AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am an HDTV newbie (I have been wanting it so bad for a long time), and I found a deal, which I thought was good (I am on a very limited budget).

It is an Apex 55" widescreen HDTV that I just got for $999.99 @ CompUSA.

Model: GB-55HD09W 55-inch Projection HDTV

In reading the manual it states that it is capable of recieving 1080i, 720p, 480i, and 480p signals, but that it cannot display 720p signals, they will be down converted. Can someone explain what this means? I have placed an order for Dish Network with HD pack and most channels I will recieve seem to broadcast 1080i anyway, did I make a mistake?

Also being that dish isnt hooked up yet (I will be using a model 811 reciever), I have hooked up my standard cable and it seems to look different (worse) than on my old tv (Hitachi 50" ultravision circa 2001, nonHD). I know the hitachi is a better tv, but shouldnt the HDTV look better? I have heard that HD sets dont do justice to cheap cable signals, could that be it?

Thank you in advance.

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Does the Dish model 811 do so?

·
Registered
432 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by pbiancardi

I am an HDTV newbie (I have been wanting it so bad for a long time), and I found a deal, which I thought was good (I am on a very limited budget).

It is an Apex 55" widescreen HDTV that I just got for $999.99 @ CompUSA.

Model: GB-55HD09W 55-inch Projection HDTV

In reading the manual it states that it is capable of recieving 1080i, 720p, 480i, and 480p signals, but that it cannot display 720p signals, they will be down converted. Can someone explain what this means? I have placed an order for Dish Network with HD pack and most channels I will recieve seem to broadcast 1080i anyway, did I make a mistake?