AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 59 Posts

·
Registered
104 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just have to ask those of you with great knowledge and past experience, as far as purchasing a brand new subwoofer, shipped to your door, for a total cost of $650, can this subwoofer be beat at a price-to-performance battle?

·
Registered
3,696 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by blk02bird /forum/post/15573965

I just have to ask those of you with great knowledge and past experience, as far as purchasing a brand new subwoofer, shipped to your door, for a total cost of $650, can this subwoofer be beat at a price-to-performance battle?

I came mighty close to ordering one of those. There are a bunch of really good ones in that general price range. The SVS PB or PC 12 NSD (a little cheaper), the AV123 MFW 15 for a little bit more (but has a much better finish on it). Both are available, right now (as opposed to 4 weeks from eD).

While, I've had no experience with SVS, their reputation is great. Their ratings even better.

I have had experience with AV123 as I use their Rocket speakers. Great sounding, great looking, great customer service. I expect the same out of their subw since I just ordered an MFW 15 from them. That one had some initial "teething" pains, but is rated very highly here......
http://www.tweakcityaudio.com/forum/showthread.php?t=11

Craigsub has kind of been something of the defacto standard of testing subs. You'll find people who have argued with him. But, no one has come close to bringing useable rankings and ratings that's this comprehensive.

Oh yeah, he likes the A5 as well.

·
Registered
343 Posts
The MFW is just a little bit more? The eD ships free. In satin black (which is sold out right now) The MFW-15 is $699+$150 shipping, which makes it $199 more. I'd hardly call that a little. If you want a veneer (only thing in stock right now) then you're talking $799 +150 shipping which is $299 more.

·
Registered
2,494 Posts