AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
184 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I posted this in the settings and issues thread but there is a lot of discussion and I'm worried this will get lost.


I have the 60ST60, I am using Cnet settings and for the most part things are ok, I had an issue with black clipping so I decided to get the WOW disk. This is where the troubles started. I have two issues and I am not sure if its the Blu ray player, cable or TV. I doubt the cable because I tried 6 different high speed cables and I tried plugging directly in the TV HDIM (all three ports) with the same issue.


The first issue is that I cannot calibrate the contrast using the disk, I have used both the basic and the advanced, the basic for those that don’t know has two gray bars about 4 inches long on the left and right side of the screen mid way up, they are horizontal bars. The intention is to adjust the contrast until you see the vertical bands on the right from top to bottom through the horizontal bar.. No matter what I do I cannot see ANY vertical bars on the right, For those who know the WOW disk, the bars will flash briefly to show you where they are (to prevent your eyes from fatigue)The bars do flash so I know they are there.


To make the issue brief, I can not see any bars on the contrast adjustment page no matter what I try I have gone from 0-100 and I get only a slight gray bar on the left. Ive adjusted the brightness, gamma etc... NOTHING makes a difference.


What would cause this? The contrast makes a very noticeable difference when adjusted in regular content.



The second issue is that the pixel flipper doesn’t work either. When I start it is will flip the whole screen for a split second, but it will then only flip a small portion of the screen, its like a square that moves all over the screen slowly at first the box is about 10 inches square but it shrinks to about 2 or 3 inches. it will slowly work its way up to the top of the screen and move from left to right.


The rest of the screen has the noise pattern its just not moving.


Are these two related? could this be the bluray player? or the TV?


I adjusted the format to all of the choices, same thing, I have used pixel direct on and off are the same, I have changed the HDMI content.... I changed everything and nothing fixes either problem..


anyone have any ideas?





The top image is what my set looks like, the bottom is what it should look like, or close to it.. I can not even get the vertical bars to show as you can see.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
184 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
ALl settings are off. I have tried to connect the Blu ray directly to the TV on each HDMI port, I have tried to reset the TV to factory defaults and the BD player to defaults too. I have set the BD to high color (or what ever its called) and to standard. I set the HDMI to standard and non standard color, nothing changes it.


I went through each setting on the TV and BD with a fine tooth comb to see if anything would change it, no luck..I am hoping its the BD player because everything looks pretty good (aside from clipping blacks)


The same two issue happen no matter what I try..


I should also mention, when watching PSYCH on netflix through the ROKU I get what looks like flashing or fluxuating whites on bright scens when the camera is panning. It happens on hockey games too when the camera pans, if there are areas of bright areas with small amounts of darker post the screen will flash or fluxuate..


I am positive the ECO is off, the CATS is off, and auto black level and white level settings are off or at 0.. believe me, Ive tried everything..
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
20,921 Posts
Waht mdoe are you trying to adjust your setitnng currently in? Also, I would suggest a reset of all picture settings and start from scratch.....


You may also want to take a look in the WOW thread over in the Display Calibration (I think) section.....


Last but not least, you want to make sure that you are not processing the picture via the Blu-ray player, double check the settings on it and make sure there is ntohing that could be casuing this...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
184 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by sheshechic  /t/1472852/60st60-contrast-and-and-display-problems#post_23319018


Did you follow the order that the Wow disc tells you to use? Have you tried turning brightness down?

Yes, i even turned the brightness all the way to 0 and then back to 50, i tried changing both the contrast and brightness in oposite directions while on that screen to see if I could make the bars show.. nothing worked. i changed the gamma from s-curve to 2.6 and everwhere in between. I set all detail settings to default and then back to cnets settigns, I tried all of he factory options for display,, Vivid, standard etc.. nothing changes either issue.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
184 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te  /t/1472852/60st60-contrast-and-and-display-problems#post_23319033


Waht mdoe are you trying to adjust your setitnng currently in? Also, I would suggest a reset of all picture settings and start from scratch.....


