AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
128 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to pre-amp stuff. I just end using pre-am and power amp from my receiver. I'm planning to upgrade now and I was looking at Pioneer VSX-D812K.

What does peamp input means ?

Here are specs from Pioneer VSX-D812K

7.1-channel preamp input

6.1-channel preamp output

This is 6.1 receiver (6 amplified channels) . Why someone want input 7.1 decrete channels to a 6.1 amplifier of 812?

Does anyone know whether this receiver has upgradability for 7.1 by connecting external amplifier for the two rear speakers? (like kenwood 6070)

Can the rear center speaker output be split to make it 7.1?

·
Registered
707 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by a_dixit
Why someone want input 7.1 decrete channels to a 6.1 amplifier of 812?
They wouldn't. But, it certainly wouldn't be the first time a Japanese receiver manufacturer has put an utterly worthless feature on a product.

That's been their stock in trade for three decades. "7.1" is bigger than "6.1", so it must be better. The last laugh is on us, of course, since consumers actually swallow these useless features hook, line, 'n sinker.

Watch...next year's big new feature will be 9.1 channel surround with a couple more matrix decoders deriving crappy right center and left center front channels from Dolby 5.1 discs. Then, the receiver manufacturers will jump all over each other to put ten analog inputs on the back panel.

The real reason is that the chip manufacturers put eight analog inputs on this year's DSP chips. It's a moot point. With only 300,000 DVD-A discs sold in the US last year, it's pretty obvious that nobody is using the multi-channel analog inputs anyway. Whether there are six or eight RCA jacks sitting empty on the back of the receiver, doesn't really matter.

·
Registered
1,646 Posts