AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ive gotten my projector up and running now and its projecting a decent picture up on my brown heavly textured wall, but I have finnally had a little time to figure out the rest of my setup and had a few questions. Couple things about my set up, I have it floor mounted under a coffee table and its been retubbed recently, my guess it's under 1000 hours because I can barely see a 4x3 outline on just the blue crt if I look really hard. Ambient light is pretty much controlled, but not perfect because its a multi-purpose livingroom/ht and theres the WAF factor so I cant go to crazy.

1. First the screen, I asked this in the screen forum a few days ago, but got no response. I am a returning adult student so my budget is limited atm so from what Ive looked at and read about I was thinking of getting a dalite 72x96 spectra screen. Since that is a pretty big image size I wanted to get the 1.5 gain to brighten it up some, should that work well?

2. What is a good resolution to run my projector at? I have been looking at getting a centerstage CS-HD and was thinking of runing everything at 1080i, is that to much for my projector to handle and still look good and is that a decent low end scaler?

3. I quickly hooked up my hd cable box from the bedroom to see how it would look and I got a really strange image. It streched the 16x9 image to 4x3 height and squished it in on the sides some. Is that from having it set up on 480p resolution then changing to 1080i or could that be my transcoder I have an older Audio Authority transcoder 9a62 that is only rated for 480p. I dont quite get the memory blocks on the projector either, does each resolution have to be completley setup and converged to get it to work?