You may also want to take a look in the WOW thread over in the Display Calibration (I think) section.....


Last but not least, you want to make sure that you are not processing the picture via the Blu-ray player, double check the settings on it and make sure there is ntohing that could be casuing this...

Im using custom but Ive tried it on each mode.


I have changed each device setting to default and then verified that there is no processing option left on. I also changed the settings back to both Dnice and Cnets..


I added more detail of what I had done in an edit to my other posts in this thread.


I will go to the WOW thread and see if that helps..


Thanks
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
20,921 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Heywould  /t/1472852/60st60-contrast-and-and-display-problems#post_23319075


Im using custom but Ive tried it on each mode.


I have changed each device setting to default and then verified that there is no processing option left on. I also changed the settings back to both Dnice and Cnets..


I added more detail of what I had done in an edit to my other posts in this thread.


I will go to the WOW thread and see if that helps..


Thanks

Do you have Panel Luminance set to Mid and not high or low?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
12,071 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Heywould  /t/1472852/60st60-contrast-and-and-display-problems#post_23319481


its at mid but I have changed it to low and high,, I also had the other setting (for get the name) set to light but set to dark had no affect

That would be the black level setting it should be on "light"
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
12,071 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Heywould  /t/1472852/60st60-contrast-and-and-display-problems#post_23319589


Its on light,, just tested it on dark to see if it made any difference.

Dark would crush blacks not familiar with the WOW disk but there are two possibilities in my mind, something in you chain is clipping whites or you have a defective set. If you had the AVS 709 cal disk you could see where the whites are being clipped. I can't think of any scenario where the contrast control wouldn't have any effect on a wtw pattern.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
184 Posts
Discussion Starter · #13 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon  /t/1472852/60st60-contrast-and-and-display-problems#post_23319597


Dark would crush blacks not familiar with the WOW disk but there are two possibilities in my mind, something in you chain is clipping whites or you have a defective set. If you had the AVS 709 cal disk you could see where the whites are being clipped. I can't think of any scenario where the contrast control wouldn't have any effect on a wtw pattern.

I am hoping its either the BD player, OR the cables.. I know the cables seem unlikely but I am also having an issue with the pixel orbiter on the WOW disk (See in my original post) That issue I feel could be due to poor data transfer through the cables.. I have 6 different cables Ive tried and none changed anything, only one of them is listed as high speed and thats only HDMI 1.3..


whites on full screen at the WTW screen look dull and gray, this is similar to watching hockey but slightly worse..


The TV has a great picture but I have these two issues and I want to be sure Im getting the best results..



I will buy a new model BD player and some newer cables today to see if that helps.. (i wanted a 3D player anyway.)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,016 Posts
It's not going to be the cables. The easiest explanation is that the BD player is outputting PC levels, 0-255, which expands the video from 16-235, losing BTB and WTW. If this is happening, you should see a similar issue with the Brightness pattern; you won't see any blacks < 16. The WOW docs say that the middle of the Contrast pattern is ideal white, which should be 235. The bars on the left hand side should be < 235, while those on the right hand side should be > 235, or WTW. I reiterate what I said in the other thread about the AVS709HD white clipping pattern allowing you to determine this exactly, as it labels things with the actual numbers. I believe the WOW "Advanced Patterns" (the ones with the checkerboard and stars) label things with percentages and would serve a similar purpose.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
184 Posts
Discussion Starter · #15 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by sawfish  /t/1472852/60st60-contrast-and-and-display-problems-wow-disk#post_23319804


It's not going to be the cables. The easiest explanation is that the BD player is outputting PC levels, 0-255, which expands the video from 16-235, losing BTB and WTW. If this is happening, you should see a similar issue with the Brightness pattern; you won't see any blacks 235, or WTW. I reiterate what I said in the other thread about the AVS709HD white clipping pattern allowing you to determine this exactly, as it labels things with the actual numbers. I believe the WOW "Advanced Patterns" (the ones with the checkerboard and stars) label things with percentages and would serve a similar purpose.

