AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

· Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Can get both for around $2900 shipped from different internet retailers. Is the HD tuner with cable card slot a huge feature? I liked the picture on the JVC a lot tonight. Don't care about other bells and whistles as the TV only gets a video feed for picture. Audio is run through the receiver and speakers. I'm leaning towards the Sony. Any owners of JVCs want to sway me?

· Registered
3,740 Posts
Just go ahead and get the 55" and report back :)

· Registered
762 Posts
I am no expert and my experience is based on store visits, but the JVC just looks sharper and with better color to my eyes than the WE655. I own a 32" Sony CRT now and would prefer to go that way, but between the improved picture and more streamlined cabinet of the JVC I am leaning its way. I have to wonder why Sony is virtually alone now with LCD RPTV. Seems like the majority of the market has moved on.

· Registered
209 Posts
Have you seen the 55" Sony yet, because so far I've only seen the 50" and have to say have been more impressed with the JVC. Also the prices seem odd. The Sony sounds like an awesome price, but by comparison the JVC seems high.

· Registered
171 Posts
Yeah I have one. It is pretty good, on a store dvd feed I felt that it was comparable to the Kirk I saw next to it. I'm sure the black levels on the kirk would be better outside of a showroom floor situation though. The cool thing is I can get my HD channels for free(minus the premium ones) through cable, and I can also get an antenna to pick up the locals ones that I don't get through cable(like abc, pbs, and upn). The SD channels come in relatively well, but I do need to do some calibration. Check the thread I mentioned above, there are other that have feed back and some pictures as well.

Quote:
Originally posted by wdrazek