AVS Forum banner

181 - 200 of 453 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
912 Posts
I rebuilt the bootable CD image with a function to automatically detect all ReplayTV units, and automatically copy the 13 RID files that I found floating around this thread. Now installing RID files is as easy as 1,2,3, without any need for WiRNS or DVArchive.




To install a RID file on the ReplayTV, use the following procedure.


1) Create a bootable CD using the image from
http://sourceforge.net/project/showf...ckage_id=13712

2) Boot your computer using this CD image

- after booting it should automatically detect your ReplayTV(s)

and automatically copy the necessary files to the Photo partition

3) On your ReplayTV, switch the network configuration to static, and set both

DNS server settings on your ReplayTV to match the IP address reported on

your computer (be sure to note what your previous settings were)

4) On your ReplayTV, select Menu..Setup..Connect to ReplayTV Service Now to

force it to connect through your PC.


If all goes well, you should get a clock and a CPU meter pop up on the screen

during the net connect. These are done at the beginning and end of the script

just so you can see that the script began and completed.

Use 2-4-3-Zones to access the debug menus and toggle these back off.


Now you should be able to set your device up with one of the following codes


2000 all pansats

2001 all viewsats V1

2002 all viewsats V2

2003 all dreambox

2004 all coolsats

2005 Accurian

2006 3500S

2007 DirecTV D10

2008 LG LST-3xxx

2009 PanSat2500

2010 Sylvania SRZ3000

2011 USDTV Receiver

2012 Viewsat


Once things are working, restore the ReplayTV network configuration to your

previous settings. You can also safely remove the "install" photo directory

from your ReplayTV(s). This folder was automatically created during the

install process.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
123 Posts
FlipFlop, thanks for building such an easy to use tool. It worked when booting my desktop that has a RealTek ethernet card, but the ISO did not contain the appropriate network driver files for either of my laptops. Would it be possible to add more network drivers so it supports more network cards?


One of my laptops has a 3Com 3c920 card (which I've read is supported by the 3c90x driver). I found and downloaded these drivers from the 3Com site, but I did not find any drivers with a .ko extension. I only found .c and .h extensions on the driver files. I understand the .ko files are are linux 2.6, while the ones I found were for older Linux kernels.


The other laptop that does not work has a Broadcom NetXtreme card. Again, the driver did not exist in your ISO and I could not find a driver for it with a .ko extension, so I couldn't add it to the "net" folder under "drivers" on your ISO CD. These were zipped/tarred up inside some file. I'm sure you're familiar with the structure.


Any thoughts?


Again, thank you so much for making this process fast and easy.


Take care,

Snyder81


Quote:
Originally Posted by FlipFlop /forum/post/0


I rebuilt the bootable CD image with a function to automatically detect all ReplayTV units, and automatically copy the 13 RID files that I found floating around this thread. Now installing RID files is as easy as 1,2,3, without any need for WiRNS or DVArchive.




To install a RID file on the ReplayTV, use the following procedure.


1) Create a bootable CD using the image from
http://sourceforge.net/project/showf...ckage_id=13712

2) Boot your computer using this CD image

- after booting it should automatically detect your ReplayTV(s)

and automatically copy the necessary files to the Photo partition

3) On your ReplayTV, switch the network configuration to static, and set both

DNS server settings on your ReplayTV to match the IP address reported on

your computer (be sure to note what your previous settings were)

4) On your ReplayTV, select Menu..Setup..Connect to ReplayTV Service Now to

force it to connect through your PC.


If all goes well, you should get a clock and a CPU meter pop up on the screen

during the net connect. These are done at the beginning and end of the script

just so you can see that the script began and completed.

Use 2-4-3-Zones to access the debug menus and toggle these back off.


Now you should be able to set your device up with one of the following codes


2000 all pansats

2001 all viewsats V1

2002 all viewsats V2

2003 all dreambox

2004 all coolsats

2005 Accurian

2006 3500S

2007 DirecTV D10

2008 LG LST-3xxx

2009 PanSat2500

2010 Sylvania SRZ3000

2011 USDTV Receiver

2012 Viewsat


Once things are working, restore the ReplayTV network configuration to your

previous settings. You can also safely remove the "install" photo directory

from your ReplayTV(s). This folder was automatically created during the

install process.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
Can you help me out, I have only macs in my house and have tried using the patch file but cannot get it to work. I have also been trying to get WIRNS to work with virtual PC but it is not cooperating. Any other work around for installing these IR blaster files?

thanks

C
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
52 Posts
i used the ISO file posted earlier this month, and not able to get it to work. when the script completes, only the clock/date comes up, i don't see the cpu meter. and when i go to ir blaster codes, nothing new is listed...i guess i can try the new ISO to see if it helps.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
52 Posts
wow, i guess the script didn't run completely before. i ran the new ISO file, and i got the cpu meter, and everything is well, thank you flipflop.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
912 Posts
I added a new CD image "linux-cd-image-2.5.5d.iso" which has the latest Linux kernel 2.6.18 with all of the network card support included in the standard kernel distribution. The (c) image used the 2.6.1 kernel, and was the stock bootable CD setup produced by on-x.ca


I left both the (c) and (d) images there, in case the old version works better for some reason.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
527 Posts
Greetings,


Well, after a hellish night, I believe that I was FINALLY able to update my 3 ReplayTVs (5040, 5040 (320 GB), & 5080).


First off, I'm a Mac person, 'nough said...



Well, having borrowed a friend's PC laptop, I had installed the latest version of WiRNS and thought that I had followed most the updated instructions for updating the IR codes for the Replay. Virtual PC seemed to have a problem with the appropriate IP address(es). So, the laptop worked fine.


