AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 294 Posts

·
Registered
5,975 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings. I am brand new to DIY and am looking to purchase a set of the absolute best 24" and 18" drivers. Performance and reliability--quantified by sub-10hz extension, consistency of measurements, very high output, tautness of bass (given an ideal cabinet), and reliability--are the only criteria. I have no practical cabinet size constraints;however, an infinite baffle is not an option, due to subwoofer placement requirements in my theater design.

Any input would be most appreciated. Thank you.

·
Registered
1,160 Posts
Greetings. I am brand new to DIY and am looking to purchase a set of the absolute best 24" and 18" drivers. Performance and reliability--quantified by sub-10hz extension, consistency of measurements, very high output, tautness of bass (given an ideal cabinet), and reliability--are the only criteria. I have no practical cabinet size constraints;however, an infinite baffle is not an option, due to subwoofer placement requirements in my theater design.

Any input would be most appreciated. Thank you.
If you intend to produce frequencies

·
Registered
5,975 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
umm there are many of us here with systems that are very capable down to and below 5 Hz

as for the OP

the LMS Ultra 18, RE XXX 18, UXL 18, SI24
Thank you, Sibuna...so those are the absolute best drivers I can pursue? Are the LMS, UXL, and RE 18" drivers identical in performance? Does SI have a competitor that most would also consider high-end?

I'm asking because this forum is very easy to get lost in. Ive seen LMS, UXL, and SI mentioned before. Do they all offer the highest availability performance and reliability (I want it work well and have a mean time to failure of at least ten years, so I wanted to see if, say there's a driver out there that's amazing, but folks don't mention it because it defeats the value proposition of DIY.

·
Registered
1,084 Posts