AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2,881 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been researching on the net for nearly two months now and just received my Infocus 7200 on Friday. I spent three hours trying to get my Bravo d1 hooked up via DVI last night. I guess I received a bad unit as it would not play most of the DVD's I stuck in. Some sound at times and no picture. I would get to the menu and it would lock up. This has been noted on other posts.

I decided to go to Best Buy today to get Component cables to hook up my Denon 2900. I was not happy about this, but I thought this would get me by for a while. Low and behold they actually had the Samsung DVI player in stock. After looking for 30 ft cables and seeing how much they would cost, I decided I would try this unit out. THE PICTURE LOOKS FANTASTIC! My previous TV was a High Def Mitsubishi 46WS. I think the picture is as crisp and clear as it is. If I had known that the Samsung had DcDi by Faroudja I probably would have purchased this DVD player first.

The picture on the 7200 is crisp and accurate. The color looks great and contrast is not as bad as most people have said. Yes it does look a little Gray, but to me it doesn't bother me. It really does take on a film quality that I really didn't expect. It also has a 3 dimensional look and feel.

To me the combination worked out very well. I used the Infocus 30ft DVI cable. If anyone else is using this setup I would be interested in hearing what there settings are.

Patrick

·
Registered
936 Posts
Congrats on your 7200 (I have one too and love it). I tried the Samsung myself, but couldn't get the 1080i resolved on the 7200. All I got was snow. 720p resolved fine.

Is it better to feed the 7200 native resolution and not even worry about 1080i?

Did you get 1080i resolved on your 7200? My 7200 is one of the first production units bought a year ago.