Got WiRNS up 'n running and it saw all 3 ReplayTVs. Did the network connect and got the clock and cpu toggles. So, now I'm running around thinking that I'm "King of the world." (And no, not the BK geek...)


Okay, now to reset my ReplayTVs and connect back to the Replay network.



It won't connect. It kept remembering the WiRNS' IP, even though I changed it. AND...it lost the DirecTV settings. Then my Airport Extreme (802.11g) network started to have problems.



So, after several resets and attempts, I tried reverted back to dial-up, but that won't work either. So, I gave up and called it a night/morning...


Woke up and took a fresh approach. I remember seeing something about changing Zip codes. So, after several tries, I was finally able to get my ReplayTVs to connect via dial-up.


At the same time, I was finally able to get my Airport Extreme network back up and running normally.


I was then able to get the ReplayTVs to connect via the network.


So, now I'm back to where I was before I started...


So, did the WiRNS update work you may ask...?


Well, I got out my D10-300 that's been sitting in my closet and hooked it up. I then contacted DirecTV to re-activate the unit so I can see if I can change the channel below 100. And lo and behold, it WORKED!!!!!!



My 5080 is now controlling the D10-300 with the IR code 1000.


THANK YOU!!!!



Now to replace my Panasonic ShowStopper 3060 (120 GB) and Sony B55 with the 5040 and another D10-300. I'll probably swap the 5080 with the 5040 later.


Final question...


Does the IR code 1000 work with the H20?


Thanks in advance and again, THANK YOU!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,497 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by R8ders2K /forum/post/0


First off, I'm a Mac person, 'nough said...

Then you're used to having things work either extremely well, or not at all



(paraphrasing Jerry Pournelle who is fond of saying that on the Mac, things are either very easy to do, or impossible to do.)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,715 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by BaysideBas /forum/post/0


(paraphrasing Jerry Pournelle who is fond of saying that on the Mac, things are either very easy to do, or impossible to do.)

But I'll bet he never said it in one sentence.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by replayrob /forum/post/0


Thanks FlipFlop!!!

Your efforts are greatly appreciated.

After reading your posts here and using your RIDGen tool, I've created and uploaded the IR codes for the new Viewsat 2000 STB. Found the RM file for the Viewsat over at JP1 downloads and using RemoteMaster and your RIDGen tool I created the new rid file. Followed the readme for installing via DVArchive and WiRNS. Loaded it to my replay and now my new code 1000 is there!

Can't thank you enough!!



I'll attach my files for anyone else who wants to add the Viewsat IR code (use code 1000) to their Replay..


Hi all, I am totally new to this and I need help. I have viewsat extream and dirTV receiver D10. I would like to use D10 as my recording receiver using viewsat. How do I start with? I have laptop and PC. I have fast internet. what else do i need? How do I connet D10 to laptop? Should i use USB, phoneline or eithernet network cable? What other program do i need to download? Is there a step-by-step guide available somewhere? I downloaded this code file from replayrob, but I don't know how to use it.


Thanks alot
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by melalone00 /forum/post/0


Hi all, I am totally new to this and I need help. I have viewsat extream and dirTV receiver R10. I would like to use R10 as my recording receiver using viewsat. How do I start with? I have laptop and PC. I have fast internet. what else do i need? How do I connet R10 to laptop? Should i use USB, phoneline or eithernet network cable? What other program do i need to download? Is there a step-by-step guide available somewhere? I downloaded this code file from replayrob, but I don't know how to use it.


Thanks alot

Sorry, I meant to say R10 receiver.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,162 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by melalone00 /forum/post/0


Sorry, I meant to say R10 receiver.

The R10 IS a DVR. AKA: DirecTIVO. You're posting in the wrong forum - we're the other guys.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
First, I wanted to say thank you to everyone for all your input. I have been trying for about 8 - 10 weeks to get new IR blaster codes in my replay. I have a viewsat extreme and I believe I need eihter code 2001 or 2002. MY problem is I only have a Mac (10.4.4) computer. I tried using my virtual pc for windows 2000 on my mac and I almost had it working. I was able to load all my files into replay. I got WIRNS up and running I was able to get it to see my replay and all. Basically it talks to my replay but my replay doesn't talk back. So I then tried the bootable CD method, but I can't get it to boot up on my mac so I am assuming it is PC only software. I am soooo close in getting these codes in my replay. I have them in the photo folder on my replay, I even have the extra folder for "Install" if I could get the bootable cd to work, but that is as far as I can get. I am looking around for a used computer at the thrift shop because I do have windows 98 I could load on a computer. My question: is there a bootable cd for mac computers available anywhere so I do not have to buy a pc and if I do have to buy a pc would an old one work if I load windows 98 on it. Sorry for all the questions I try to read every post so I don't waste anyones time, but having a mac isn't helping me in this situation. I think I am stuck and would greatly appreciate any help and advice that can be offered. Thanks again to everyone for all your hard work especially CJ, flipflop, and others who work so hard and share what they have learned with us all.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
So I am stil having a hard time getting this to work. I gave up on my mac and went to a friends house with a desktop dell. Plugged in the replay to her router and tried to run the boot disk. I got the same failure that is listed below and it would not see the replay (the info below is from when I run it on virtual PC)

Then I tried it with WIRNS and still I could not get it to work. I got the files installed with DVarchive but cannot get WIRNS to work with the Replay. Any suggestions? Below is from the bootdisk and Virtual PC. Same errors on the Dell.

PLEASE HELP
 
181 - 200 of 453 Posts
Top