AVS Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I am new to this so please bear with me. I am thinking of replacing my Hitachi 65" Ultra-vision CRT rear projection TV and considering getting a front projector. I am giving myself a $5000 budget which is to include a projector, screen and cables and any other mounts or hardware I might need. First I am looking into either the Panasonic LCD AE2000 or the DLP Optoma HD80 both models list for $2699. I was looking for oppinions on which one I should consider if any one had any and could guide me. I also have no idea what kind of screen or size screen to consider? fixed mount or electric? Brands etc. From front wall to back wall I have a little over 18 feet and the width of the room is 13.5 feet and the height is just a little over 7 feet high. It is in a finished basement with two small windows on one wall and recess lighting.. Is this suitable for a projector? And I am considering maybe doing some sort of built in cabinet near the screen for A/V equipment so I might actually have 14-16 feet of viewing when all is said and done. Also, I have a Onkyo 705 that does video switching? Can this be set up the same way as I do with my tv now with going fom the Reciever to the projector and than from the reciever to my Cable box, PS3 etc. for video switching? They are all hooked up HDMI. And Is it my understanding that these projectors are not supposed to be used for everyday tv watching? I will most likely use it mostly for weekend movie watching, Occasional video game playing and sports TV. Don't mean to blast questions, but I am just looking for a little insight on what to expect and to consider before making the leap. Thanks alot.

·
Registered
4,477 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts