Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
1,936 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I'm new to all this great HT stuff. I have a finished basement that I plan on devoting to a HT. Unfortunately the ceiling is only 7' high, and I was planning on buying the Panny L300U and mounting it to the ceiling. Also, I had planned on having a 16:9 110" permanent screen.

Does the low ceiling mess all of this up?

Please share your views.

Thanks.

·
Registered
354 Posts
Actually, the L300u should work in this situation. You will want your screen close to the ceiling, which means you may have to create a custom mount. My L300u sits a little low and I have it angled up a bit to reach the top pf my screen.

How did you come up with the screen size? Your closest seating position should be at least 1.5 times the screen width. That would be approx. 14 feet from the screen. You really don't want to sit any closer with the L300u. I think 1.75 times the screen width is even better for the L300u so that it minimizes the visible pixel structure.

·
Registered
1,936 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for your help. I just kind of made that number up, as I want the screen to be big. What do you think would be a more realistic number?

·
Registered
354 Posts
What I did was buy the L300u first and used it on the plain wall for several weeks until I was comfortable with the size.

It really depends on how far away you are planning to sit from the wall. Have you measured this yet?

·
Registered
28 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by SayersWeb
How did you come up with the screen size? Your closest seating position should be at least 1.5 times the screen width. That would be approx. 14 feet from the screen. You really don't want to sit any closer with the L300u. I think 1.75 times the screen width is even better for the L300u so that it minimizes the visible pixel structure.