 50k for 6000 lumens @ 1080p. At least for a new unit.

However, there is a Christie hd6k-m slightly over you budget at Videogon.

·
Premium Member
2,586 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drexler /forum/post/19546560

That list will be very short. There are no projectors that can do what you're looking for below 10k. In fact, I'll bet you'll have to go significantly higher. I'm not an expert on ultra high-end PJ's, but I believe you'd have to cough up something like 50k for 6000 lumens @ 1080p. At least for a new unit.

However, there is a Christie hd6k-m slightly over you budget at Videogon.

There is nothing that "I" know off that will throw 50ft for under $10K.

·
Registered
201 Posts
Looks similar to a movie house unit

The Infocus pj that you mentioned has a claimed contrast ratio of 2000:1. There's not anything anyone can do to improve a pj's contrast ratio, but it should work fine where you have plenty of ambient light.

·
Registered
1,242 Posts
Well, OK, I was too focused on cinema projectors.
There are business light cannons out there but they usually don't have 1080p resolution and have horrible picture quality when it comes to movies. I should have made a better job of checking - business PJ kinda fly under my radar...