I actaully did the advanced pattern too on the WTW and I see no stars, I only used the basic verison to explain this issue. I will post pics off my actual set tonight..


The black or BTB isnt a real problem.. i can get the blacks the required result using he disk.. there are stars on the right and left of the center, the center is ideal, the results should be that you can just start to make out the center star, this is easy to do with the brighness settings.. I know the brightness adjustment is working well because I can make it so bright that all stars show and so dark that none show.. This seems ok..


The white or WTW is whats getting me.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,016 Posts
So for some reason, whites are selectively being clipped. That's weird. It might be useful to see if this happens with other sources, like a USB drive playing the AVS709HD patterns or another BD player. Try different HDMI inputs, too. If the 60" is like the 50", you ought to be getting WTW (and BTB, of course).
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
184 Posts
Discussion Starter · #17 ·
I will run the AVS709HD tonight, if I can run of a USB that would be great.. I thought I had to burn it.. I didn’t want to run it as an ISO off computer because I don’t want my HTPC Video card to come into question..


I want to test the TV right at the source.. I think I may buy a new BD player tonight since I wanted 3D.


I have tried all 3 Ports on the tv, I have also tried all the ports on my AVR just to see if that did anything..


Nothing I have done has made any change, not even slightly. the only common denominator is the BD player and cables.. I only suspected cables because I will get screen flashing effect on panning with very bright scenes.. I started noticing this while watching some old black and white shows on netflix and last night while watching Psych (Again on netflix) I saw very noticible flashing, as if the refreshrate was set low.. it looked like flickering..That is through a Roku player though, the roku 3..


I will try the same scene using the bult in netflix to see if I get the same thing.


Thanks for helping me out with this..
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,016 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Heywould  /t/1472852/60st60-contrast-and-and-display-problems-wow-disk#post_23320031


I will run the AVS709HD tonight, if I can run of a USB that would be great.. I thought I had to burn it.. I didn’t want to run it as an ISO off computer because I don’t want my HTPC Video card to come into question..

There's a version that's all MP4 files, and the TV can play them off a USB (thumb) drive.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
197 Posts
If I remember correctly and if your talking about not being able to use the white on your tv, meaning no matter which way you adjust you can make the white stars or bars go away it's ok. I remember reading the earlier pages on the wow forum here on AVS and the director of the disk would answer a ton of questions. He said that with newer modle TVs in some cases you CAN'T clip whites. The manufactuers have put a limit to how far you can go with white. He even said at the time on his ST30 that when he had it professionally calibrated his whites were set to 100.


He said its ok to run it at a 100 but for practical purposes A.K.A the likelyhood the plasma TV will start buzzing I wouldn't set it that high. Again this is only if your're talking about whites and I think contrast is the white levels and brightness is black but I get the confused when I'm not actually looking at my TV lol
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
184 Posts
Discussion Starter · #20 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by glantern30  /t/1472852/60st60-contrast-and-and-display-problems-wow-disk#post_23320118


If I remember correctly and if your talking about not being able to use the white on your tv, meaning no matter which way you adjust you can make the white stars or bars go away it's ok. I remember reading the earlier pages on the wow forum here on AVS and the director of the disk would answer a ton of questions. He said that with newer modle TVs in some cases you CAN'T clip whites. The manufactuers have put a limit to how far you can go with white. He even said at the time on his ST30 that when he had it professionally calibrated his whites were set to 100.


He said its ok to run it at a 100 but for practical purposes A.K.A the likelyhood the plasma TV will start buzzing I wouldn't set it that high. Again this is only if your're talking about whites and I think contrast is the white levels and brightness is black but I get the confused when I'm not actually looking at my TV lol


Thanks, I actually have what I think is the oposite of what you are saying.. I posted two pictures.. I am not able to lower the contrast (whites) to allow proper calibration, all the whites a clipped and washed out.. take a look at the two pictures, the top picture is what my TV does,,, is that what you are saying is ok?
 
1 - 20 of 50 Posts
Top