AVS Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
216 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
im a newbie on a tight budget trying to build a 2 channel system i have a pair of speakers and a 2 channel amp but i dont have a preamp and right im out of money. is there anyway i can use my av receiver as my preamp? any potential problems if i do this? im thinking of using the md recorder out to the amp connection. any suggestions?

thanks in advance

·
Registered
813 Posts
as long as your receiver has pre outs yeah, works great for that.

·
Registered
2,168 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by chameleon /forum/post/12964460

im thinking of using the md recorder out to the amp connection.

The MD recorder output is a fixed level and will not be affected by your volume control. Not good...

As Bobcel mentions, you would need to use "pre-amp outputs", if your receiver has them.

·
Registered
813 Posts
Dude. I looked at your last post about speakers I think, you mentioned you have a HK 3385? It has audio preouts, just go from the R and L audio Pre Outs to your amp, good to go

·
Registered
216 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
bobcel, i guess you were looking at a post of another member cause i dont have a HK i have an Onkyo htib receiver (no preouts) are all the outputs such as vcr, video 1....etc all fixed level? i hope not cause the speakers and the amp dried up my pocket. got good deals on them (psb stratus minis and b&k amp) thats why i pulled the trigger on them. i just hope i dont have to wait a for a long time before i can listen to this set up

thanks in advance

·
Registered
813 Posts
Sorry bout that chief. Yeah, they are fixed level outputs. shame though, sounds like you have a good amp and speaks. AVR's do a pretty good job as peamps......but you really need one with pre outs to do this right. If possible check out your local craigslist for an avr, don't know what kind or budget, or if one at all right now, but you could pick something up pretty cheap to tide you over.

·