AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1,875 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey, I am VERY new to A/V receivers in general and have a few setup questions.

1. If I am using my playstation 2 for DVD playback and have it hooked up via Optical Audio cable to one of the receiver's optical inputs, Will i be able to achieve true 4.1 audio? (currently running a 4.1 setup, I am waiting on my center channel).

2. My PS2 is connected as Video 1, and when i select the proper optical input port to correspond with Video 1 on my a/v receiver(initial setup, digital input), i get no sound at all. When i leave the optical input port selection blank I hear sounds. How can i fix this?

3. When i go to the Listening mode presets menu (having not selected my optical inputs line number) It seems like my receiver thinks it is being sent only an analog signal and not a Digital signal. How can i correct this?

4. Running the THX audio setup in the incredibles is showing me that something isn't set up properly. When it gets to the center channel test, sounds come from all 4 speakers. Also when it gets to my surround right and surround left channels, both speakers are playing sounds simultaneously. What is causing this?

Well Thanks for reading my severely newbieish questions. I hope to get some answers, i'd like to enjoy my new dvd collection to the fullest extent :D

Edit: I would like to say that If anyone is considering to buy a 7.1 channel receiver the onkyo TX SR602 represents a good value @ it's price. I paid 249.99 for a cosmetic refurb at J and R Music world. This receiver has lots of power for a modest rating of 85Wpc. I'd say it rivals higher rated amps. Music quality is also amazing in 2-channel, very articulate and clear vocals.

·
Registered
8,712 Posts